We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really Relaxing Stay- beautiful setting, friendly nice staff.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dahab Bay View Resort & SPA

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Dahab Bay View Resort & SPA to your Saves list
Dahab Bay View Resort & SPA
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Qunai Valley, Dahab 46111, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 52 Hotels in Dahab
Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Really Relaxing Stay- beautiful setting, friendly nice staff.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

My husband and myself returned yesterday from a very nice stay at this hotel in Egypt. We really enjoyed it and i would recommend it to others. The resort is very quiet, set in the mountians, our rooms was lovely, very big and the shower was fab - very powerful and hot , it was great! Our view was nice and we looked out at the sea, we found all the staff very nice and helpful. The bar tender Sheriff was especially attentive and and really looked after us, the chef Mohammed was really great and constantly walked around the resturant asking if we were ok with the food and did we want anythign else, the beach bar tender was so helpful and friendly and was always smiling and laughing. The hotel evening entertianment was a bit lacking but that might be beacuse we went in winter - im sure if you went in summer it would be better, so guests all congregated in the lounge bar in the evenings where they had MTV in the background on and we socalised with other guests every night from germany and russia and found it very nice and didnt actually need the entertainment.
Some days the food was a bit "samey" but the desserts were very nice!!!!!
I would go back here if i was going to Dahab.

Room Tip: Sea View is a must!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    109
    54
    25
    15
See reviews for
63
161
24
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
leicester
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

My wife and i have just returned from holiday at this hotel. It was the second visit this year, We go to this hotel because It is quiet and all the rooms have a sea view and the coral reef is very good for snorkeling. Lots of marine life. We had a few problems which were sorted out by the Executive Housekeeper Zakaria Samir. He is a very good manager well done Zakaria. I also want to mention the new Ex Chef Mohamed Mostafa he is making a real difference in the food choice in the restaurant. The Lemon Pie was fabulous keep it up Mohamed. So overall the hotel has improved from our first visit and we think the mercure is value for money.

Room Tip: Try rooms on the third level
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Various
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Note: Before I start this review, be aware that the hotel management encourages positive TripAdvisor postings by offering staff bonuses if you mention them in reviews. There is nothing wrong with this, but a few employees will follow you and ask for this regularly. The result is....it is hard to write a critical review and then praise a staff member to help them earn extra cash. Ignore these requests and tip when you feel service has justified it.

I purchased a package for two via Travel Wasp for this hotel. The rate for a two week all inclusive was £600 pp. We booked express transfers from AtoB travel from Sharm el-Sheikh to Dahab, but there is no value in this extra "EXPRESS" charge, as the vans (12 seaters) run to Dahab with both express and non-express paying customers on them. On the way to the resort you will pass several security check points, and the ride takes about 45 minutes to Bay View.

Arrival and check in are pretty straight forward. The Bay View has room blocks on six levels, with level six sold as the VIP level...which means you are closer to the buffet (on level 5) but 250 steps down the hill to the beach. There is a pool there and it is quiet during the day, but noisy at night from the sound systems on the hotel patios. A good compromise is level 3...with level 1 appearing to be the quietest (lower pool side) and level four closest to the open air patio with music and entertainment.

The rooms are clean and airy, with tile floors and open patios. Request an end unit with a covered porch as these are a bit larger and afford more privacy. All views out to the Red Sea are good. There are no hotels to either side so the views up and down the coast and over to Saudi Arabia are wide and clear. The units have air conditioning units which are loud (ish), but if there is a large party below or around you, it will ensure good white sound for sleeping. Housekeeping is consistent and we had no major problems aside from missing water and soaps, which were easily resolved.

The buffet is predictable after a few days, but adequate variety is available. The lobby posts "themes" for the meals, but most of the food was the same (beef, chicken, fish, steamed veg). Salads were always fresh but deserts were of spotty quality and it was easy to tell which were made in house and which were bought in. The head chef will follow you, give you a business card and ask for a TripAdvisor recommendation. Of all the areas in the hotel, he was the most visible and pro-active manager. Given the importance a lot of people put on the food in all-inclusive, he did a good a job or ensuring (or at least trying) to accept and apply feedback of his food.

The beach was casual and the only place to escape the barrage of piped in music throughout the resort. The lower pool area was nice, but not a place to sit and read a book due to noise. The various activities were good fun and the pool staf kept the area clean and safe.

The beach has an excellent reef, and from there it is possible to walk south for about 30 minutes to the next resort, for the Three Pools which is on a lot of tour agendas. The beach bar is open 10-6 and staff there is excellent. Unlike many areas of the hotel, the beach staff was engaging and helpful. Spend your time down here and you will be well taken care of.

