We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great beachside restaurant with superb service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Caravan Cafe and Restaurant

The Caravan Cafe and Restaurant
Beach Side, Mirage Village | El Melal Street, Dahab, Egypt
+ 20 106979 7529
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #37 of 91 Restaurants in Dahab
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: Moroccan, Coffee Shop, Middle Eastern, Egyptian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: The Caravan Cafe and Restaurant will take you on a journey with the flavours of the middle east.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Great beachside restaurant with superb service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Traditional sinai food, good range for all tastes, well cooked with complimentary starters for most dishes. Standout service, including hand washing after meal. Highly recommended. Fabulous Italian coffee, best we tasted in a week! Serves alcohol - beer and wine - at reasonable prices. Loos fine. Located on seafront next to Blue Beach Hotel.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    5
    0
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Katowice
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“perfect food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

If you want to eat something good in Dahab you have the only choice, fresh, perfect test and good service. No 1

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade, Serbia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“the best hospitality ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

This restaurant make me feel like i don't want to eat on other place never again,the food is so delicious and the service of a stuff is really good. The Atmosphere in restaurant is pleasant like u are in your own home eating delicious meal . This become MY PLACE for sure i am not going to have meals in another

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“We won't be eating here again”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

We quite enjoyed a meal here during our stay in Dahab and we decided that we would eat the last meal of our holiday at this restaurant. At this second visit, the food was not as good as it was at our first visit and appeared to have been prepared in a rush. Unfortunately, we both ended up with excruciating stomach pains and vomiting for the duration of our 5 1/2 hour flight home and our entire journey home turned into a horrendously uncomfortable nightmare.

We also witnessed the waiter chase and attack a dog just for approaching the vicinity of the restaurant. The dog was way out of the boundary of the restaurant and the actions of the waiter were way beyond what was necessary to ensure the dog did not enter the seating area. The assault on the dog was shocking to be honest and made us feel very uncomfortable.

The food here is the average fare that is offered in nearly all restaurants in Dahab and prices are also average. This restaurant has a nice location and the service from the waiter was good. However, due to the after effects of the meal, I can only give an overall 'terrible' rating. We are regular visitors to Dahab and always stick to our tried and trusted restaurants that we know will not make us ill. Based on the good reviews on TripAdvisor, we thought we would give this restaurant a try.... We won't be eating here again.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheikhs, Public Relations Manager at The Caravan Cafe and Restaurant, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
We are very sad and sorry to read your review of your last experience at the Caravan Cafe and Restaurant.

Our manager Ahmed Adel has taken your review very seriously and has carried out a full investigation into the experience you have shared with us. We are unable to find the cause of the problem regarding your bad stomach and sickness. It is difficult for us to prove if your illness was caused by our food without detailed medical investigations. He has compared your last visit with your visit prior to this and is not able to say that the food was prepared more quickly or in any different way to the visit before.

We have worked hard to create a business based on high standards, good food and quality service. As you said you had visited before and had a very good experience, that you wanted to return. Once again we apologise for this experience and we will monitor the situation closely. We have not had any similar complaints and no one else has reported any sickness after eating our meals.

With regards to dogs being chased away, everyday many of the local street dogs try to come into the premises. We have a constant problem with them, as we want to keep them out of the cafe areas due to hygiene requirements. If one of our staff was overly harsh with a dog then we do apologise for this, however our staff never hit dogs, or throw rocks at them. Our staff will try to chase them away or to scare them away only. Our manager was in the cafe at the time and he knows that no dogs were assaulted.

However we hope you can understand it is an ongoing and constant problem in Dahab regarding street dogs, and as an entire community actions are being taken to address the situation. However we do understand it is unpleasant for our clients to experience us having to chase and scare dogs away from our restaurant area.

We thank you for taking the time to share your experiences with us.

This response was written with Ahmed Adel, Manager for Caravan Cafe and Restaurant and Mirage Village, Dahab
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Had a great meal, very friendly attentive service with great food in a lovely setting.
A little out of the centre, but a nice walk up the "boulevard".
Highly recommended for a special meal.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Caravan Cafe and Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Caravan Cafe and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Caravan Cafe and Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.