We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good dive center” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Shams Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Shams Hotel to your Saves list
Shams Hotel
Al Mashraba Street, Dahab, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 52 Hotels in Dahab
4.5 of 5 stars 190 Reviews
Cairo, Al Qahirah, Egypt
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Very good dive center”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

Ive been in dahab too many times and i always been staying in shams hotel good prices and friendly team . The dive center is great is ideal to start your scuba diving learning , very profissional team of divers and also very friendly hamada , hamdy and ahmed they all will be a great assistance for you cheers

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    45
    6
    1
    5
See reviews for
17
45
16
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lindfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Shams has a lovely relaxed atmosphere, and it benefits from being positioned in a quiet spot by the sea front, within a two minute walk from the central restaurants and shops. This makes it perfect, as you can enjoy the night life of Dahab and have a peaceful place to retreat when you wish to get some sleep yourself! The accommodation is clean and comfortable and you are well looked after during your stay. Shams restaurant provides lovely food and a great selection of breakfasts and juices that you will remember for ever! It's a really chilled place to relax by the lapping red sea and enjoy a post diving drink.
The dive shop is ran in an efficient but relaxed way, so you can get the most out of the diving opportunities available, without ever feeling any pressure to hurry! The equipment is kept in perfect condition - it's all new anyway, and the dive guides and instructors are patient, organised, extremely knowledgeable and very safety conscious (and nice people as well!)
I really enjoyed my stay (March 2013) and would recommend Shams for those looking to dive, rest and relax!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

hotel shams is our favorite for five years now. Because the shamspeople are not only very friendly but also very funny and kind. The hotel is small so it makes you feel at home very easy. It's clean, light and comfortable.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graz, Austria
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Had a nice room with a view of the ocean which was great. The staff were excellent too and really looked after me. The location is very close to the main promenade so I didn't have to walk far to get to the local bars but at the same time I wasn't right next to the main areas so it was pretty quiet which was nice.

Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jurmala, Latvia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Shams for 7 nights with some friends in February. We loved Dahab, and will definitely stay at Shams again when we come back. Our room was basic in comfort, it was always very clean, and they made the coolest designs out of our towels everyday. The shower water was clean and fresh (sometimes you get salt water showers at other places). We even had a decent sized refrigerator in our room!

The best though was breakfast every morning, by the sea, lounging on the pillows. The menu gives you many choices from a full egyptian breakfast, several egg choices, as well as choices for more continental foods like fruit and yogurt. With that and some bedouin tea, it's an amazing value and great start to the day.

Staff was very kind and attentive! On our last night my husband and I both fell ill, and when the one of the staff members found out, he made me peppermint tea to help us along.

Thanks for everything! We're already looking forward to our next trip!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for 5 nights when we initially visited egypt in December 2012. The best thing about this hotel is its great location looking right onto the boardwalk and beach. it is in a great location where the restaurants are just at your doorstep and the souk is only a short walk. it is in vey quiet yet central part of Dahab.
The breakfasts are very good- as is the restaurant food.
The room was always very clean and the cleaner would always create these wonderful shapes out of our clean towels. Each day we anticipated what shape he would create.

The other great thing is the owner Shams, who is very very helpful and friendly. He arranged some great tours for us to Mount Sinai and the Coloured Canyon. They were much better value than other places. Shams also has a dive centre for those wanting to dive.

On the downside everything seemed old and in need of a refurbishment.(A lot of Egypt seems to be like this now especially over the last few years since political unrest in this beautiful country). Our bed had sheets that did not fit- I think we had a double bed but the sheets were probably king single sheets. There was no soap in our bathroom. The menus in the restaurant were falling to bits and the outdoor furniture needed to be revarnished or painted and pillows needed to be updated, Proper fitting sheets, soap in the bathrrom and new menus are things that can be easily changed without too much cost.
We stayed in Dahab again in January 2013 with a small group tour and realised that for only a few dollars more we could have got a much better room in a similar location. I think with a bit of thought to detail and money spent on it Shams Hotel could be very good.
Couple in their 50's from Australia

Room Tip: Great location, fantastic owner but needs some money spent on it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Since I dive with Shams Dive Center it was obvious to stay at Shams Hotel also. The staff are very friendly and helpful and the rooms are spacious and clean with nice beds. Also my room had a nice balcony where I could sit in the evening watching the sun go down into the Red Sea. Also the restaurant is good and is located on the beach just next to the water. Not only did I eat my breakfast and other meals there but also spend time smoking a good shisha and drinking Bedouin tea and just chilling after diving. I can also highly recommend this place and the diving Center as well.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shams Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shams Hotel

Address: Al Mashraba Street, Dahab, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Dahab
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 52 Hotels in Dahab
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cosy and small hotel in the center of Dahab. Quiet location directly by the sea. Austrian-Egyptian owners take care of quality and family atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Shams Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shams Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.