We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dont tell too many people!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Happy Life Village

Save Saved
You added Happy Life Village to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Happy Life Village
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Wady Quonay | P.O. Box 47, Dahab 46617, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 52 hotels in Dahab
Southport, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Dont tell too many people!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

We had a wonderful week at The Happy Life Village over Easter. We booked with Olympic Holidays, who were excellent - however we flew with Thomas Cook - which was possibley the worst airline Ive ever been on! The staff are constantly 'selling' everything - like market traders, I surprised they dont sell toilet paper! The seats are the closest things to human 'toast racks' Ive ever encountered, so needless to say we arrived in less than a great mood! But an hour at the Happy Life and all was forgiven. We booked a family room which was massive with a large separate bedroom, large lounge with twin beds, suite and table and chairs, well worth the extra we paid. The hotel itself is located in an isolated spot with its own private beach and outstanding coral reef. The staff are helpful and friendly and strive to make your stay enjoyable. The food was delicious, with plenty of choice. The majority of it is prepared in front of you by the massive brigade of chefs, so theres no danger of upset tummies! The site is large enough for the guests to spread out and the grounds are well kept. I would recommend this holiday to those people who like peace and quiet and that can entertain themselves. There is an animation team who offer sports/ belly dancing etc but its not in your face and they never make excessive noise. The best thing about this hotel is that none of the large british travel companies offer it - so you dont feel like your in a 'holiday camp' - while we were there I think there was 8 other english people staying too, who were all independant travellers. All in all one of the most relaxing and enjoyable holidays we've had in a while.

Room Tip: If there's more than 2 of you I would recommend spending the extra and upgrading to a VERY LARGE...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

455 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    227
    171
    41
    12
    4
See reviews for
84
167
41
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Palm Springs, California
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

Chose hotel to lay out & snorkel for a few days which was great. This hotel is really far up the coast, but it's by the mountains which keeps the water calm. They run shuttles 3 times a day to town which you'll probably want to use for dinner. They had the worst tasting food I have ever experienced, so I only drank Nescafé in the morning. The taxis cost about 30 Egyptian. The service there is pretty nonexistent, & the beach chair guys were basically rude. I would have liked to pay double & stay in The Hilton but it was full. I wouldn't return to Happy Life due to poor quality food & service.

Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Just back from a weeks visit to this hotel. First impressions as you arrive are a little disppointing, however once through reception it all looks great. All staff are very freindly & helpfull, food is some of the best we have eaten in Egypt at all inclusive resorts. The hotel was probably less than half full so nice a quiet.
Some may find this a bit off the beaten track, but it was perfect for us wanting a chilled week. We will return.

Room Tip: Blocks 10, 11, 12, 21,22 & 23 are closer to the beach and probably offer the better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

me and my boyfriend had a 12days stay at this nice hotel. because of the season we didnt use the five pools (too cold) but did snorkeling everyday at the coral reef directly infront of the hotel beach. the underwater world was amazing to us and we did a lot of underwater photos and videos with our smartphones! thanks to the waterproof photobag bought at the lagoona divers shop located at the hotels complex.
besides the nice roomservice and restaurant staff we were more than pleased with the wide range of delicious food from the breakfast and evening lunch buffet, offered from 7-10am and 7-10pm! special thanks to the restaurant chief because of his caring for us, when the beduin food made us sick and we had to stay in the hotel room for 2 days. he sent us food to our rooms and asked every day about our condition.
if we ever plan to come back to dahab, certainly we will stay at happy life village!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

I am so glad I visited this hotel

I had been to Dahab several years ago and really loved the atmosphere of the place. So wanting a bit of winter sun we decided to return, but this time to the Happy Life. I was pleasantly surprised, even after reading the positive comments of others on Tripadvisor.

The Happy Life is on the outer limit of Dahab, there is a partially built hotel next door, building has stopped at present, so no building noise. Then there is a camel ranch, get to the beach before 10am and you will see the camels being taken there near to the shoreline for the daily Camel excursions, and then all you can see are the mountains. These mountains means that the sun disappears early in the winter, in early February, 4pm, it then gets too cold to sit on the beach. There are half hearted hawkers on the beach, who are periodically shooed off by the Security guard. Say no thank you and they will pass you by, Spend time using a little pigeon Arabic and time will fly by in surreal conversations that consists mainly of hand gestures and smiles by both parties.

