We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Intimate, warm small hotel in a beautiful location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Star Of Dahab Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Star Of Dahab Hotel to your Saves list
Star Of Dahab Hotel
Mashraba St, Dahab 46617, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 52 Hotels in Dahab
Cairo, Egypt
2 reviews
“Intimate, warm small hotel in a beautiful location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

The Star of Dahab is a great choice in Dahab. We stayed here in Mid October during the 2013 eid holiday. In spite of the rotten tourist season, we were treated compassionately and generously by our host Khalid, who corrected errors in our planning and helped us find appropriate activities - we went on a great hike up Mount Sinai and watched the sunrise on the summit. Breakfasts were simple, but healthy and soothing. On one occasion stuffed eggplants were passed around to guests and staff - they were good. Our rooms were clean and comfortable, and wifi worked quite well. Laundry service was free. The seaside deck was welcoming and suitable for meals as well as sunbathing, reading, stretching, etc.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    6
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
4
9
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Stayed at the Star of Dahab for 10 days.
food very good, cleanliness excellent, free wifi, different breakfast everyday (GOOD!), about 5 meters from the dive centre, the staff and management are very accommodating.
If you want budget with 5 star service at very good prices then this is the one for you!

Thanks for a great stay and see you next year.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony room with the sea view over the red sea. its breathtaking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

The Star of Dahab

In my book, this is quite an appropriate name for this hotel. It is a warm, friendly and welcoming place. Nothing was too much trouble

Having spent a noisy, restless and very uncomfortable night in another hotel, my protestations of ‘it’ll be fine’ were ignored by my partner, who insisted we find somewhere else to stay (After several years he has finally come to understand that ‘fine’ means ‘terrible, awful, foul….’ in fact anything BUT fine…)

As we were on a diving holiday, we asked the dive centre to recommend somewhere…and guess what, this hotel was right next door…. Oh joy, wake up, eat breakfast, dive…perfect, possibly 
Abdo showed us a couple of rooms and then we wandered off to look at some other places to make sure that this was the right choice. We came back, had a look at a couple more rooms and decided on the one next to the one with the tree growing through the balcony.
Straight away a lift back to our original hotel was arranged, they waited whilst we packed and drove back to our ‘new home’.

The rooms are clean and comfortable; most have balconies, fridges that are stocked with life’s essentials…water, chocolate and pop, extra blankets, a TV, WiFi, plenty of plug sockets, the hot water was a bit unpredictable but it was just a matter of getting used to the boiler
We had to wait a short while as the room was cleaned but once we were in the room we started to make ourselves at home…..

Could we have extra pillows please… no problem

Can we have glasses to keep in the room….no problem

Coffee cups for our own drinks?.....no problem (We took our own kettle, coffee and tea to satisfy our caffeine addiction, which doesn’t stretch quite as far as an Egyptian coffee but needs more than a Nescafe to quench it)

We asked for really early breakfasts some days to allow us to leave for dive trips….again, no problem

After a few days I asked Abdo not to change the bedding every day, it was a waste of resources, time and energy, every other would do for us, save the water and the electricity….again no problem. The rooms were kept clean, the fridge kept stocked and the prices were no different to the local shops so don’t think you’ll be stuck with a huge bill at the end of the holiday
At one point we were the only people in the hotel but were soon joined by others but it was really quiet most of the time, the whole area was affected by the massive reduction in tourism, which was great for us as we enjoy the quiet, but very sad for the locals in the area, whose businesses and livelihoods were, and still are, suffering.

The breakfasts were amazing, a little slow on one or two occasions but there was only Abdo and one other there to do all the work and they really are worth the wait. We were even treated to Abdo’s local Bedouin cuisine a couple of times in the evening, which was fabulous and if you have the chance you really must try but beware the cats because the little blighters will steal anything… one of the little cuties stole half a duck, for which she will never be forgiven, you have been warned….cute but fast and very sneaky.

The hotel is away from the main area and was really peaceful. We enjoyed our breakfasts outside across the roadway overlooking the sea and with the occasional horse or camel passing behind us. Idyllic, really.
Dahab is much quieter and far more laid back than Sharm or Hurgarda, I really can’t wait to visit again as there are still many places not visited or dived and I would be more than happy to revisit the Star of Dahab and Big Blue next door.

Handy hints and tips….if you are on a budget, eat local, avoid the restaurants on the front and eat where the locals do….Yums yums make fabulous falafels and fresh bread and you can eat well for less than a pound, King Chicken is another…..If you eat in any of the restaurants on the front check before you order to see if you get a free mezze…. These are real filler-uppers and you might not need the starter as well….just saying : )

Highly recommended for the friendly staff, great views, peaceful location and great views across the Red Sea to Saudi…..

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013 via mobile

Second stay at the star of dahab and the welcome was warmer than ever, rooms are basic but clean and regularly serviced, beds changed every other day and fresh towels daily. Breakfast on the beach overlooking the red sea and the mountains of Saudi was just lovely. The staff were friendly and nothing was too much trouble. Would recommend to anyone as a great option if on a budget.
Will definitely return.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Second time In Dahab, first time to the Star of Dahab, made to feel like a member of the family
within minutes of arrival.
So convenient for the Big Blue dive centre and many cafe's and restaurants
The manager, Abdo Is a Star, nothing is too much trouble, he prepares amazing Egyptian food.
The room has a comfortable bed and good air conditioning, just what you need after a days diving, the shower Is a little temperamental but did the job.
would I go back? of course, already planning next years trip.

Room Tip: Room 33, has its own palm tree growing through the balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

I enjoyed very much my comfortable stay at Star of Dahab. I was glad for its accessibility both to the windsurfing areas and to the old village. I could write much more, but you get the the general impression.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

This place is a good budget option.Very good value for price.
Stayed here while diving at the attached Big Blue Dahab dive company, which I cannot more highly recommend. Small balconies nice for reading. In house beach cafe fine for breakfast, often I was the only one there. Located at the quiet (noise and activity-wise) end of the Dahab strip but within shuffling distance of many restaurants. Were able to organize taxi to meet me at Sharm Airport which was great.
Only drawback is lack of pool, but not many budget options have one; anyway spent many days in the water nontheless. Be aware most hotels in the Dahab strip draw off of cisterns, and the water is slightly brackish. More upmarket accommodations may differ.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Star Of Dahab Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Star Of Dahab Hotel

Address: Mashraba St, Dahab 46617, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Dahab
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 52 Hotels in Dahab
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Star Of Dahab Hotel is located on the sea front side of Dahab Village and is the perfect place if you are looking for a chilly holiday; visit us and you won't regret it! We offer a wide range of rooms: from rooms with single occupancy to 4 and 6-bed family rooms. They all come with private en-suite and private balcony and side sea view. Breakfast is included in the on-line room rate; we usually have a 24/7 reception and are available daily between 6 am and 1 pm; we would really appreciate to be contacted in case your estimated arrival time changes. We are really looking forward to having you at Star of Dahab. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Tingo, HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Star Of Dahab Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Star Of Dahab Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.