We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and friendly staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Yasmina Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Yasmina Hotel to your Saves list
Yasmina Hotel
Masbat, Dahab 45455, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #41 of 52 Hotels in Dahab
northants
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Nice and friendly staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2011

As a solo traveller the price I paid for this hotel was value for money.
The breakfast was pretty basic but ok, the staff were very helpful with sorting out excursions etc, pool was nice and clean. Rooms were basic but clean, had a fridge which was stocked daily, and the prices for water etc were not too much more than getting them from outside.
I would definetly recommend this for independent travellers.
The only downside really was that it isnt on the sea front, so for me it was a bit of a hassle having to lug everything I needed for the day down to the front as I didn,t want to walk through the shops etc in my swimming gear.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    26
    3
    4
    5
See reviews for
6
17
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Orangeville, Canada
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2011

Ok hotel for us. Swimming pool was nice but the lounge chairs kind of yucky.
Food OK as well.
Staff pretty friendly and helped arrange tours and transportation onward.
Rooms were dated but alright for the price.
Great location...easy to walk to the beach, shopping and restaurants.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2010

In the context of Dahab and according to my own observations, the following points are most notable in regard to the Yasmina Hotel.

Good Points:

Yes, the Yasmina Hotel does have a pool, however, the coral reef is two minutes away and will always indefinitely beat the pool on all accounts so do not base your decision on staying at this hotel on its having a sought after pool.

The rooms are equipped with decent air-conditioning facilities.

Bad Points:

Breakfast – The food is poor when measured against breakfasts provided elsewhere in other hotels and hostels in Dahab. Plus, disappointingly there is an extra charge should you prefer juice/water over instant coffee/watery tea first thing each morning. The provision of food at this hotel is not taken seriously by the staff, and it’s obvious.

Rooms (see photos) – Very dark, blood-stains (amongst other abject substances) on bed sheets and towels. Pillows are scruffy and solid. Hand prints on walls. Bathrooms are dilapidated – toilet did not flush, the floor was flooded in two inches of water after each shower, the fixed wall mirror was broken in additions to the chipped floor and wall tiles, and the wooden bathroom door had rotted. Furthermore, the rooms on the ground floor do not have balconies and you can hear the staff at all hours running back and forth along the terrace. Every word and every footstep from 06.00 onwards. The rooms are afforded absolutely no views whatsoever.

Staff – Disorganised, intimidating and willing to overcharge as a first response to everything. Nothing is ever straight forward in the Yasmina Hotel.

In sum, there are much better places to stay in Dahab that are cheaper, cleaner, safer, more relaxing, less intimidating, which will enhance rather than diminish your experience of this lovely village! My advice: Do not waste a moment of your life at the Yasmina Hotel.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie C, Guest Relations Manager at Yasmina Hotel, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Dear Iris, please accept our sincere apologies from the management and staff at Yasmin Hotel Dahab. We are shocked to see the photos which you posted and the room was not the standard we set ourselves. I am the Guest Relations Manager and have made enquiries as to why you had a bathroom in such poor repair and it simply is not good enough. We thank you for bringing these serious issues to our attention and want to reassure you that your feedback has been helpful to us. All of the issues raised in your review have all been dealt with so that future guests will not have the same experience. The rooms are cleaned daily, more so upon request, and I inspect them personally to make sure our high standards are maintained. The management are so saddened by your stay that they would like to offer you one weeks complimentary stay for yourself and a companion so you can see how we have improved. It would be a pleasure to welcome you back to Yasmina Hotel.
yours sincerely,
Julie Cooper Yasmina Hotel Guest Relations Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
utrecht
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2010

If you are looking for affordable accomodation in Dahab, you should really consider Yasmina Hotel. It has a good location, relaxed atmosphere, very friendly staff and a nice swimming pool to cool down. It has a good diving center on site and Mohammed will arrange nice trips for you. Rooms are good value for money. It's very close to the beach area and all the nice shops and restaurants.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburgh
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2010

We paid only 100 EGP for a double room here with aircon and tv and fridge. Had a swimming pool too. Cant really complain as the price was so low but the wifi didnt work in my room or anywhere and we got a mild electrocution from the shower! Clean sheets and powerful aircon

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie C, Guest Relations Manager at Yasmina Hotel, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
Thank you for your comments. The wi-fi problem has been resolved and is free and available in all rooms and communal areas. We have refurbished the bathrooms last year so no chance of any shocks in the shower. We apologise for any short comings and have raised the standards of the hotel by providing 24/7 English Guest Relations Manager. We hope you will return to stay with us soon.
many thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2010

The night we arrived we stayed in Bamboo House which was a nightmare. No air con and its right above 2 nightclubs, so you wont get any sleep there! Definately do not stay there!
The next morning I went looking for a new hotel and came across Yasmina. The guys at reception were really helpful and accomodating so we booked the next 4 nights with them.
The hotel is really nicely set out with a good sized pool in te centre. The rooms are a little old but well maintained and cleaned everyday. The air con was a litlle noisy too but nothing major.
Mohammed is able to arrange any tours/excursions in the area. We did a tour to the Blue Hole for the day which was really good and for a good price. I had already aranged my diving with Big Blue Dahab (which I highly recommend!!), but they have a dive centre there too.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2010

We weren't expecting much for 100 Egypt Pounds per night for a double, but what we got was an ensuite room with a comfortable-ish bed, a/c, a fridge, and a TV with BBC News24 on it. Not only that, but the room was cleaned daily, which is really not that common in budget places in this part of the world. A surprisingly good breakfast plus tea or coffee was included in the price, with a good choice of menu options, too.

There is a clean and very well-maintained pool, and although the internet isn't free, it's cheaper than in the nearby internet cafes. Because we were taken here by someone who approached us at the bus station, we suspected that we were probably paying slightly over the odds, which is usually the case in Egypt when you let somebody take you somewhere. It looked OK though, and we checked in for 1 night expecting to find somewhere cheaper and/or better value for the rest of our stay in Dahab, but after viewing a couple of places recommended in the guide books, we decided to stay put.

There were places slightly cheaper, but our room at the Yasmina was better than the alternatives we looked at, and the pool (with free sunbeds) was the clincher. Location-wise it's only 3 minutes walk from the sea. There's a juice bar nearby charging local (rather than tourist) prices and some good, cheap restaurants that are as popular with Egyptians as with budget travellers.

If you're on an ULTRA-cheap budget, there are cheaper places to stay than the Yasmina, but as far as value for money goes, there can't be many if any hotels in Dahab that even come close to matching it.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Yasmina Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yasmina Hotel

Address: Masbat, Dahab 45455, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Dahab
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 52 Hotels in Dahab
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Yasmina Hotel in DahabOur Mission StatementYasmina Hotel is an oasis of calm where the genuine care and comfort of our guest is our greatest mission. We pledge to provide the finest personal service to instil a sense of comfort and well being in our guests. We have an English Guest Relations Manager who will provide any information you need and her only wish is to make your holiday perfect. The team at Yasmina Hotel Dahab welcome you as a friend but our aim is for you to leave as family.The Yasmina Hotel Dahab is a traditional villa style hotel popular with families, couples and single travellers alike. Positioned in the heart of town it is a 2 minute walk to the beach with the most amazing coral reef for snorkelling and diving. The best feature of our hotel is the large freshwater pool, accessed only through the courtyard, making it a private swimming pool for hassle free sunbathing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HostelBookers, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Yasmina Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yasmina Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.