We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The ideal spot in Dahab” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shams Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Shams Hotel to your Saves list
Shams Hotel
Al Mashraba Street, Dahab, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 51 Hotels in Dahab
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
“The ideal spot in Dahab”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011

Shams Hotel, Restaurant and Dive Centre is ideally situated away from the busy areas of Dahab. Yet, it is only a 10 minute walk to the Light House area where there is a large selection of restaurants and bars.

Shams is where you'll experience the Dahab effect - everything is a one-stop shop from hotel room, to restaurant to the dive centre (which brand new). The hotel itself is comfortable and basic. The views are fantastic. The rooms have a balcony, a fridge and are air conditioned. There is hot and cold water which, while fresh, has hints of salt. This is normal however.

The restaurant is a place where you can eat, sleep, work, chill out, relax. No once minds what you do there or how long you stay there for. There is a nice variety of food and the quality of the food is good and very reasonably priced.

What really stands out is the exceptional and friendly service. Each and every member of staff was genuinely interested in ensuring that we had a perfect time there - which we did.

We will definitely be going back next year.

if there was a swimming pool it would be perfect.

Room Tip: Go for sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shamsdahab, Owner at Shams Hotel, responded to this review, October 28, 2011
Thanks a lot Dear Haaries for the nice comment , I am happy you enjoyed your time in the hotel .
I Have soon a good surprise for you . Looking forward to see you again soon :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    52
    6
    1
    5
See reviews for
21
48
20
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dahab, Egypt
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2011

I stayed at Shams Hotel for the entire month of March, combining a holiday with running my web consultancy business. What a lovely, convivial place to stay. I spent most mornings in the restaurant, eating their delicious breakfast and looking in awe at the beautiful sea view while catching up on emails. The hotel was always immaculately clean, and the staff made me feel very comfortable there. My room was spacious, and there was always fresh hot water. By the time I left Dahab Shams had almost become my home and I was very sad to leave. Thank you so much guys, and I'll see you when I return in July!

Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shamsdahab, Owner / Manager at Shams Hotel, responded to this review, November 13, 2011
I go every day morning to your office ( inside the restaurant ) looking for you :-(
When are you coming back Allie ????
All the best
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venlo, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2011

nice, clean, cheap. But very small beds..........Good food!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shamsdahab, Owner / Manager at Shams Hotel, responded to this review, November 13, 2011
I promise you for the next time you will be having a king bed size , Thanks for the review
Shams
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2011

We had a lovely time at Shams in Dahab. Friendly service, nice room and a breathtaking view. A perfect gettaway! We went there in late january when it is warm enough to go diving but cool enough to keep the biggest crowds away! Highly recommended!

  • Stayed March 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shamsdahab, Owner / Manager at Shams Hotel, responded to this review, November 13, 2011
You are welcome to be visiting us whenever it is ok for you , we are happy to see you always
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dahab, Egypt
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2011

i travel the last 15 years to the sinai ,the last 5 years i am always located at shams hotel in dahab.
The location is perfect located ,direct on the seaside,in this pricesegment very clean rooms,with relay good breakfast in diverent styls-also ala card if you like.

The service from the hotel crew-is very familary and friendly,espaschaly from the owners" SHams&Sussanne!!!!

I cold all dahab-vistors relay advies to look for free rooms at this hotel ,to enjoy oure holidays from the first moment!!!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shamsdahab, Owner / Manager at Shams Hotel, responded to this review, November 13, 2011
MR.Erich .. regarding your last mail & your wishes you asked me to provide for you , it is available from now :-)))) all what you dream we make for you :-))))
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mikolajki, Poland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2011

I've spent there one week - my honey moon with my husband and our friends in November 2007. Hotel is really nice - very kind service, small one but situated almost in the center of Dahab. Easy walking distance to the center in 10 minutes, a beautiful promenade situated along the coast. Apart from numerous bars, restaurants, shops. And many fantastic diving places - you don't need to rent a boat - everything is available directly from the beach/the coast.
We will come back here for sure!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dusseldorf, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2011

I had booked into another place in Dahab which turned out the contrary to what i expected. When I went to ask Shams if he had a spare room for me, he took great care of me from the very first second. I stayed in one of the bungalows which have no aircon (which is fine probably until late May or so) and everything was clean, comfortable and well taken care of. Staff were friendly and professional and show a crazy passion for forming all sorts of things from towels ...
Breakfast was included and excellent, I also liked the menu for lunch and dinner. At the time I was there there was a newly opened and very friendly, thorough dive base with new equipment and motivated staff.
However, what makes Shams unique is the combination of Arabic hospitality and Austrian sense for professional service and cleanliness. Will surely be back!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Shams Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shams Hotel

Address: Al Mashraba Street, Dahab, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Dahab
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 51 Hotels in Dahab
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cosy and small hotel in the center of Dahab. Quiet location directly by the sea. Austrian-Egyptian owners take care of quality and family atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Shams Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shams Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.