We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“freindly staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Moonbeach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save Saved
You added Moonbeach Resort to your Saves list
Moonbeach Resort
Km 98 , El Nafaq Rd. Ras Sidr, Ras Sudr, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Ras Sudr
Cairo, Egypt
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“freindly staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

i stayed for 3 nights in that hotel and i founded it clean , value for many . however the furniture is a littele bit old but it is ok also the TV cable is not working probebly but you wont need it alot
but ut us amazing place to injoy the sea sky and disconnect your self

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    16
    5
    7
    0
See reviews for
12
8
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

The accomodation itself is pretty basic but you're not going to go to Moonbeach for a 5 star resort. The food is actually quite good and especially the lunch which can be brought down to the centre on the beach. Staff are friendly however I would suggest keeping hold of your valuables as some of our group had ipods and such go missing. Nice beach and the bar at the centre is great in the evenings. If you're not into windsurfing I wouldnt recommend going to Moonbeach but if you are and aren't worried about about crazy nightlife then definitely go.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013 via mobile

Whenever I am stressed I come here. There is nothing but silence. No activities but windsurfing and other silent water activities. No night life. It's just you and the beach. If you are looking for crowd, restaurants, clubs, etc... This is not your place. Here is only relaxation. The place is very simple, clean and average food. You come with ur midday snacks (chips, chocolates etc...) . The nearest snack shop is a Mobil Mart 15 kms away.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

This is one of the places that you'll enjoy the beauty of the nature around you. You, the sea, and the sands of the desert on the other sides only, no one to bother you, nothing to annoy you.

If you are a Wind Surfing fan, then this is the ideal place for you, but unfortunately I'm not :D

I liked that place because it's quite, and fresh air around almost all the time. The unit we had was equipped with a partial kitchen, so we didn't used the Hotel restaurant, we used our unit kitchen, and get all our staff from the nearby Ras Sudr City. If you have a car then this will be one of your options.

Sea is very nice, you can see craps running around in the night on the shore. Fishing also is another activity you can do there.

You'll need to close the unit doors behind you & give a good care to that, because you can see many types of the lizards around, as it's a normal desert life around.

Overall i enjoyed my stay there a lot, with the friendly staff, & their helpful notes. the Sea, and the sun during the winter (Oct/Nov), the sand, and my kids, draw a non forgettable vacation experience

Room Tip: ask for the near by the sea rooms if you want a double room; if you want bigger chalet you'll ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

We visited Moon Beach last year whilst staying with ex-pat friends in Cairo. We were given two adjoining rooms which was great as we enjoyed spending time sitting out the front with our friends in the evenings as the sun was setting over the beach. The rooms were basic but more than comfortable for a few nights. There was a nice selection of food for breakfast and we thought the evening meals were also pretty good for what you pay for . The beach is so peaceful and beautiful, we really wanted to stay a few more days! Greg and Schlep in the windsurf centre were very helpful and we enjoyed sharing a beer with them in the bar at the end of the day. We had an end of season party on our last night which was great fun and a good way to end our trip. Overall, it was a good value holiday if you want nothing more than to chill out and do a bit of windsurfing. It was the perfect tranquil getaway after a few days sightseeing in Cairo!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

We have stayed during Summer 2012, we have had no problem with the rooms cleanliness, the food was average, but the receptionist and staff were way unfriendly with us. The first day the receptionist assigned us two rooms, very far away from each other, to make sure 'good manners' are kept in his hotel. I did not believe my ears when the receptionist, on our last day, informed us that we can not extend our stay for day use because of gender restrictions (normal in Egypt, OK), AND that he will put guards on our doors to make sure that no boys and girls mix in the same suite.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

Have been to MB 10 times and every visit is as good as the last. It's the best place to learn to windsurf - flat warm water, friendly winds, great tuition - and to just keep honing those skills. The best motivation of all is the opportunity to sail with the local dolphins racing you underneath the board.

The best thing about Moonbeachholidays is its location - there is nothing there. No town, no shops, no restaurants. So there are no choices. You don't have to think about anything other than what book to read or what size sail to take. So no arguments! Just total switch off. However, if you do feel like you might go a little stir crazy, then the nearest town, Raa Sudr, is 40kms away and is a great plae for some very local culture and eating. Aimee, Greg and Dan have lived in Egypt for years and so they're great at giving advice about any other visits you might want to embark on.

Accommodation is basic but all you need for a beach holiday - place to shower and a bed to pass out in after a hard day's sailing. Rooms are cleaned every day and they have air-con and a fridge. The windsurf centre will give you a little basket with a kettle, tea bags and other
goodies. Most rooms have a patio with seaviews - great place for sundowners
and a game of cards just before dinner. The food is like the rooms - basic but plentiful and just what you need after workin hard on the water. Buffet style, there's even enough going on for vegetarians.

Hotel staff are friendly, helpful and have been there for ages - any problems, just ask Saiid!

Basically, if you're looking for somewhere reliably hot, windy, sunny, friendly, relaxed and a total getaway then I can't recommend moonbeachholidays enough.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Moonbeach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moonbeach Resort

Address: Km 98 , El Nafaq Rd. Ras Sidr, Ras Sudr, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Ras Sudr
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Ras Sudr
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Moonbeach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moonbeach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.