We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay for an overnight stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Creative Green Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ras Sudr
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Creative Green Hotel
Ras Almatarma, Ras Sudr, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 9 hotels in Ras Sudr
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Okay for an overnight stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

Overnighted at this resort as part of an Egypt/Sinai group tour holiday package. The resort was pleasantly located by a Gulf of Suez lagoon. The porters were somewhat rough with our luggage and scuffed them by dragging them through loose granite stone paths. Our room 804 was dirty, the floors had not been mopped and the TV set did not work. The toiletries are frugal or non-existent, however the room was spacious. Our tour group happened to be the only guests. The building construction had much to be desired The grounds of the resort are kept immaculately, and one may need to stay longer to fully appreciate the tranquillity of this resort. The buffet. food was flavoursome though somewhat limited, and the staff were friendly.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    8
    3
    2
    5
    2
See reviews for
5
4
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011

The good news first:
The Mistral Kitespot its amazing and the Staff of the Spot are friendly and absolutly helpful.
The Material is all top and well maintained

Now the bad things:
The hotel is very bad. They did not cleaned the room for more than 5 days.
The hotel room was lousy and not maintained.
The Food (buffet) was very bad and sometimes hard to eat. The only good thing was the pasta station.
We were lucky, because we were the only guests for several days. so they had to cook only for us, which was ok.
The Staff was friendly and very helpful.
Price/Value is not good at all


Summary:
- Don't stay in this Hotel, unless you are kitesurfing.
- Bring your own alcohol, because they do not sell any
- Bring some food or snacks

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2011 via mobile

The Hotel is lousy. The Rooms are ok but the Bath is awful, no one ever cleaned the room during the whole week. Food was ok - but only because we were the only ones in the Hotel (!). The buffet wie Head the first evening was quite bad and tasteless. The Pool is Dirty and unusable. The only positive Thing is the Kite Station. The Spot is Great and the guys there - Mohammed and Ahmet - are very nice, Smart Professional and helpfull.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billericay, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2011

I stayed at the Creative Green Hotel, Ras Sudr in September 2010. It was not my choice but the default hotel for a windsurfing coaching trip arranged by Sportif. The windsurfing was great and the Club Mistral Centre about 15 minutes south along the beach was top notch. Sadly the hotel was not. The room that I was given was OK, clean enough with air conditioning that worked. The TV showed only Egyptian channels, not that I had much time to watch it. The fridge was a bit pathetic but water stored in it was below room temperature. My main gripe about the room was the fact that there was no hot water. I did complain at reception and they promised to fix it but they never did. The hotel advertised WiFi and, sure enough, in reception there was a WiFi router but it wasn't connected to anything. The food was OKish but not brilliant; there was plenty of it, though. The grounds were a bit like a war zone although there did seem to be some kind of refurbishment going on. The disaster was the fact that the bar served no alcoholic drinks whatever, not even beer! Fortunately, as a group we had brought duty free from the airport and the waiter in the bar was prepared to let us have glasses for our own drinks. On a previous visit I stayed at the Ramada adjacent to the Club Mistral centre and, at the time, it was much better but others I spoke to said that it was pretty hopelss when they stayed there more recently. I can only really recommend this hotel for windsurfing or kitesurfing; the conditions here are great. Anyone else could probably do better elsewhere.

Room Tip: Complain early for a change of room if necessary.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2010

