We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shams where it is always shamsy !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shams Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Shams Hotel to your Saves list
Shams Hotel
Al Mashraba Street, Dahab, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 51 Hotels in Dahab
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Paris, France
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Shams where it is always shamsy !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Came back to Dahb and could not resist but staying at Shams Hotel... The right place to be. THE REAL holidays where you think no more... they think for you. Warm wellcoming, good management and good food too !

I STRONGLY recommend this hotel/restaurant (miam!) to families (even with kids), couples, single, friends. It is clean and always feel safe. Anyone will find smiles and leave with smiles...

All I had to do is relaaaax and enjoy!

So... Go there and live the experience.

Great staff, helpfull and always smiling. I can't wait to be back... Soooooon !

Room Tip: I always stay on the top floor, corner rooms are nice and balconies are bigger on the restaurant sid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shamsdahab, Owner - Manger at Shams Hotel, responded to this review, October 20, 2012
Thanks Moniera for the nice words , you know it is always our plussure to serve you .
looking forward to see you again in the near future .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    52
    6
    1
    5
See reviews for
21
48
20
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cairo, Al Qahirah, Egypt
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

The place itself was not bad but we could not believe how rude the manager was. It started when we arrived at the hotel at 4:30 am which was two hours later than we expected. We found absolutely no one to receive us. We kept on calling Shams, the hotel's owner, who didn't answer at all. we stayed for an hour at the hotel door trying to reach someone. We even started looking for other hotels in the area since we couldn't stay like this anymore. After a long hour of waiting we managed to reach one of the employees by the help of the very helpful locals of dahab. The employee instead of apologizing, he rebuked us for coming later than expected and for waking him up at such time. Since we were really tired we didn't argue much so we can get our rooms which turned out no to be the ones we booked. they gave us different ones and explained that those were the only available ones. We had to take them after an hour and a half of unnecessary hassle. The other day I reached Shams to express my discontent of what happened, he simple said, "that's our system, take it or leave it".

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shamsdahab, Owner - Manger at Shams Hotel, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
Dear Khaled ...
I am never rude to any one , or do you mean i am rude because i haven't answered your phone at 5:00am ? normally i am sleeping at this time . You could call the hotel number which you had
When you book a hotel & i get no confirmation from you for me that is not a booking , Plus you show up at 6:00 am the next day .
A worker still a human so , when you insult the worker as soon as you see him , for what he shall apologize , if you insult the workers in a hotel they will never serve you with leniency .
If you have money & able to travel that never means you are a better person than the workers serving you - they are still a human -
The main reason for you to write such a review that i refuse a cheaper price than arranged , i know that & If you think writting such a review will hurt me then you are wrong , i love my work , i love serving my guest & you never knew me Mr Khaled .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

the most warm beautifull calm place i have ever stay in dahab ... the stuff are very supportive and helpfull with deep hospitality , price is so reasonable i do advice that place for any one who visit dahab as i consider it my unique destination .. i do advice for honymonners

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damascus, Syria
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Thanks for your good Service and friendship,
I can recommend these Hotel to everybody because it`s a very nice Hotel and you can enjoy the breakfast, lunch and dinner next to the Red Sea... the owner`s and worker`s of the Hotel are very funny and helpfull if you need something, it was a nice time in Sham`s Hotel, i will come back next year,

Best Regards

Mike

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Egypt
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

I have been there for 5 days , I booked by mail and I found the hotel as it is shown in photos when I arrived..
Nice hotel , clean rooms , very friendly staff .
The restaurant is directly by the sea .... I have really enjoyed my stay...
Best regards to Shams...

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pirna, Germany
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

We stayed at Shams Hotel for one week. We enjoyed the time there so much. The service was great, especially shams, the owner of the hotel is funny, polite, friendly and tries to make everything possible for his guests. The rooms are nice, clean und include everything you need for vacation. (air conditioner, refrigerater...) The food at shams restaurant was yummy, the waiter friendly and polite and the view at the red sea just amazing. all in all a wonderful time. We`ll come back next year

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shamsdahab, Owner / Manger at Shams Hotel, responded to this review, September 2, 2012
Dear Kat , you know you are always welcome any time to visit :-)
i promise you next time will be much better than this time & so on
wish you all the luck with your study .
Shams
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012 via mobile

A very warm welcome is guaranteed at Shams. Great location for all restaurants and key dive sites/ snorkelling. While there is no pool at Shams, you can use the Nesima's pool for a daily rate if you want a watery respite from the heat... Ask for a sea view room to indulge in watching the sun rise in Saudi Arabia, just across the Gulf. And you get to star watch from your balcony in the evenings too! Heaven!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Shams Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shams Hotel

Address: Al Mashraba Street, Dahab, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Dahab
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 51 Hotels in Dahab
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cosy and small hotel in the center of Dahab. Quiet location directly by the sea. Austrian-Egyptian owners take care of quality and family atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Shams Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shams Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.