The sea is beautifully clear and you access the water via a jetty. It is prohibited to walk across the reef, sadly a minority of tourists decide that this does not apply to them. The steps from the jetty are wide and strong, not swimming pool types. Understandably the ones below the water line can be slippery. The reef is teaming with life and the sea is warm enough to swim comfortably in the winter.

The hotel accommodation is in 2 srorey blocks, the rooms adequately reach 3 star status, the furnishings are a little dated but the linen and towels are changes regularly. We were 3 adults in one room, there was plenty of room for 3 beds, however storage is a little limited and we were glad we took a few hangers. But this is a relaxed hotel, if you like to dress up in your finest so be it, but equally you can feel comfortable in casual but acceptable clothing. There is also a free safe in the wardrobe area. Beware, when taking a shower, the water can become very hot. The rooms are kept very clean. There are basic complementary sachets of shampoo but if you want more than basic products you are best taking yours with you.

The pool areas are immaculately clean although the water was uncomfortably cold, but it was February. During that day there are activities on the beach if you wish to join in equally you can lie back, read a book, snorkel and sleep in no particular order, for the more active there is always a spare camel for a ride and octopus spotting from the jetty. The Egyptian night is worth going to and I don’t think anybody would be disappointed by ‘The Spinning Man.’, however if you are someone who needs to be entertained, this may not be the hotel or resort for you.

The food, in the restaurant is of good quality and the service from all staff within the hotel as others have stated is excellent. Nothing is too much trouble and they go out of their way to be helpful.

Probably due to the situation within Egypt and particularly the Sinai, is very quiet and the hotel was low in occupancy during our visit. A visit to Dahab on the courtesy minibus shows the effect of these factors and the economic downturn on the town, which is upsetting. It was reassuring though that the company rep and Olympic holidays are following Foreign Office guidelines with restrictions on certain trtps, despite other nationalities having less restrictions. The transfer between Sharm el Sheik airport and the hotel takes between 70-90 minutes depending on which F1 driver is driving on that particular day. There are a couple of checkpoints along the road and whilst it reminds you of the problems, the soldiers are friendly and will give you a wave.

So if you like a quiet, relaxing holiday that is good value for money, it would be hard to beat the Happy Life, Dahab. So give it a go. Equally if you fancy a trip to the Red Sea but don’t fancy Sharm, then please consider Dahab.

The only downside to the holiday is Sharm el Sheik airport on a Thursday. All UK tour operators use it on this day and the Departures area is extremely overcrowded.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Happy life is located about 10min south of Dahab. Set up of the village is nice with much space for everything. Rooms are a bit dated but very clean.
Febuary is low season which shows because staff seems bored. Food is not special but ok. Reception and staff especially at the beach bar looks shabby. Nice place for small kids, different Pools and a playground. House reef is beautiful for snorkeling.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

My wife and I had a much needed 2 weeks holiday here 28th January - 7th February 2013. Chose this particular hotel after reading all the amazing reviews and we were not disappointed. This was our second trip to Egypt, our fist being a very bad experience in Marsa Alam....took years to decide to go back to Egypt and I am so glad we did as we are planning on returning again later in the year.

