We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“amazing holiday in Dahab” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lagoon Villa Apartments

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dahab
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lagoon Villa Apartments
Save
You added Lagoon Villa Apartments to your Saves list
Lagoon Villa | Golden Beach, Medina, Dahab 46617, Egypt   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free starter pack
Ranked #2 of 24 Specialty Lodging in Dahab
bournemouth
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“amazing holiday in Dahab”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2010

We spent two weeks in the larger of the two appartments (seahorse) in April with two children and a baby. Toby and Fi were amazing, really friendly and especially helpful and supportive when we were stuck there a few extra days due to Volcano ash problems. I would recommend it for family with kids without hesitation. The garden is really safe for them to run around , the so called Jacuzzi is big enough to be used as a pool by them. The shop is only 100 meters away and has everything you might need (even nappies, wipes, baby milk and food). We used the beach at Panda Hotel every day. They charge 25LE per adult (nothing for kids) and the food in the cafe is great so we had lunch there everyday. The beach attendant was really friendly and played with our kids most of the time. We also let them use the playground at the next door Ibeya hotel where they made friends with other kids. Fi and Toby's recommendations for restaurants were all really good. All in all, we thought that Bedouins and Egyptians there were really chilled, loved kids and were very welcoming. Even shop keepers were friendly and not trying too hard to get us to their shop. Taxi drivers really friendly as well. I can't fault anything and am going back next year.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
22
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Portugal
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2010

We had a wonderful time at the Lagoon Villa Apartments over March.

We went 3 friends for 7 days, just for windsurfing and stayed at the Octopus apartment, which was very comfortable, clean, modern, and very well decorated and there’s a large patio area so you can eat outside your breakfast watching the wind. In the kitchen we had all the stuff to cook and take breakfast.

On the day we arrived we had a starter kit (bread, milk, eggs, water, coffee, jam, butter, etc) so that we could eat something on the arrival, fantastic surprise!!!
We picked this apartment through googling the internet we found the site www.dahabholidays.com and sent a e-mail that was quickly replied by Fiona.
Fiona and Toby are a British couple that can manage your accommodation, airports transfer, kit rental, everything you need. They were fantastic with us from the fist to the last minute!!!

The apartment is really close to the main water sports area, a 3 minute walk. The Lagoon Villa has a large garden with sun loungers where you relax at the end of the day of windsurfing.

Next to the apartments there is a supermarket where you can your stuff to eat.
From the apartments do the town you pick a 5 minute trip by cab so you can eat out in the fantastic restaurants. Very good food and cheap prices.

I recommend the apartments to anyone who wants a calm place to stay, without the fuss of the hotels

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2010

We have been travelling regularly to Dahab since 2000. We love it there for the windsurfing most of all but also for the amazing snorkelling on the reefs and the wonderful desert scenery.
Previously we have stayed in the various hotels along the beach. This was the first time we have had a self-catering apartment in Dahab and it was a great success. We will definitely stay at Lagoona Villa again.
The location was a 5 min. walk to the beach and tucked away in a quiet tranquil location. There is a lovely walled garden that Toby is lovingly developing with lawns and exotic plants, plus he is growing a few of his own vegetables! We breakfasted on the little terrace outside our apartment and sat there in the early evening with a good book and a drink in our hand! There is a large Jacuzzi for those who feel the need. Fi and Toby are delightful hosts and have a gorgeous little spaniel puppy who pops over to say hello.
We stayed in Seahorse which suited us perfectly. The main room was large, bright and airy, simply decorated in an attractive contemporary style with air conditioning. The double bed was very comfortable and the bedding is of course Egyptian cotton! The bathroom was large with a good shower and a bath and plenty of hot water. The kitchen is small but works well and on several occasions we cooked meals for 4 people with no trouble. There is a good size dining table which made entertaining easy. The local supermarket is 1min walk away, as is the ATM machine (this one was always full!).

Fi and Toby arranged our transfers which worked without hitch. They also organised a trip to St Katherine's Monastery and the White Canyon and Mushroom Rock. A brilliant outing. They also offered several other trips including a hiking and natural history trek with a guide - this we will do next time. Masbat is an half hour walk or a 5min taxi ride and has plenty of good restaurants and shops.

Thank you to Fi and Toby for a lovely stay. We will come again.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2010

We had a wonderful time at the Lagoon Villa Apartments over Christmas and New Year – it was so good that we have booked again for June 2010. We stayed for a month in the Octopus apartment, which was very comfortable, clean, modern, yet tastefully decorated.
The bed was huge and really comfy, the furniture was lovely and there’s a large patio area so you can eat outside. We loved sitting and watching the stars in the evening.

We had breakfast there most days and went to the Hilton one morning, which was only 50LE (£5.50) for the full buffet. We did a mixture of eating in and out in the local town. We also had a curry delivered! The area is very peaceful and there is a supermarket and off license opposite, so everything is easy. We found some really good quality beef and smoked salmon from the Chef in town. So we used the BBQ a few times too.

