We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We really wanted a peaceful night and we got it.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Eskaleh Nubian Ecolodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Abu Simbel
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Eskaleh Nubian Ecolodge
Save
You added Eskaleh Nubian Ecolodge to your Saves list
Abu Simbel City, Abu Simbel, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“We really wanted a peaceful night and we got it.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

We really wanted to avoid the crowd when visiting Majestic Abu Simbel temples and we wanted the temple by ourselves. Only way to do is to stay overnight in Abu Simbel. There are not so many hotels/lodges in Abu Simbel, so we decided to go with this lodge after reading the reviews on TripAdvisor. I booked the room via email. The response is always prompt. Hotel arranged a taxi to pick us from Aswan and drop back to Aswan.

We took the 11 AM convoy and reached Abu Simbel around 2.30 PM. We were given welcome Hibiscus tea. Hibiscus is from their own garden. Lasted little sweet and savor. Drank my kids portion also ;). We booked a superior room which has one master bed and one separate twin bed. A/C worked but we have noticed because of the gaps in the doors, windows, it took time to get the room cooled. We waited for like 30 minutes to have our lunch prepared. Lunch was delicious. Tasted more like Indian food, which was very welcoming for us.

After short break, we rented the boat from the hotel and ride on the Lake Nasser. It was really relaxing and the nice wind really helped on the hot day. Got the majestic look of the Abu Simbel temple from the boat and it was fantastic. Can't be any better watching the temple from the boat. We watched the sound and light show at night and were picked up from the temple and dropped back to the hotel. Had our dinner in the outside patio and we noticed there are mosquitoes.

We were told that the sunrise will be like 5:45 in the morning and we wanted to do that. We woke up early in the morning and the car was ready. We were dropped at the temple and we get into the temple at 6 AM. No one inside the temple. It is all for ourself. Enjoyed every single second alone in the temple. By the time 7AM, we see bus load of travellers coming in to the temple while we are going out.

Had our breakfast and checked out the hotel for our 10 AM convoy.

Overall, it was a great stay and I agree that the price is little expensive compare to Egypt cost of living, but I don't think any locals stay here. It is for tourists. I would not mind paying little extra to get a good lodge in small city rather than paying less for a worst one.

Room Tip: We stayed in a room which has balcony which was nice. You could see the garden from the balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    34
    4
    6
    2
See reviews for
21
63
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Herten, The Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

All the good comments about his lodge are true. If you go to Abu Simbel we would recommend to stay here at least a night and have dinner. Their food is indeed very good. We don't understand why somebody would call this lodge expensive, since it truly isn't. We are used to 5* resorts all over the world. This offcourse isn't but the atmosphere and service make more than up for that. Besides, the beds are good, there's a good airco and everything functions and is clean. Just book it and find out yourself. If you have time left, rent the owners boot and take a short tour on Lake Nasser. You will love it!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thornhill, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Yes, we came to Abu Simbel to see the temple and the giant statues but what a surprise to find a real ecolodge 40 km from the border with Sudan! Others have already written about the Nubian style house and rooms but it is really worth writing about the owner's ongoing work to irrigate the property and his success at growing, organically, flowers, fruit trees, corn, wheat and vegetables. And then there are the animals, cows, some horses and a donkey and its off-spring. There are chickens, and goats and sheep and a turkey. And all is beautifully kept--a labour of love! We took our meals at Eskaleh and found them wonderfully prepared and presented in Nubian pottery.

When my husband had a small accident in the shower there was immediate first aid and an offer to call a doctor.

We found Eskaleh reasonably priced considering almost everything has to be brought in from far away. Perhaps those finding the prices too high for what is offered at Eskaleh, an authentic Nubian experience (plus a modern bathroom), have not travelled to too many out-of-the way places. Perhaps, they may wish to reconsider going on a safari.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, USA
Top Contributor
191 reviews 191 reviews
142 hotel reviews
Reviews in 144 cities Reviews in 144 cities
328 helpful votes 328 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

