We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel and staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alaska Camp & Hotel

Save Saved
You added Alaska Camp & Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Alaska Camp & Hotel
Masbat South Sinai, Dahab, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 51 hotels in Dahab
Viborg, Denmark
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice hotel and staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

We were lucky that we ended up at Alaska Camp and Hotel.

The staff is friendly and very helpful. The room was clean and the air conditioning was perfect.

The hotel is centrally located but in a quiet setting.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    108
    40
    7
    6
    1
See reviews for
8
69
30
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kent UK
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Had a wonderful 12 nights at Alaska camp, in a double air conditioned room.

Quietest air con I've ever experience, which is lovely as I'm a light sleeper. Rooms are basic but perfect for a diver like me. The shower was glorious after a long day in the water. Jackie, the owner couldn't do enough for you can kindly lent me sun cream when i'd forgotten mine.

Lovely quiet location. Looking forward to coming back in November. Thank you!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Great basic rooms with friendly staff. The rooms are clean although a bit tight. The staff offered great suggestions in terms of dive spots and places of interest. It was a great atmosphere to meet other guests from around the world. We stayed here for almost a week and enjoyed beautiful Dahab and all it has to offer. I highly recommend a trip to the Blue Hole as it is the experience of a life time.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013 via mobile

Second time to Dahab and was interested in trying out different hotels as I hope to be a regular visitor here. After staying one night in a different hotel I decided to leave and came across Alaska camp so thought I'd give it a go! I would be more than happy to stay there again! Rooms were very fresh looking and clean. Newly painted walls which made the room look nice and airy. The rooms are pretty basic but what else do you need? Cleanliness for me is my main concern and I realt couldn't fault this place. The shower was also quite powerful.
The hotel entrance is just off the prominade so you don't wen have to walk far to get to the shops or sea front..... it's all there on the doorstep! Fingers crossed I will be visiting again for another break :)

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

When you come to Dahab, you're not planning to spend time in your hotel room, other than to sleep and shower. So this hotel is an excellent value for just that. It's cheap, it's clean, the rooms are basic, but there is wifi, and the staff is very friendly.

The bathrooms don't offer soaps or toiletries, so you must bring/buy your own.

But the AC and the ceiling fan works. The balcony offers a view of the mountains if you lean over the edge.

Please note that along this strip of the boardwalk, there aren't any hotels that are actually ON the "beach." The "beach" is just lined with the cafes/restaurants, and you spend the day lying at the cafe on their sunbeds, and jumping right into the water. All the hotels are on the other side of the boardwalk, on the land side.

So it really doesn't matter how close your hotel is to the beach.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Really excellent camp/hotel. Really friendly and helpful staff and pretty much the center of the Dahab world. I could stay here a month (if I was lucky). There's also a 20% discount for guests of Alaska Camp at one of the nicest restaurants in town. Bonus!

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Stayed here in May 2013 with my boyfriend and with a few friends. No problem staying in a room with my boyfriend.

Pros: the people are amazingly friendly. The location is right where you want to be--in the middle of restaurants, stores, and near to the beach access points (not that it's loud, though). Our double room had both A/C and a fan which was a real treat (although there are cheaper prices if you don't need A/C) and the room was very clean. Simple but clean. They are also connected to a bar down the street on the water where you can get a discount on lunch and dinner (although we mostly went there for breakfast and then to reserve sun beds for the day as well as BOGO cocktails) and the people there are amazingly friendly as well. Wifi worked in the public areas but seemed a little weak in the rooms. Finally, we had a late bus on the day they checked out, so we left our luggage at the front desk, did our normal daytime routine and then they were kind enough to let us use their towels and showers before we left. Dahab itself is awesome and as far as budget hotels in Dahab go, this is the best (I've stayed at Penguin and Jowhara before as well).

(Possible) Cons: The blanket left in the room did look a little unclean as we found a dead bug in it, but the weather was so hot we didn't end up needing it. If you're looking for a bathtub, the rooms only have a shower nozzle (without a curtain).

Room Tip: If you'd like a balcony, only the second floor rooms have them. Otherwise, the first floor room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Alaska Camp & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alaska Camp & Hotel

Also Known As:
Alaska Camp And Hotel
Alaska Camp Hotel Dahab
Alaska Camp Hotel
Alaska Camp Dahab
Address: Masbat South Sinai, Dahab, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Dahab
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Dahab
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alaska Camp & Hotel is right in the heart of Dahab. Only 10 metres from the main beach area and the sea it makes the perfect base to experience and explore Dahab - great value, fantastic atmosphere and the opportunity to meet other travellers from all over the world. With 30 rooms over 2 floors, Alaska Camp & Hotel still retains the relaxed atmosphere of the old beach camps, with Bedouin seating areas in which to chill out and enjoy your stay. Our staff are on hand to help you get the most out of your time in Dahab and experience everything that this unique town has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Alaska Camp & Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alaska Camp & Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.