We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“food to make feel good” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Red Cat

Red Cat
Light House Area, near the enter to Light House Camp, Dahab, Egypt
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 90 Restaurants in Dahab
Cuisines: Russian, Eastern European, Contemporary, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“food to make feel good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

I wasn't feeling too great, hungry but not wanting to eat. I'm sure most of you have been there. I hate soups and I hate eating meat, but that evening I desperately wanted comfort. And that was what I got at the Red Cat. A wondeful soup which oozed into my tummy and warmed up my soul. There were pieces of beef and I didn't mind, actually it felt good. The beetroot definetly healed my digestion for the week ahead. I liked the relaxed atmosphere and no unnecessary questions. I had a friend to chat while waiting which was great, but I would have felt quite happy by myself too. So it's a nice place whether you want to come with friends or by yourself.
I went again when I wasn't feeling so desperately unwell and I still enjoyed my dinner, this time a more adventerous fish and potatoes. It was still a very satisfying meal. Not too expensive either.
So if you miss home and comfort or food you would like to cook but can't be bothered, Red Cat will make it so very easy, fool proof and totally tasty for you.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    10
    4
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best food in town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

In this place you find the most tasty food in Dahab. It's reasonably priced, delicious and - if that's what you want - healthy. No downsides, a must if you're in town!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dahab, Egypt
1 review
“Red CAT is the best! :-)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

Red Cat is my favourite restaurant in Dahab. The food always tastes great and I would highly recommend anyone to come and give it at try and they will find they will most likely keep coming back for more. I never thought I would be into Russian cuisine and only came on the recommendation of a friend. If it wasn't for this restaurant I don't know where I would go to eat now. Thank you Red Cat! You are the best! :-) :-) :-)

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Egypt
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“very nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

guys there are friendly and food is home made. i liked side dishes more than the main plates. pancakes are fine and the varineki with liver is a taste to remember. the only bad thing is the very bad opening times. they open from 11 am to 5 pm and from 6 pm to 10 pm. so u cant eat beakfast or late dinner there.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“YummY Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

I enjoyed all the foods I tried in this place.
Soup of the day was always superb and the home made muesli cereal was very yummy.
Also they have many option for vegetarian.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Cat also viewed

 

Been to Red Cat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Cat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.