We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful place, awesome view” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dahab Bay View Resort & SPA

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Dahab Bay View Resort & SPA to your Saves list
Dahab Bay View Resort & SPA
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Qunai Valley, Dahab 46111, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 52 Hotels in Dahab
Cairo, Al Qahirah, Egypt
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“wonderful place, awesome view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

the view was incredible, the food was exellent, and the cast and all workers were all helpful and very descent . i will be back again , the animation team wasn,t so good , if the show at nigh was better , the holiday would be perfect.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    109
    54
    25
    15
See reviews for
63
161
24
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

I'm not sure about the post below but we found the hotel food awful. No variety and although they advertise a different theme each evening there was no difference between "Oriental night" or "Italian night". Be careful what you eat too as after each meal we noth ended up with severe stomach cramps.

Even though they advertise other restaurants they are never open.

The only bar that was open was the lobby bar - if you can find the barman to serve you!

Evening entertainment was hideous so please don't go to the hotel if this is what you are after.

Would not go back.

Room Tip: Level 2 for a good sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Despite arriving during a power cut caused by earlier storms we were made to feel welcome, shown to the restaurant and were looked after kindly even tho it was after official opening hours. Our apartment was very clean with a sea view, although the beds were slightly too hard for my old bones!
Breakfast was consistently good, with good buffet choice and omelettes etc cooked to order. The staff were always friendly and welcoming without being creepy. One morning we were very late but they graciously let us help ourselves despite the fact they were trying to clear for lunch!we didn't try the buffet lunch, as we were usually too full from breakfast! But we did have the poolside snacks a few times and can recommend the burgers and chicken paninis.
Evening dinner was usually tasty and varied within a theme. Excellent service from the waiting staff who did take particular care of everyone it seemed.
Special mention to the beach bar staff, always ready with a smile.
Loved the beach sunbed area, so relaxing, never crowded, and great fish/coral to spend hours watching thru snorkels.watching the kite surfers was also brilliant, and never intrusive.
The hotel layout, with apartments grouped together in blocks on different levels, with beautiful bougainvillea and hibiscus along the low walls, with lovely water features breaking up and adding to the ambient feel, was like a little village. We found many different routes down to the pool or beach, and over to the restaurant or reception area. There are easy access walkways or steps up and down, that seem arduous at first but actually are broken up on each level and the views make up for a bit of puffing! We tok the attitude that it was keeping us fit and helping burn off the masses of food we ate!
I was very impressed by the lovely massage service, and the care that was taken with a previous back problem that was identified. However the lovely lady who patrolled daily effectively touting for business was a bit intrusive at times, although by day 5 of 7 she did get the message that my husband wasn't interested in a massage!!
We went into dahab on the free shuttlebus service, but were not keen on returning to its very dirty streets and overly persistent traders. It meant we didn't go in any shops as we felt too hassled, but the top end of town was more relaxed with divers cafes etc but overall wouldn't recommend it as a place to visit except as a curiosity.
We loved the view, the hotel, the sea, the sun, the staff, the food, the air con, the sun beds, the hilariously cheesy evening entertainment, the decor, the trees and flowers, the recycling urns, the pool, the landscaping, the clean toilets on the beach and by the pool. We didn't like the hard beds, the mosquito smoking man, the cigarette smoking everywhere( especially in the gift shop- all my souvenirs reek of smoke :(), small glasses at the bar ;)

Room Tip: All rooms seem to have sea views, because of the tiered layout.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012 via mobile

- no welcome pack eg no way of finding spa, or restaurants, room service, etc
- few facilities in room, the ones that are there are bare, eg telephone not having any instructions
- wifi only in lobby that is at the top of the resort, 10-20min walk from swimming pool
- no snacks available poolside, drinks only available from bar, not from waiters
- asked manager about dinner, he told me there was an á la carte restaurant, which I found out was actually only open for lunch after I spent half an hour looking for it
- only 1 choice for dinner; buffet at E£125 with no labels on any food
- impossible-to-follow signs, missing out chunks of room numbers
- bad quality in rooms, eg bathroom bin broken, holes in sheets, stiffness of the toilet flusher
- many staff speak terrible english, even though the hotel is advertised as "international"
- the breakfast was ok, although there weren't labels on any of the dishes at all so had to ask waiter

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Just back from a 10 day stay at the Mercure Bay View in Dahab. If you like peace, quiet and want to get away from the hassle of everyday life then this is the place to go.
The hotel is about a 40 minute ride from the airport but with only 5 people on the flight going to Dahab the mini bus was soon ready to go. Once at the hotel we where soon taken to our rooms which are large, spacious and spotlessly clean.

The welcome meeting was the 'normal' hard sell by the rep but only took about 30 minutes and was worth going just to find out about the hotel, the all inclusive, what was available and what was not.

The food has taken a lot of criticism in past reviews - yes it is very typically all inclusive but there was something to eat for everyone. Breakfast is brilliant and one morning there was 17 different pastries as well as all of the other options. Lunch is good with an option of the pool bar or the restaurant. Best at the pool bar is the pizza's - cooked to order and good.
The restaurant offered many options from local to good old chips. The restaurant manager + all of the restaurant staff constantly ask for feedback and will go out of there way to offer you something if there is nothing that you can eat. They also cater for allergies.

Drinks are readily available to all of the bars and the longest that you have to wait is a couple of minutes. The staff take pleasure in knowing what you drink and getting it ready for you.

The beds where changed daily along with the towels. The staff that clean the rooms left us plenty of water, tea, coffee and creamer every day.

The beach is coral and you can not walk directly into the sea but there is a jetty which leads to the most amazing coral reef with hundreds of different fish.

