We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delish!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sylvesters

Sylvesters
21st and 5th Ave., Avalon, NJ 08202-2111
609-967-7553
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #44 of 57 Restaurants in Avalon
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Seafood
Restaurant details
Bloomingdale, New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Delish!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

I went to Sylvester's for the first time last night. I loved the informal atmosphere of the picnic tables and tent. We started with the Mussels Sylvester's which were delicious. A huge tray came as one order and they were tender and fresh. I had a broiled seafood combo, and each sample of fish were cooked perfectly. It was all very fresh and well prepared. The crab cake ( Not really in pattie form) was the best. The crab meat was sweet and there was hardly any fill. Our server was very friendly. I would definitely go back again next year.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    5
    3
    8
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Howell, MI
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Something Different”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We chose Sylvester's as it had a different offering in that it was all picnic tables inside a large tent-like structure. Not sure if it was just the time of year we were there (September) or not, but there were biting black flies everywhere. Your food arrives in a carryout container. You can bring your own alcoholic beverage and they give you a bowl with ice in which to chill it. I made the mistake of ordering a filet mignon (in a fish place? What was I thinking!!). Not what I hoped for. The others ordered fish and it was good. It was very expensive, and having the fly problem made it not a very good time. Win some, lose some!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morristown, NJ
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Hidden gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

The place doesn't impress but the food certainly does. The wait was a bit. Be prepared to eat at picnic tables with paper plates and plastic utensils but it did NOT disappoint. The freshest fish in town.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The WORST”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Awful, just awful. Every single thing about this place is awful. If I could give a ranking lower than "1", I would do so. Food sucked. Atmosphere sucked. Just bad, bad, bad. Go elsewhere, my friends.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechanicsburg, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Excellent traditional shore seafood fare!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Sylvester's has become a family tradition on our extended family's yearly week-long pilgrimage to Stone Harbor. So much so that we were disappointed this year when we discovered they've changed their hours and are no longer open for lunch on weekdays. (Hence, my review today of Quahog's in Stone Harbor.) If you love traditional shore fare, e.g., crabcakes, raw oysters, fried shrimp, fried flounder, crab imperial, there's probably no place better on Seven-Mile Beach to find it. That is, as long as you don't mind dining on picnic tables underneath a canopy that can be a little warm on one of those stinkin' hot Jersey Shore summer days. It is a BYOB place, which definitely helps keep the bill down. Their crabcakes are some of the best I've had anywhere, which is to say there's lot's of crab and very little cake, with just some mayonnaise and Sylvesters' own seasoning blend. Service is always pretty good. From what I hear, this place can get pretty crowded on weekend evenings, with lines to get in the door. I'm not sure whether they take reservations. Regardless, this is the real deal for an authentic shore lunch or dinner.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sylvesters also viewed

Avalon, Jersey Shore
Avalon, Jersey Shore
 
Avalon, Jersey Shore
 

Been to Sylvesters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sylvesters, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.