We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hopefully next they'll be better again...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Jay's Restaurant

Jay's Restaurant
El Masbat, Dahab, Egypt
Improve this listing
Ranked #53 of 90 restaurants in Dahab
Cuisines: European, Egyptian
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Playa del Carmen, Mexico
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“hopefully next they'll be better again...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

service was really slow, food is ok but can't make up the service...

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

80% Recommend
    13
    7
    4
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Very good breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

I had only breakfast there. I got a traditional one and it was like what my mom makes as home, beans, felafel and white chess including fresh juice and ur choice of tea or coffee. it is managed by a family over all and they are doing really good and always trying to progress it. the music at night always catchy to ur ears. try them anytime and u will like it. lot of cats though but that is a problem all over Dahab.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Other places may be over-rated but Jay's delivers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

Eating in Dahab might appear to leave you spoilt for choice, but many of the plethora of restaurants seem to be similar. However Jays is something very special. I recommend eating in the main building back from the beach as it really is a feast for the eyes and the soul with lovely spaces all individuated wrapped around the central pillars of a couple of palm trees. The owners and their staff are brilliant and the food is some of the very best we had. One night we ate Nile river fish in a mustard sauce which was really some of the best fish we've eaten, and the fish soup is also outstanding. Unlike most places they can serve you drinks as well. There is often live music and performance.

For an added bonus the kittens are adorable!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

It would be nice if when you read a menu and it said that the dish included X/Y/Z ingredient, that when it came that description was accurate. I had a few items missing from mine and one extra that was not included on the menu. Their menu prices have increased since I was last here a year ago which I can cope with, but I do not expect the portion sizes to decrease.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Welcoming and very friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012 via mobile

We had breakfast here every morning served by very friendly staff (keshif and sami). After a couple days into our 2 week holiday,we made this our local. Lovely sun loungers by the sea which we took full advantage of everyday. Swiss owners were brilliant and very accommodating especially when we drank them dry of vodka!! Had a really good time here and spent a lot of time here and made really good friends especially with keshif and Sami who were excellent at there job and made us feel more than welcome from the first day! Thankyou Jays for making our holiday unforgettable and we hope to see you all soon! Ross+Tina X

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jay's Restaurant also viewed

 
Dahab, South Sinai
 

Been to Jay's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jay's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.