We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best in Dahab :-)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Meya Meya

Meya Meya
Dahab, Egypt
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 90 Restaurants in Dahab
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Galway, Galway, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Best in Dahab :-)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

Great food, nice freindly staff. Mr Smiley is a credit to the restaurant, Nothing is ever a problem, service is efficent and not overbearing......Thanks Meya-Meya 100%

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    235
    54
    23
    9
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Egypt at it's best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

Awesome fresh local food in an typical restaurant... perfect for a nice and relaxed dinner. To be mentioned is the stuff that is extra friendly and always has a smile in their face - those guys love to host people. A must visit in Dahab :)

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kigali, Rwanda
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Wonderful Dining Experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

I was making my way down the promenade in Dahab reading all the menus trying to figure out where to eat. As I was reading the Meya, Meya menu, Mahmoud (Mr. Smiley) came out to talk to me. He was not pressuring me like many others I met along the way, but very friendly. He told me that if I wasn't 100% (Meya means 100 in Arabic) pleased with my food it would be free. I then asked if he could make me a vegetarian version of the Fattah on the menu replacing the beef with aubergine. He quickly yelled over to the chef who confirmed this could be done and I was sold! The atmosphere is lovely, along the water with beautiful Egyptian decor and seating. The food was absolutely fresh and delicious! (I ended up paying for my meal!) One of my favorite parts was the fat street cats joining me (at a safe distance) for my meal. I was alone so they made for good dining companions! Overall one of the best dining experiences I have had in Egypt.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Good food and service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

Had a lovely meal at Meya Meya, although we had to change tables as the wind picked up and we moved to a more sheltered location, but it wasn't a problem for the staff. Lovely food, well presented and not too expensive. We had free starters and fruit after, which is a great gesture.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portadown, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great bar and friendly staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014 via mobile

I have been holidaying in Dahab for a few years now and always visit Meya Meya. The staff are very friendly and are always pleased to see us. The food is good and the portions large while being very reasonably priced.

Returning to the staff, they cannot do enough for you and will stay open late to ensure you enjoy your night out or just want to chill with a backgammon board. A big hello to Mahmoud, Hussain and Khalid who looked after us so well in February 2014 once again. See you next year from Tony, Bob and the gang....MEYA MEYA!!!

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Meya Meya also viewed

 
Dahab, South Sinai
Dahab, South Sinai
 

Been to Meya Meya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Meya Meya, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.