We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Choice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sea Sun Hotel Dahab

Save Saved
You added Sea Sun Hotel Dahab to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sea Sun Hotel Dahab
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   53 Blue Hole Road, Dahab 2345, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #45 of 52 hotels in Dahab
Mackay, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Good Choice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

If you are looking for a modern hotel with elegant staff and amazing food in Dahab then this hotel can be a perfect choice. I stayed here recently with my client and really enjoyed a lot. Staff here is very friendly and will make you feel at home. During our entire stay we didn't find anything missing. We had a great time there and will definitely recommend others also to visit the place once.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    37
    65
    25
    32
    63
See reviews for
33
109
29
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Luton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

The food was great! The room was more than adequate, bathroom was great, the ware and tear is simply due to the type of water that is coming through the taps and a bit of rust is to be expected, much like lime scale is expected in the UK. An example of this is the jetty into the sea, I was told it was less than 1 year old but the sea water made it look 20!

The staff were lovely, very friendly, chatty and would go out of their way to help you! Marco (Fady) who works in the little shop that sells water, and bits and bobs, was extreemly friendly, genuine and helpful. My one piece of advice is, although Marco (Fady) will give you a great excursion, if you are tight on a budget don't be shy to take the shuttle bus (everyday free - 8pm depart - 11pm pickup) into Dahab to shop around. Fady provides a very high quality of service compared to the others but for us it was just a bit too expensive.

The Beach and under the water was amazing, we spent days snorkelling looking at all the wonderful sea life that could be seen right from the front of the hotel! The pool was also really good.

I would strongly recommend this Hotel to anyone travelling to dive and those who want a quiet hassle free holiday!

Many of the comments on this site about this hotel are slanderous and are from people who expect everything when they pay nothing! Don't expect luxury, but it is more than comfortable!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

We booked a package all inclusive holiday to Dahab, Egypt at Sea Sun Hotel from 19 March to 28 March. We were not sure about the resort and the hotel as some reviews were very negative. We booked it anyway. On getting there we were glad to book the holiday. It was quite (~50% occupancy at the time). The beachfront hotel was very good and all the rooms had sea view.
The food was good for the cost of the package and the staff were excellent who went out of their way to help and assist.

The hotel is in excellent location for snorkeling and diving and ideally suited to families.
The only downside was that the beach was not sandy but rocky - you had to go a few kilometers for a sandy beach.

All in all very satisfied with the hotel and dahab in general.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

Rooms tired. Food dreadful. Lounge area of hotel awful. Toilets in reception area yuk yuk yuk!!
The staff were helpful and friendly but there's not much they can do.
Pool area suprisingly was really nice.
Wouldn't go back if it was free!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

We saw the previous reviews and thought we would be objective, so gave it a chance. Upon arrival we were shown to our rooms. We found the room dated, and in serious need of attention. The wardrobe door fell off as we tried to open it, and then we found a huge brown stain on the bed sheets.

The staff did immediatley move us to a new room. Great...we thought ! Unfortunatley the new room was much the same, except the bathroom smelt of raw sewage. Even with the bathroom door closed, this awful smell seeped from under the bedroo door. The towel rail was completely rusted, and the shower was nothing more than a minor dribble of water. The bottom of the toilet, in both rooms was stained dark brown.

The inclusive deal was a joke. It did not include bottled water, or juice. Wine was not available either ! The food, particularly the salad was brown and sitting in cloudy brown juices. There was really not much choice of food at all. The chefs were wearing outdoor clothing, i.e. jeans and shirts, not hygienic at all.

After one night we checked out and went to the Hotel Tropitel which was absolutley fantastic.
Please do not waste your money on the Sea Sun.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

loved our stay here. Hotel quiet and staff friendly Views of Sinai mountains behind and beach in front stunning. This is a place for a relaxing time. There is no entertainment in the hotel but plenty of restaurants with atmosphere only a 5 pounds ride away in Dahab. Mia Mia great - open fires in the restaurant. Lots of little shops with trinkets to while away a couple of hours. The diving and snorkelling for the hotel is super - better than some of the organised trips. The coral is particularly interesting. Mina - the outside shop owner - is the man to organise trips. It is my third visit to this hotel and I would go back tomorrow

Room Tip: The suites are wonderful - two great big rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coventry
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Hi to all, spent two weeks in this hotel (30th january to 14th febuary 2013) if only they tried harder ie the bar had no red wine !!! then whould run out of white wine !!! felt sorry for the bar staff Omar and Fashal, even run out of beer (one time) crazy !!! and if you like Chicken fish and Liver ever night good luck !! like i told the Manager these are basic needs, after all its not Asking to much,and yes they favor those paying at the bar rather than All/Inclusive guest (i was even told that) SO IF they get these Basic things sorted out Then it will be OK, till then exspect a thee star Hotel , on a good note the Salad was Fine :-) the rest BASIC . :-(

Room Tip: all basic, upgrade to a Suite if Possible, if not happy Ask for a change :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sea Sun Hotel Dahab? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Sun Hotel Dahab

Address: 53 Blue Hole Road, Dahab 2345, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Dahab
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 52 hotels in Dahab
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sea Sun Hotel Dahab 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Priceline so you can book your Sea Sun Hotel Dahab reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sea Sun Hotel Dahab, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.