There are not a lot of overnight lodging options in Abu Simbel, but this hotel is a decent, if expensive, option in town. Eskaleh is a peaceful and quiet place that feels like a mix of a Nubian home stay and an African safari lodge. The hotel is located just off the main road through town (Temple to Airport road), off a small street across from the fire station. It is about a 20 minute walk to the Abu Simbel temple. The hotel is beautifully decorated with local handicrafts and there are plenty of areas to sit, drink a cold beverage and just relax. Rooms are similarly decorated, in a rustic, local style. Beds are very firm, but comfortable. Bathroom was clean, but fairly basic at this price point. Rooms also have mosquito netting and fans. There is a free onsite PC, as well as wi-fi. The owner was very helpful in providing information on local sites, arranging a taxi to the airport, as well as providing small currency exchange services. The hotel has on-site meal service with a prix-fixe menu daily, but they can also make smaller meal choices if needed (food was decent). Dinner is served on the patio, which overlooks part of Lake Nasser. I highly recommend insect spray (for the mosquitoes) while sitting on the patio. Prices for rooms vary depending on the room type and view, but run about 60-70 Euros/night. From my perspective, this is a little high considering the condition of the rooms. Yes, you are getting an authentic Nubian experience and a great peaceful location, but there are too many rough edges to be charging this amount. I found a lot of little issues, such as unswept floors, loose or missing bath & electrical fixtures, loose door handle, no hand towels. I think that Eskaleh is still a good option for an overnight stay in Abu Simbel, but I feel like they should either lower their prices 10-15 Euros/night or work to really tighten up their operation.

Note: there is very little to do in Abu Simbel, outside of visiting the temple. In town, there are a handful of small shops and grocery stores, but little else.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

It would be worth staying at Eskaleh even if it weren't at Abu Simbel--but if you're really after the temples, Eskaleh makes that better too. All the great things about the place aside, just for logistical reasons staying at Eskaleh makes it easier to enjoy Abu Simbel. You avoid the mid-day heat and busloads--the three of us had the monuments to ourselves at 4:00pm!--and you get the opportunity to see both the sound and light show and the sunrise at the temples if you want.

On top of all that, the hotel is fantastic. We immediately felt welcomed by the happy, competent, attentive staff. The food was excellent, our room was lovely, spacious, and air-conditioned (and that was with three of us in a room for two!). Nubian music is always playing; after I asked about the music, we were given a CD with their mix.

The building itself is built in the style of a traditional Nubian house with five guest rooms. It has many spaces to relax in, indoors and out. There are also conveniences like wifi and an espresso machine as well as necessities like mosquito netting and air-conditioning.

The staff is understanding and accommodating--one of us left a kindle on the airplane, and the hotel phoned, located it, and arranged a car to retrieve it (happily the airport is only ten minutes away). And you can eat alone or with friends you make there, at the time of your choosing.

If you're in the area, you're likely learning about Nubian history and culture as part of your touring. Living in a Nubian house for a night brings it all together. Go!

Room Tip: You can book 3 in a room and because of the dressing room and bathroom, it's still very spacious...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We stayed one night in the superior room with good A/C. The place was neat (Nubian style) and staff were friendly. One could see Lake Nasser from the roof top. It was good that there were mosquito nets in the room although it was kind of weird to have two nets for one big bed. Basically, the big bed was put together with two twin beds, and the nets were above where the individual beds would have been. But we managed to get the nets over the beds and had a good night sleep free from mosquito bites.

We were glad that there was a place to stay after visiting the temples in Abu Simbel since we opted to fly to Abu Simbel instead of riding in a bus for couple of hours each way between Aswan and Abu Simbel. Not only did we have more time to enjoy the temples by ourselves, we were also able to stay for the sound and light show in the evening.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Searsmont, Maine
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

If you are going to Abu Simbel, it is worth it spend a night so that you can see the temple at dawn. And the Eskaleh Lodge is a great place to treat yourself to. The rooms are clean and comfortable, the building and grounds are beautiful and the food is wonderful. Plus, the staff is very friendly and helpful.A very relaxing and comforting place.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Eskaleh Nubian Ecolodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eskaleh Nubian Ecolodge

Address: Abu Simbel City, Abu Simbel, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Nile River Valley > Aswan Governorate > Abu Simbel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Abu Simbel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eskaleh ..... an Eco-Lodge Guest House , located a few minutes away from Abu Simble temples , marvelously overlooking the Lake Nasser, where Nubia was located. The hotel was built using natural materials such as Nile mud bricks. With a maximum capacity of 16 guest , Eskaleh ensures the best services for its guests in a relaxing , natural and warm atmosphere... ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Eskaleh Nubian Ecolodge Hotel Abu Simbel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eskaleh Nubian Ecolodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.