Let's start with the good points: The Club Mistral kite school next to the Ramada hotel is a gem: Well run, professional, with good instructors and an adequate safety boat. The kiteboarding location is good too. Warm water, moderate winds for about 4 hours a day, and a good long beach for beginners. Be warned that the lagoon by the Green Hotel dries out at mid to low tide. The kite "school" at the Green hotel is deserted except for one caretaker instructor.
Now for the rest of it. I chose the Green Hotel on the advice of AirSpace Holidays, otherwise know as the agent for Moonbeach. He advised me that the hotel would be better for us because Moonbeach could not offer kitesurfing. The Ramada was fully booked.
The whole area is a ghost town, and in parts it feels more like a war zone than a holiday resort. The main gate has collapsed, so the first sight of the hotel is a pile of rubble either side of a steel barrel used to block the exit. The area is patrolled by soldiers with automatic weapons, and by numerous security guards. The hotel is surrounded by half finished buildings that have been abandoned. Most of the accommodation blocks are closed, and despite the fact there are probably hundreds of rooms/beds in the Green hotel, the number of guests varied between 4 and 20.
The hotel is apparently being slowly refurbished at night. Yes, that meant machines and building work to keep us awake. I used ear plugs to be able to sleep.
The air conditioning didn't work, and the mini-fridge was so warm it wasn't worth bothering with. On the good side, the bed sheets were changed everyday, but that was essential due to the sweat!
The food was awful. I love all sorts of international food, and in no way am I hesitant to try anything new. But this stuff was tasteless and unappetising. By day 4 my gastric system was in a bad way, and that is still the case 8 or 9 days later. I ended up eating fruit and omelette. I saw one of the waiting staff rearranging a pancake with his fingers which he then wiped on his trousers. We saw a cockroach on the restaurant wall.
The staff are after your money all of the time. The concierge offered us a taxi for 160 Egyptian pounds; the real price was 80. I lost some money and can only assume it was taken from my room. A neighbour had money stolen from his room.
Despite the fact that the kitesurfing was OK, I would not go back.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Egypt
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2009

We visited this hotel in September 09. My wife, myself, and two teens for a weekend.
The resort was nearly deserted. Except for about twenty gests or so, mostly foreighners. I guess this is due to the occasion of the month of muslims fasting (ramadan), during which most locals stay at home.
This hotel is known for the lagoons it overlooks. This location is known to be one of the best worldwide known places for sky diving, kide surfing. Very long beach, sunny, windy, sandy, clear water, adequate depth. These watwer sports are run by club mistral, skydivers (i guess well known, as i don't practice these sports).
Grounds of this resort are great: gardens, wide pools, long sandy beaches, although everything looks tired.
Accomodation is in 2 levels chalets, 4 rooms each level. Rooms are very spaceous. The room (double) consists of a patio with sofa, fauteuil, A/C. The sleeping area has a large bed, TV, another A/C unit. A large bathroom with bath tub. We were offered an extra bed for our elder son, and charged for a triple room.
I could easily describe this hotel as a hidden gem, but due to the following it was not possible to give it this decription:
The bathroom does not have a floor drain. So any spilled water while showering, washing will keep on the floor until wiped off. When mentionned to the hotel staff, they said it is designed this way to prevent insects and rats from entering through to the rooms.
The dinner buffet is very poor in terms of variety, quantity and quality (maybe because of the fasting period previously mentionned??? ).
The extra bed sheets offered to us with the extra beds, were durty, with "blood spots".
The swimming pool contained sand on the floor, although cleaned at nights.
May be on a different time of the year, the stay could be better. Unless you are looking for water sports, then you could find better escapes for a weekend.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2008

Ras Sudr is the best kitesurfing spot that I have ever been to. Constant wind, nearly flat and shallow water, sun, sand - what else one needs? Unfortunately, the options for lodgings are quite limited and we chose Creative Green. The hotel looks too tired for its age - the rooms, the bathrooms - all seems to need a good cleaning and painting. Having said that, I must add that the rooms are quite large, equipped with comfortable beds and we have enjoyed a beautiful sea view. Otherwise nothing to write home about and the bathrooms certainly do not meet a four stars standard. Food is another story. We've been informed by our co-travelers that it was not so bad comparing to other hotels in Egypt, but we grew quite tired of monotonous breakfasts and dinners. The stuff seemed to be mostly inadequate, speaking very, very poor English, taking their time in doing everything and complicating even the simplest tasks. Nevertheless, perfect kitesurfing conditions made up for all these deficiencies and we have had truly great holidays.

  • Liked — Kitesurfing possibilities, views
  • Disliked — Tired bathrooms, staff, food.
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Creative Green Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Creative Green Hotel

Address: Ras Almatarma, Ras Sudr, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Ras Sudr
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 hotels in Ras Sudr

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Creative Green Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Creative Green Hotel to your Saves list