We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service and Lıonfish... what more do you want?” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Fanar

El Fanar
El Masbat, Dahab 55555, Egypt
+20 100 307 7173
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #45 of 90 Restaurants in Dahab
4.5 of 5 stars 179 Reviews
Price range: $3 - $6
Cuisines: Egyptian, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Good for: Child-friendly, Romantic, Groups, Business, Local cuisine Excellent, Entertaining clients, Cheap EatsDining options Brunch, lunch, dinner, booking, until last night
M.I.A
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great service and Lıonfish... what more do you want?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

One of the nicest places to chill out after a days diving. Awesome service, the best shishas we found in Dahab and most nights there are lionfish cruising around in the lights just over the deck... ıt doesnt get much better!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    118
    39
    6
    8
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The Best Service in Egypt”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

We had an amazing lunch at te El Fanar in June 2012, the staff brought across the catch of the day and described the various fish in detail. The service was exceptional!! The view over the bay was amazing, and a ovely place to eat, drink and relax!!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
207 reviews 207 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 92 cities Reviews in 92 cities
142 helpful votes 142 helpful votes
“Good dining”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

I have eaten here a few times, last time as a big group and this time as just a couple and we always found the service and food to be good. Selecting from the fresh catch is as fun as eventually eating it. We had a table by the sea and as it was a full moon and low tide we were able to spot Pipe Fish, Lion Fish, Rays and other fish among the surf. It did make me feel a little guilty that I was probably eating their fishy friends.

My tip would be to be to order from the fish of the day options but be careful not to over order as there will be plenty to go around considering the good sized portions and complementary courses. Also remember to take your own alcoholic drinks with you and give them to the staff who will serve them to you at the table.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnham-On-Sea, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Excellent customer service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

Just returned from another amazing holiday just south of Dahab. Visited Dahab a couple of times and over one lunchtime fancied just a soft drink. We decided to try El Fanar whilst walking along the sea front expecting to be hassled into buying food but how wrong were we! Such excellent service from all the staff - we were given free bottles of water with our drinks which was very appreciated. One staff in particular derserves a mention - Mottson. Such a pleasure to speak to, excellent customer service, was happy to talk about his background and was genuinely proud to work there. We have never written a review before but we felt Mottson and El Fanar deserved a write up. We couldn't recommend a visit highly enough - no pressure to buy anything extra, excellent view out to sea and very reasonably priced. Will definitely call in again next time.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chita, Russia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent service, nice staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

We tried couple of places after having dinner at El Fanar, but nothing could beat frendliest service in the world including washing your hands with Aladdin-style jar. Cuisine is just awesome, atmosphere is great (we tried to choose table closer to the sea). We even had the staff keeping the phone that we forgot there for three days waiting for us. Thanks again and hope to eat some kebabs there someday:)

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Fanar also viewed

Dahab, South Sinai
 
Dahab, South Sinai
 

Been to El Fanar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Fanar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.