We picked this apartment as Peter is a keen windsurfer and the apartment is really close to the main watersports area (only a 4 minute walk and sandy beach). The Lagoon Villa has a large garden with sunloungers and Jacuzzi so some days when there was no wind we didn't even want to go to the beach, but you can use the hotel sunloungers and swimming pool as well, for a small charge if you want.

We have stayed in many of the hotels on the beach (6 times now) and would not go back now that we have found this apartment. We found the hotel buffet food to be repetitive in the past and the cleanliness of the hotel rooms average. We did not think we would find better than hotel quality rooms, but we have with this apartment, plus our fridge was stocked with a welcome pack of water, and essential breakfast items, washing up liquid, cleaning products and loo roll which was a nice touch.

Self catering gave us much more flexibility (there’s no rush to get up so early) and the food in the local town we have found to be so much better and very cheap (5 minute taxi ride about £1 each way). An amazing steak or fish dinner was £7 in Nesima. We also really enjoyed the Kitchen for Thai and Indian, El Dorado’s – fantastic pizza and Same Same for local and Moroccan food. The owners Toby and Fi had an information pack and gave us some great recommendations of where to eat – so we found some new places we hadn’t tried before. We went on a lovely snorkel trip to Napoleon reef by boat, and did a half day trip to St Catherine’s Monastery which was great – all was organized through Fi. Toby organised windsurfing rental for Peter and so it was all so easy – all we had to do was relax and enjoy ourselves.

The only thing we didn’t like was leaving. But only 5 months until we return and counting!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
windsmurfer
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2010

I don't often write reviews, but felt compelled to write this one as this appartment was a real gem and has really changed my opinion on self-catering apartments in Dahab. My mate and I had an awesome time when we stayed in the Seahorse apartment. We have visited Dahab on many occasions, and would rate this as the best self-catered apartments we have stayed in. The apartment is roomy, tastefully decorated and kept impeccably clean. There is a double bed and large single as well, so excellent for two mates, a couple or even a small family.

Not only was the apartment and Jacuzzi lovely, but the wind was amazing. 6 out of 7 days of strong wind was more than I could have hoped for. It was just a shame my hands couldn’t cope.

Toby and Fiona who run the Apartments are really helpful, and helped us arrange a few excursions, and also gave us some top tips on some of the new restaurants in the Masbat.

We will definitely go back.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2009

After a day busting big moves on the water there really was no better place to go back to than the Lagoon Villa Apartments. My girlfriend Andi and I found this gem of a place on the internet and it more than lived up to expectations. We had previously travelled together to Dahab and stayed in a number of the generic, German fiddly clad large hotel complexes, which whilst they do what they say on the can, offer little more than a convenient location and extremely overpriced water and beer. We stayed in the smaller of the two apartments (Seahorses I think) and this was exceptional. We had a double bed, and a back up single as a spare. This was not your typical backpacker Egyptian accommodation, more a western oasis situated just three or four minutes walk from the beech front. Walking in from the dusty street into the private enclosure you are greeted by green grass (imported from Cairo!), flora, fauna and an extremely friendly little kitten (unoriginaly named "Puss") and a sun heated jacuzzi/plunge pool which is fantastic for cooling yourself down in after a few minutes lying in the sun. All of this and a western style bathroom (we had two showers and a bath!) , a kitchen which was small but perfectly formed and functional and free wireless internet! If you want to save yourself money, there is a supermarket within 1 minutes walk of the apartments so you can cook, and also an off license (yes, in Egypt!) The beers and the water being a fraction of the price charged by the behemoth hotels on the front.

Toby and Fiona are great, they seem to know the area really well and from what I can gather have spent a good deal of time in Dahab. They know all the best places to go and can arrange virtually anything for you including transfers too and from the airport (remember not to queue up and get a Visa if you only plan to go to Dahab). Both are also really good windsurfers (if somewhat oldschool) and can tell you where abouts to sail if you have not been to Dahab before.

Me and Andi will definitely be back.

Many thanks to Toby and Fiona for waking us up to a better Dahab.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lagoon Villa Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lagoon Villa Apartments

Address: Lagoon Villa | Golden Beach, Medina, Dahab 46617, Egypt
Phone Number:
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Dahab
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 24 Specialty Lodging in Dahab
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Luxury Lagoon Villa Apartments offer modern and comfortable self-catering accommodation a few minutes walk from the main sandy beach in the Lagoon area. So perfect for wind/kitesurfers or anyone looking to relax in a peaceful area. The Villa is located in a secluded grassy garden with outdoor Jacuzzi pool. The private terraces have sunloungers and a BBQ area for al fresco dining. There is a supermarket, off license and ATM opposite so stocking up is easy. The Lagoon Villa apartments can sleep 7 people in total (2 separate apartments). One is a studio apartment (Seahorse apartment with a doubled bed 150cms and single bed 120cms). The other apartment (Octopus) has two bedrooms. The master bedroom has a 160cm bed and there is a twin bedroom. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lagoon Villa Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.