We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Red Sea Relax Resort Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Red Sea Relax Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Red Sea Relax Resort to your Saves list
Red Sea Relax Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   Po Box 78 | Lighthouse Promenade, Dahab 46617, Egypt   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 52 Hotels in Dahab
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Red Sea Relax Resort Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

My husband and myself stayed at Red Sea Relax for 10 days last summer (2012). We had a great time there. If you want 5-star luxury, go somewhere else that's probably much less friendly and personal..... because this is a great, little unpretentious hotel that ticks every box any reasonable person could want. It is clean. It is cheap. It is quiet (this despite the bar next door - there was no problem with noise - and I am a light sleeper). Above all, it is warm and friendly. The staff are so very helpful. We wanted to change rooms. No problem. We wanted this. No problem. We wanted that. No problem. They really tried (and succeeded) to make our holiday the best it could be.
In this connection, a very special mention should be made about SAID, who works at Reception and is just brilliant at his job. He sorted everything out for us in such a friendly and empathetic way - and went well beyond the call of duty to do so. An example of how friendly this place is....when we left Dahab, we left our 20-year-old son behind as he was doing a Dive Instructor course. He was never even staying at the hotel (just my husband and myself), yet SAID told him he could come back anytime he liked, use the internet etc. And he assured me that if he had any problems, our son could come to him and he would help him sort them out. That's the kind of place it is. The location is also great - just on the edge of town, on the beach(virtually) - and with a fantastic Dive School attached. We couldn't have wanted anything more - and we will certainly be back. Sheila Fox

Room Tip: We liked the lower level better, as it's nearer the pool. Also, the lay-out of at least one of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris88Dahab, Owner at Red Sea Relax Resort, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear Sheila,

Thank you so much for your review and the time it to write it. As you mention our staff, especially reception are very dedicated in their jobs. It really means a lot when this is appreciated- Said has been with us 8 years- from a non English speaking security guard to a fluent deputy manager! He and the other reception staff regard the job more as a vocation than work and once again- it really is a delight when this is recognised.

We are so glad you enjoyed the stay, very best regards from us all at Red Sea Relax and we very much hope we have the pleasure of hosting you again for a stay sometime in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    61
    13
    3
    0
See reviews for
26
69
53
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

My friends and I stayed at the Red Sea during our trip to Dahab during December 2012. We found the hotel to be very clean, the staff to be very friendly and the location to be excellent.

Clean rooms and bathrooms - which are cleaned on a daily basis. The furnishing is of decent quality and extra blankets etc may be requested at the reception. The hotel is conveniently located on the beach front and is within a stone's throw from diving centres, cafes, restaurants and gift shops.

As our stay was out of season, we were able to haggle an excellent price - paying £20/night for double rooms. I am aware that the hotel also has dorms, which are even cheaper. Nonetheless, £20/night for this place was a bargain.

The hotel staff speak English and are more than happy to help in booking taxis, arranging activities etc.

All in all, a very good hotel and definitely recommend this to others!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

The accommodations have a reasonable price, the rooms are good and clean.
It is not a five star hotel but is a good alternative for people on a budget.
You can choose from single rooms doubles and dorm rooms.

You are not far away from the windsurf centers (5 min by car).
You are in the middle of dahab, so everything is quite close to you. Within walking distanse you have three different dive sites (the closest is about 25 m away).
They have TV, a reasonably priced bar, and nice staff.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riga, Latvia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

This "hotel" is well situated on the central street of Dahab. If you want to sleep well after a day of amazing diving, probably, it is bad choice, because there is a pub near the "hotel". If you are interested in parties and karaoke - it is a good choice. The room, the bathroom and towels were not very clean, so please, take your own towel. Breakfast was poor. Every night homeless dogs are sleeping on the sunbeds near the pool. Next time in Dahab we will try to find any another place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris88Dahab, Owner at Red Sea Relax Resort, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Thank you for your review and the time you took to write it. I'm delighted to hear that you found the Hotel well situated.

I note however that there were certain things you were not entirely satisfied with. We take customer satisfaction very seriously at the Resort as a way to improve our services and I have investigated the various points.

1, You state that we if you want to sleep well we are a bad choice because of the “pub” nearby doing parties and Karaoke. The pub is actually the Hotel bar and because of our residents sleeping music is turned off prior to midnight. The Karaoke night you mention was the 30th of November and the bar, in conjunction with the Dive Centre, was raising charity money for Cancer research. During the month of November they raised over 800 Euro.

Obviously this was a one off occasion and the disturbance is not repeated on normal nights
.
2. You advise to bring your own towel. I had checked this and at the beginning of November the Hotel bought 50 new towels- so the ones you were provided should have been both new and clean. I have nevertheless order all linen and towels rechecked for wear.

3. You state that breakfast was poor. The vast majority of our customers praise our breakfasts which as you will know consist of hot and cold buffets, cereals, drinks, in addition to a choice of made-to-order pancakes and omelettes. We need to cater to a great number of nationalities and unfortunately it is impossible to please all of the people all of the time. If you would care email with more information we would be delighted to investigate exactly what you were unhappy about.

4. You have attached a photo of a dog sleeping near a pool lounger to your review. It is actually in the opposite Hotel’s area of responsibility. Some of our local customers have dogs as pets but Security is routinely under instructions to gently move stray dogs along. As a result of your comments they have been reminded again.

Thank you for your review once more. I hope you enjoyed your further travels in Egypt.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

First off the desk staff are very friendly and helpful. The rooms are cleaned daily, and the hotel offers a free breakfast (which seemed to improve). The pool is cleaned daily, but needs some new lounge chairs as the ones they have now are falling apart. The restaurant serves good food, and is the cheapest food among dahab. We did diving with the affiliated company and found them to be professional and friendly as well. Like I said we spent 9 nights at red sea, crossed over to Israel and returned to red sea for our last 9 days in the middle east. The room prices are negotiable (as is everything else in Egypt) as well.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Clean, safe, friendly, helpful, perfect location, great tour connections... We stayed in a superior room, which was incredibly affordable, and spent a lot of time at the bar attached to the resort, Churchill's. Wouldn't bother researching other options next time we visit Dahab.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

This was our third stay here, and once again it was excellent.

This is a 5 star review because it's great value, centrally located, far better than most of the other hotels in the town, and the staff are friendly and helpful. The food is good, and the bar is always lively. The rooms are clean, with working air-con and hot water for showers every day - this is definitely not true of everywhere in Dahab!

If you're looking for a great hotel in centre of Dahab, this is a brilliant place to stay, and we'll be back soon!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Red Sea Relax Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Sea Relax Resort

Address: Po Box 78 | Lighthouse Promenade, Dahab 46617, Egypt
Phone Number:
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Dahab
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Dahab
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Dahab
#10 Romantic Hotel in Dahab
#15 Family Hotel in Dahab
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Sea Relax Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located directly on the beach, Red Sea Relax Resort lies within meters of teeming reefs and colourful beach cafes while still close to the modern amenities of central Dahab. A small family business, we offer superior on site facilities, including a free Gym, free Internet, a PADI Dive Centre, restaurant/bar and a 100m2 pool! Most importantly we pride ourselves on our excellent rates and a customer service solidly built on a friendly and personal approach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Red Sea Relax Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Sea Relax Hotel Dahab
Red Sea Relax Dahab

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Sea Relax Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.