Evening entertainment deserves a mention...we saw all the shows while there. There are three rotating acts..Open Air Disco, A singer and a Fakir show that features (sometimes) a whirling Deirvesh or Belly Dancer. I would suggest you stay for 10 minutes and judge for yourself..Kids will love the Fakir show, but watch Ishtar and you get the idea.

All in all a good choice, but not good enough to return. We will go back to Dahab, as it is more "real" than Sharm, quieter and less commercial. The town is pretty sleepy and we always felt safe. I encourage you to travel here to show support for good people trying to work hard and support families in challenging times for the Egyptian tourist industry.

Room Tip: Second end uits with covered balconies work best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yekaterinburg, Russia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

I won't create anything I'll just copy the words which I left for the hotel manager in a letter: "Thanks to your work these 11 days were the best holiday in my life despite of the fact that I was here with my 3(!!!) daughters alone. It's as you understand not a very easy work.
But you have done everything to make our life here comfortable, safe, clean and TASTY! Today I've already given my respects to your main cook for his wonderful cakes (with chocolate and nuts - my favorite!!!) and his delicious fish and chicken. Also for his creativity as he could wonder us every evening with something unusual and tastier than before!
Special thanks to the manager of the hotel who can every day organize the work of the hotel in such excellent way!!!
I hope I'll be able to return here with my big family. And of course with great pleasure I will be recommending your hotel to my friends!"

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

what a wonderfull place the mercure dahab bay view is . the staff at this hotel are all five star the service is very good and nothing is too much trouble for them they smile from dawn till dusk. the new head chef mohamed is brill, the food is very good and the cakes and sweets are to die for. there are a lot of steps up and down to the beach so if you cant walk very well maybe this is not for you however having said that we are nearly 60 and the exercise was good for us .we went all inclusive and the bar staff were great especially sherif in the lobby bar he works his head off he will look after you. take snorkling gear with you its a must the fish on the reef at the hotel beach are fantastic and the sea is warmer than the pool. the rooms are clean and tidy fresh towels every day and your beds made for you too. all in all this was a really good relaxing holiday and the sun shines every day, watch out for the mosquitoes if like me midge get you, then get some protection from them you have been warned

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

This is my 3rd visit to this hotel.
It has great rooms, comfortable beds, fantastic views and the staff are fantastic; they are incredibly friendly and helpful.
The food is excellent, especially the deserts, Mohamed Mostafa, the chef, was incredibly helpful and friendly and upon request will endeavor to make any food you like or desire and did just that, for me..(a fresh strawberry tart)

I have to mention the reception staff also, especially Mustapha Madawy and Peter Nagui They were professional and worked incredibly hard to please every demanding request from all the guests. It was a pleasure to speak with these 2 on a daily basis. The house keeping (Fady) was also, really, very good, kind and thorough.
Ramadan, the Bedouin in the hotel - provides delicious Bedouin tea and a relaxed atmosphere and if you want, traditional Shisha - he is also very kind and helpful and will help create an authentic Bedouin experience..

For me, it's the best hotel I have stayed in Dahab. Yes, its a little far from the town but the hotel has a reliable and friendly taxi firm based in the hotel reception, as-well as a free convenient shuttle bus at certain times - there are also many taxi's available 24/7 in the town.

The main reason I return to this hotel, is The Staff; they make it an incredible place to stay..

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

we stay for 4 nights here. it rained and the room was flooded which took 4 hours to take care of. housekeeping does a great job anyways. receptions english is very poor so when asking for something basic takes forever and theres not way to complain b/c they just give you a blank stare.and they are not very professional or smiley. the food is just bad. breakfast lunch and dinner all looks the same just cut into smaller pieces. by the end of it we were just plain sick of eating in the restaurant b/c the food is repetitive and uneatable. service is also very bad in the restaurant. no one has a sence of urgency or could even look at the table and think what a guest could need...i donno cutlery and a napkin would be nice instead of having to walk inside and take it off another table every single day. The bar tender is a super star Sherif! Makes the best cocktail and nothing is too much hassle! someone you'll enjoy tipping! we had a massage and when escorted back to the room to pay it was too much hassle for the guy to come back with our change he just said come back and get it tomorrow. how helpful.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dahab Bay View Resort & SPA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dahab Bay View Resort & SPA

Address: Qunai Valley, Dahab 46111, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Dahab
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Dahab
#12 Family Hotel in Dahab
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Dahab
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dahab Bay View Resort & SPA 3.5*
Number of rooms: 217
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"ٍSol Dahab Red Sea" stretches over 18.000 M2 private beach with the colorful Sinai & Red Sea mountains as backdrop. The resort captivates the senses with its unsurpassed facilities & relaxing atmosphere. Welcome to the Mercure Dahab Bay View"Mr. Ahmed NAEIM, Hotel Manager ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Dahab Bay View Resort & SPA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Dahab Bay View Hotel Red Sea And Sinai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dahab Bay View Resort & SPA, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.