We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the worst hotels I have ever experienced” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Sea Sun Hotel Dahab

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Sea Sun Hotel Dahab to your Saves list
Sea Sun Hotel Dahab
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   53 Blue Hole Road, Dahab 2345, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #48 of 52 Hotels in Dahab
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“One of the worst hotels I have ever experienced”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

I really don't know whwere to start!
I am used to coming across varying standards from time to time, we must expect that, but this hotel was beyond that.
facilities advertised didn't exist (Internet services entertainment etc)
water supply in rooms regularly failed completely but more often there was just no hot water.
everysingle electrical socket in the room was broken, unusable and still live (V. Dangerous)
Food and drink was regularly denied to or bizzarely hidden from 'all inclusive' customers.
room door was knocked at 08.30 every morning by cleaner requesting entry. The cleaner would repeatedly enter the room (which had no 'safe' storage in my absence during the day.
(One room was relieved of £200 Sterling during my stay by someone with a key).
Food was very poor quality and repetitive.
Hotel Bar was ill stocked with unknown brands, had no ice at all and no mixers or wine. Beer was often refused or removed from the fridge while the barman lied about having runout. If someone made a fuss it would reappear warm, then disappear again in minutes.
'Juice' was actually revolting and dilute mixed from powder.
On New Years Eve the management stopped all provision at 22.00 then asked 120 Egyption pounds/head for any further service.
I could go on. There is a lot more. I am trying to get some money back from my vendor.
ABSOLUTELY INCREDIBLE !

Room Tip: Find a hotel or room actually in Dahab town. It's actually a really nice place. But stay well aw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    67
    26
    33
    71
See reviews for
33
111
31
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
herts england
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

please ignore what this hotel offers and you will not be disappointed .i have written a review on another site and it has not been published .from the start of my holiday to the end ,it was a case of tring to get away from the very loud music ,.on my first morning ,music was blaring out at 07 15 am .from about 08-30 the music was pumped up to disco level . if you complained the reason was ,because the russians liked it .sometimes it was turned down ,and within minutes somebody had turned it up .when the russians departed ,some sanity was restored . the rooms were ok ,but dated , if you are a light sleeper this place is not for you .i tried 6 different rooms and still did not find a quiete room .public areas were dirty ,and toilets have not seen bleach for a long time . yuk .dining room behind the counter where food was served was very dirty .food was well below average and in previous reviews ,it caters for the eastern europeans . chips were served twice in the 9 days i was there . one day they were as large as sausages raw ,and cold .the other day cold raw and greasy .sweets were just a selection of cakes and pastries ,and once a week jelly was served . for this to be advertised as a 4 star they must be dreaming .one lady booked in at 8 at night ,and booked out by 10 the next morning .she was disgusted .the staff were helpful and once very rude .i have never reviewed a hotel like this ,but if you want a quiete holiday and good food ,this is not for you . also no minibar ,no safe in room .etc etc . definitely a hotel which is far from being as described .STEER CLEAR OF THIS HOTEL

Room Tip: i do not think there is one
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

On arrival at this hotel we were to say the least a little dissapointed having been used to the luxury hotels in sharm el sheik, however you need to give it a chance the staff where so friendly and could not do enough for you, it definately had the personal touch, and they would do absolutely anything to make you happy, every member of staff knew us by our first names and would go out of there way every day to say hello. Although the dining facilicties were limited the food was fantastic and the manager would ensure that you had plenty to eat every evening. The location of the hotel was amazing being located directly on a sandy beach with fantastic views of the sea, mountains and saudi arabia. Would recommend giving this hotel a try. Mr & Mrs Sansoa

Room Tip: The suites are amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hornchurch essex
1 review
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

This hotel is very badly run and filthy dirty i would advise anyone to stay away, all bad reviews are true we had two rooms which were both in very poor condition the first room we were given had no running water or working toilet they changed the room to another one equally as bad. There is no safe in room as stated and not one drink in the mini bar, food was terrible the toilets were dirty as was the towels in the room.
The airconditioning unit leaked onto the floor the shower was broken spare pillows were riped balcony door wouldnt open for two days until it was fixed. They run out of beer and other alcohlic drinks there was also a terrible smell in the rooms there is nothing good i can say about this hotel it should not be advertised as a 4 star it is more like a 1 star be warned.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We absolutely loved our time at Sea Sun - the staff were wonderful and went out of their way to make our holiday special. The location of the hotel is amazing, it has it's own beachfront and the mountains and sea together make for a very special and romantic atmosphere. The only slight draw-back might be the food, of which you get a bit tired after three or four days. However, there was still a large selection, and we also found something nice. I really recommend the hotel!

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We have just arrived back from the Sea Sun Hotel in Dahab. This was our third visit to the hotel and as in previous years we had an excellent holiday.

Prior to our first visit in September 2010, I have to admit to being concerned about some of the negative reports that were being posted on Trip Advisor. However, none of these supposed problems seemed to apply to us. We found that we were able to enjoy the peace and quiet, take in the culture of real Egypt, and get to know some of the most genuine and friendly people imaginable.

Since that first encounter with the Sea Sun and Dahab, we returned in 2011 for three weeks and followed that with a further 5 weeks this year.

The Sea Sun is situated in an unspoilt natural area about three miles north of the town of Dahab. At dawn the effect and colour of the mountains as the sun rises over Saudi Arabia, a mere twelve miles away, is a sight not to be missed. The hotel has a beachfront location with two of the guest blocks within a hundred yards of the sand. The seafront is bordered by a coral reef with access from the hotel jetty - the snorkelling is first class.

We found the rooms to be comfortable and cleaned to a good standard every day, by staff who tried to do everything to make our stay perfect, and nothing seemed to be too much trouble.

It has been said by some, that the food is repetetive; but could this not be indicative of any hotel to a degree?
There is an alternate bar menu, and additionally management said, "If you can't find anything you like, we will make something for you". We never found it necessary to take them up on this offer throughout our stay.

Without a doubt one of the most redeeming features of the holiday was the overall attitude of the staff, with each one making their individual special contribution. The owner of the hotel is regularly on site, and he along with his team, have a personal approach to the guests; a far cry from the commercial 'supermarket' style, demonstrated by several of the larger hotel chains.

To anyone visiting the Dahab area, it has to be remembered that this has a more traditional feel than some commercialised holiday resorts. That said, the natural beauty of the area more than compensates.

If you are looking for a holiday to relax in peace and quiet and in good company you may, like us, find the Sea Sun exactly to your liking.

See you next year,

Suzie and David

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Having never having been to Egypt I am happy to say I'm glad we chose to visit sea sun hotel and experience the not so commercial side of Egypt .we were looked after from day 1 and made to feel valued and welcomed by all the staff who made our holiday one of laughs and many memories ....the setting is an amazing beach side hotel with all you need to hand ....hotel facilities were clean and well attended too .. If you needed anything you only had to ask once !!!! Mr Mohammed the owner made himself accessible to guests and even threw a private dinner party for us and a few other guests on his jetty attended to by Noar and Omar who take great pride in making your stay memorable.... As previous guests have said the only comment for improvement I could make is to vary the menu to cater more for English tastes....but otherwise I would highly recommend sea sun and or time where we made good friends and experienced many new things ....

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sea Sun Hotel Dahab? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Sun Hotel Dahab

Address: 53 Blue Hole Road, Dahab 2345, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Dahab
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 52 Hotels in Dahab
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sea Sun Hotel Dahab 3.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Sea Sun Hotel Dahab reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sea Sun Hotel Dahab, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.