Hotel complex is right next to mountains and they are really impressive, perfect placement...the hotel is kept impressively clean by the army of staff that work tirelessly to ensure you have a wonderful holiday. This place is made so fantastic because of the staff that work here, guys who tend the gardens and look after maintenance of areas, the guys who clean the room and adorn the beds with some fun towel artwork (we were always keen to see what design was goingto be in place each time we returned to our rooms), bar staff are amazing and we built up a rapid rapport with all of the pool bar staff who are always smiling, laughing, joking, making you feel welcome and my glass was rarely empty I often had to say "no more for me thank you".
Restaurant was clean and tidy and staff were amazing, always on hand asking if you would like a refill, nothing was too much trouble for these guys, they were amazing. The army of chefs was impressive and they all had a little chat with you on going for buffet, often see people laughing and joking.
The selection of food and variety is impressive and we were never disappointed...the sweets were dangerous as cake and more cakes everyday...you could of course have fruit which was readily available.
Breakfast and dinner taken in the Love Boat - always something tasty to eat. Lunch was taken next door in the indoor restaurant.
The pool bar also had a menu selection which was pretty impressive, we stayed all inclusive and the beer is by glass (it was actually very nice beer) also have a cocktails menu which was pretty impressive and these are also all inclusive, the bar staff don't believe in half measures and they really great.
The food on the whole was excellent and we never heard of anyone suffering from upset tummies while we stayed and even from people who had been there longer than ourselves.

You get to know many of the staff by name, I won't spoil the surprise of each name as we knew a few by name and they remebered our names and went out of there way to stop and chat often. It really is the staff that make this place so fantastic.

We had a great room (12B3) which had a beach and sea view (amazing views) I loved getting up and just sitting on the balcony looking out. Everything in the room was in perfect working order (TV, shower, sockets, hairdryer), the beds were a bit hard and we needed more pillows as they have very shallow ones but we slept very well.
There was always hot water no matter what time of day we showered which was really great.

The beach is clean and the jetty is not too long and there are hundreds of fish as soon as you enter the water, snorkling was great fun, water wasa little cold for time of year but not too bad, the pools are not heated and they were colder, so if you go early inthe year go in the sea.

There was a mixed bag of nationalities whilst we stayed, I'd say 30% British, 35% German, 15% other European, 10% Arabian origin and 10% Rest of World. I really mixed bag and many people just stop and talk to eahc other at pool and bar it was such a great place to visit everyone was in good spirits.

The hotel has resident dogs on site who were great they roam around and don't foul anywhere they escort you of a nighttime back to your room - I am sure they just want to make sure you are safe. They are great with children and did not approach unless invited to do so.

The big boss also had a boxer dog who is so friendly and I even got a sloppy ear from him whilst sitting on steps of reception waiting for wife.

All in all a relaxing laid back time at Happy Life Village and we will return late September if all goes as planned.

Tip: go quad biking if you haven't done so..so much fun.
Tip: make sure you go snorkling as a minimum so many fish to see and water is crystal clear.
Tip: pool with slides so much fun...as are what we called the muchroom water showers. yes there is a swim up bar :)

Only one little objection was the spa facility have staff wondering around trying to tout for business - they are not pushy but after a few times it was a little frustrating. My wife tried Cleopatra package though and she loved it.

Room Tip: Block 12 has unrestricted views of sea...... All other rooms have poolside access across small pede...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these Dahab hotels
Charming, Beach...
Show More
0.0 mi away
Tropitel Dahab Oasis
Tropitel Dahab Oasis
#21 of 52 in Dahab
4.0 of 5 stars 873 reviews
Romantic, Free...
Show More
0.0 mi away
Dahab Paradise
Dahab Paradise
#1 of 52 in Dahab
5.0 of 5 stars 490 reviews
Free Breakfast...
Show More
0.0 mi away
Ibis Styles Dahab Lagoon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pool, Charming...
Show More
0.0 mi away
Iberotel Dahabeya
Iberotel Dahabeya
#10 of 52 in Dahab
4.5 of 5 stars 695 reviews
Beach, City Cen...
Show More
0.0 mi away
Hilton Dahab
Hilton Dahab
#31 of 52 in Dahab
4.0 of 5 stars 440 reviews
Luxury, Beach...
Show More
0.0 mi away
Swiss Inn Resort
Swiss Inn Resort
#18 of 52 in Dahab
4.5 of 5 stars 231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Happy Life Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Happy Life Village

Address: Wady Quonay | P.O. Box 47, Dahab 46617, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Dahab
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Dahab
#6 Family Hotel in Dahab
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Dahab
#9 Romantic Hotel in Dahab
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Happy Life Village 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Despegar.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Happy Life Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Happy Life Village Dahab
Happy Life Village Hotel Dahab

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Happy Life Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.