Whilst on the beach you will be approached by the massage team and the salon owner. The massage is brilliant and we had 4 in the 10 days that we where there. The massage team are not pushy but the salon guy had to be told - quite firmly!

The red sea boat trip is brilliant and is an all day trip. The staff on the boat are fab and the food was good. We did 4 snorkels during the day and they where all good. With only 3 Brits on the boat we had 1 instructor all to ourselves.

The pool at level 6 is the best kept secret - no one ever goes up there but it is fab and worth the climb. The spa opens at 3pm and is also brilliant - if its not open you just have to call reception and someone will come and unlock it. Its well worth a splash.

The staff make this hotel and they work relentlessly doing long days with hardly any days off. We where not asked for any tips during our time at the hotel but gave to those staff that helped make our stay good. However, at the airport we where jumped to the front of the queue by a security guard as one of the party walks with a stick - he then proceeded to ask for money - we ignored him but it was scary experience for women traveling alone.

Would I go back to this hotel - heck yes but would I go back to Egypt - sorry no.

Room Tip: We where in room 368 - brilliant view, away from the restaurant & upstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

A week at the Bay view was just what we needed. a generally, clean, well equiped and comfortable hotel on the edge of the Red Sea. The hotel is beautifully positioned far enough away from Dahab to make it quiet and secluded yet close enough to make a visit easy and quick. The rooms are large and comfortable with good bathroom facilities and excelant views accross the sea to Saudi. The reef is easily accessible and teeming with fish coral and invertebrates, and the dive club based at ther hotel is excellent. The beach is well equiped with sun beds, umbrellas and wind breaks and is tended every day to keep it tidy. All in all a good hotel in a great location, as long as a quiet and peaceful holiday is required.
Food a recurring topic at this hotel, is generally very good, the Executive Chef fMohamed Mostafa and his team provide an excellant range of freshly cooked dishes, however what a shame that the heated servers designed to keep the food hot rarely achieves better than tepid.
However the little things which make or break a holiday is where this hotel tends to fall down. On arrival at approx 21.45hrs we asked about food, and unaware that the hotels restaurant stayed open until 22.00hrs we were told dinner would be served in our room. When it arrived it consisted of two small rolls, a couple of slices of sweaty cheese and a couple of slices of Spam, having travelled for over 12 hours and only been offered expensive "in flight" Thomson snacks on our flight this fare did not excite or satisfy. Staff although mostly happy and helpful are generally very slow and apt to leave their "posts" for periods of time leaving bars, food counters and occasionally reception unattended for 10 to 15 minute stretches, as previously mentioned by other reviewers room walkways and paths are often dotted with random bits of litter such as glasses, plates, bits of litter which stay for days. We too encountered "fake notes" dispensed by the cash machine in the lobby which the hotel refused to believe came from the machine and would do nothing to help. Finally the animation team was completely non existant, therefore water polo, boccia, water aerobics etc had to be organised by guests alone. and in a weeks stay the evening entertainment was sporadic and of poor quality, but uyou meet people and make your pwn entertainment,
Don't get me wrong I would return to this hotel but I do hope they get a bit more staff training and live up to their corporate statement

Room Tip: Rooms on the 3rd level are considered the best as they are 3 "floors" above the pool and b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blackburn uk
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Just returned from a lovely peaceful, relaxing and idylic week at the Mercure Dahab with my girlfriend. I was going to write a long piece but just noticed many reviews that say the same as what i was going to say so i will be brief. This is a great hotel for couples looking for a quite rest away from it all. The grounds are outstandingly beautiful. The staff are lovely and cant do enough for you.The food is extremely good with the new chef Mohammed Mostafa catering personally to your tastes. One evening he saw me at my table without any food and drinking a lovely glass of rose. He asked me why i wasnt eating. I said that i just didnt fancy anything on offer that night. He asked me what i would like if i had the choice. I said that i was craving a fresh chicken madras with fresh chillies and ginger ontop. He walked away smiling. 15 minutes later he came back with what i had asked for and it was absolutely delicious. Anyone who complains about this place should have their passports confiscated and forced to holiday in Blackpool for the next 10 years...!!!

A word of warning though....I was advised by a staff member not to visit during the month of Ramadan or Egyptian holidays....enough said...!!!

Finally things to do:

The reef outside the hotel is nothing special and is fairly basic
The boat trip to Ras Mohammed was disappointing....the reef is dying off and full of litter
Bedouin night near Sharm was terrible and certainly not traditional and costs around £40 each ???
Quadbiking in the desert was brill and much better than expected
Finally the Blue Hole. Do not visit Dahab without snorkling this reef. It is absolutely stunning. Without doubt the best reef that i have ever experienced and the trip was only £10 each by jeep.
(All booked with Safari Dahab wich is next to the bridge in town).

All in all a lovely trip and hope to return one day xxx

Room Tip: All rooms are lovely and well located with great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dahab Bay View Resort & SPA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dahab Bay View Resort & SPA

Address: Qunai Valley, Dahab 46111, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Dahab
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Dahab
#12 Family Hotel in Dahab
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Dahab
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dahab Bay View Resort & SPA 3.5*
Number of rooms: 217
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"ٍSol Dahab Red Sea" stretches over 18.000 M2 private beach with the colorful Sinai & Red Sea mountains as backdrop. The resort captivates the senses with its unsurpassed facilities & relaxing atmosphere. Welcome to the Mercure Dahab Bay View"Mr. Ahmed NAEIM, Hotel Manager ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Dahab Bay View Resort & SPA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Dahab Bay View Hotel Red Sea And Sinai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dahab Bay View Resort & SPA, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.