We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a rip off!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Sylvesters

Sylvesters
21st and 5th Ave., Avalon, NJ 08202-2111
609-967-7553
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #44 of 57 Restaurants in Avalon
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Seafood
Restaurant details
philadelphia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“What a rip off!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Hard to believe that they charged $29.00 for two small soft shell crabs served in a styrofoam takeout box. The only "side" was a tiny container of cole slaw. Though fries come with the dinners, apparently that doesn't include the specials. I asked! Oh, I forgot. We also were served two stale rolls. Never again....very high prices for mediocre food.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    5
    3
    8
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Only did take out”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012 via mobile

We only had the takeout dinner but wouldn't get them again. We had a $200 takeout bill for 8 people and evryone one just said "really?" After we finished dinner. Some of us had what was supposed to be crabcakes but it came in 2 tiny foil molds, more like crab imperial, but it was ok but too pricey. The reest was just bland fries, tiny portions of coleslaw and prepackaged tartre sauce. Totally overpriced.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“A Good Take-Out Choice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We've found Sylvesters to be one of the best seafood take-out choices on 7 Mile Island. The seafood is always fresh, tasty and reasonably priced. We particularly like the broiled crab cakes--chocked full of fresh crabmeat with no filler. The accompanying french fries and cole slaw are pedestrian, but the crabcakes make up for this. If we're going to eat out, we prefer something with a little more ambiance.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collegeville, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Flies, mediocre food, poor service and more flies”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012 via mobile

This is outdoor dining under a canopy with ceiling fans and stand fans that do nothing to keep away the hordes of flies on your food. GROSS! Food was nothing special and the servers were more interested in sitting around talking to each other than noticing the customers. Never again!

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“HORRIBLE, Worst meal ever!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

Meal started out with dinner rolls that were a day old three days ago. This should have been the tell tale sign. Our meals then came served to our table in lidded styrofoam take out containers. My $14.95 Chicken Parm was 3 small compressed chicken fingers with a transparent slice of deli cheese on top and sauce. These were served with french fries, a small cup of poor coleslaw, and a lemon slice. No I did not order the fries thats their meal (I was expecting pasta) and I'm yet to figure out the lemon slice. ABSOLUTELY HORRIBLE!!!!!!!! You have better options, stay far away!!!!!!!!!!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sylvesters also viewed

Avalon, Jersey Shore
Avalon, Jersey Shore
 
Avalon, Jersey Shore
Avalon, Jersey Shore
 

Been to Sylvesters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sylvesters, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.