We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Less than average” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Desert Sand Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Avalon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Desert Sand Resort
Save
You added Desert Sand Resort to your Saves list
7888 Dune Drive, Avalon, NJ 08202   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Avalon
Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Less than average”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2008

The hotel was old 1980's style, but clean. The bathroom was small. Molding missing from kitchen counter edge.

The in-wall AC was VERY loud and prevented sound sleep.

The on-site restaurant was only open on weekends, and then only for breakfast .

We had to pay for ice from the ice machine.

Their website boasted of the restaurant, which wasn't open during the week. And an on-site bike rental was no longer available.

The poolside bar was very tiny, and in order to get to it you had to walk through the crowded kiddie pool area if you were staying on the other side of the hotel.

The motel was close to the beach though.

We also heard lots of trash truck noise all thru the night.

Overall I think it was overpriced. I would probably not go back there again.

  • Liked — Indoor pool , sundeck ,close to beach,
  • Disliked — AC noise, nighttime trash truck noise, dated decor, restaurant's non-hours, paying for ice
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    39
    10
    9
    11
See reviews for
48
23
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
South Eastern Pennsyvania
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2008

If you are looking for a great romantic, quiet weekend, THIS IS NOT THE PLACE TO GO. If you are looking for an average weekend with general motel accomidations, old furniture, etc., stay here. This place is close to the beach, and good resturants and stores near-by. They're a bit far from the shops at 96th street.
The staff is friendly, but the rooms are kind of seedy. It appeared clean to us, and they supposedly have wireless internet (although we didn't use it). So, I guess this is a good motel for a family weekend, but it's no honeymoon resort.

  • Liked — The indoor pool/the closeness to the beach
  • Disliked — the parking troubles
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ROSELEEMAD
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2007

I had a very unfortunate stay at Desert Sand. My room was directly outside the vending machine.....constant noise ALL NIGHT!
The room was dark and dingy and very unpleasant. They say they have internet access. You have to leave a $150.00 for a MODEM!
When a family emergency arose, I needed to leave early. There was absolutey no give on any refund, even though they rented the room right away. I would NEVER stay at this hotel again!

Stayed August 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Desert Sand Resort, responded to this review, July 22, 2011
I was not the Manager when this guest stayed here, but I would like to update some information. We no longer have vending machines, we do have 3 soda machines, and have not had a noise complaint yet about them. We have FREE WI-FI in all rooms, no rentals needed. We have renovated most of our rooms in the passed 3 years. Our policy on early check outs is that there is no refund. That has always been out policy and will always be our policy. Depending on your situation we are willing to work things out in another fashion if necessary.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Avalon hotels

Philadelphia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2007

Depending on who helped you, the staff sometimes took credit card, sometimes only took check or money order or cash. Some people said there was a credit card fee, some people didn't mention any such thing.

For the price, the room size was fine. Bed was slightly smaller than expected. Bathroom did not have a full vanity sink--no space for laying out toiletries--nor did it have a hair dryer (very glad I'd brought my own). Air conditioning worked well.

Maid service came in though it was not requested.

Elevator to 3rd floor from bottom was quick. Elevator from 3rd floor was slow.

Mirage restaurant was understaffed and had poor service--was not greeted at/near the door, did not receive apology for the wait, etc. Did not use vouchers for a meal there because did not have time to wait around all day.

Unable to find a promised parking spot the first night. The second night was able to park in the back alley.

No Internet!

Stayed October 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2007

THis is a motel. Folks who expect a resort or hotel with great amenities should not stay here. If you want a clean room, within 2 blocks of a perfect beach, and an OK pool, with not enough seating around it, this it.
This was fine for my family of 5 for a weekend, I would not want to stay here for a week.
The extra inclusions for the Labor Day pkg (breakfast, beach passes and late check out) made the price a bit more palatable.

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne, Pennsylvania
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2007

Availablity is always limited at the few Avalon/Stone Harbor hotels so if you have a problem as we did, don't expect to move to another hotel or another room for the length of your stay...keep that in mind when you read this. On our first evening when my wife & I pulled back our sheets on our bed sheet was covered in brown stains. Because it was about 9pm, only the night manager was on duty, who just 'gave' us new sheets for us to change ourselves (no night housekeeping). When we unfolded the new sheets, they also had brown stains on them. So we decided to look further, we uncovered the pillows only to discover stains on one and other had a 10" (inch) brown (like dried blood) stain. That pillow wasn't even the hygenic foam hotel pillow. How this even remained in the room covered by a hotel pillow case amazed us. Could you image if we slept on that pillow? The night manager's only offer was to just "sleep in another room for THE night", not move/change rooms for the length of our stay, just "sleep the night" in another room. (again because of availability). The mananger told us she would inform the manager & owner. The day we checked out we were told by the day manager that we were only being given 10% discount on our first night's stay...outragious, that's not even hotel tax in NJ! We asked that the owner give us a call at home. This is now 5-days later when I'm writing this review and we still haven't heard from the owners, nor seen any credits to our credit card. In fact, today we see an additional $50 charge to our credit card for beach tags which we returned and was given back our charge slip and told it would not process. Besides what happened to us, also avoid staying on the ground floor rooms on the second half of the building, unless you like cars parked only 2-3 feet outside your vacation room window..always enjoyable to have engine exhaust pumped into your vacation room window and to keep you shades closed during day hours so you don't feel like a zoo exhibit for those who pass by.

  • Disliked — management's lack of appropriate response to problems
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2007

We made a last minute decision to spend four days in Avalon with our teen-aged kids before they returned to school.. This was the only inn that had rooms available, so we booked it.
While the staff was friendly, we were disappointed with the accomodations. The rooms are dark and dingy and in desperate need of renovation. The furnishings, carpeting and plumbing appear to be vintage 1970s. The beds were so uncomfortably hard that we had problems getting to sleep and then woke up with backaches in the morning. We wound up leaving a day early just to get a good night's sleep. Defintely not worth the money we paid!

While the Avalon/Stone Harbor area is beautiful, I would definitely not stay at the Desert Sands again.

  • Liked — Friendliness of staff
  • Disliked — Room condition; beds
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Desert Sand Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert Sand Resort

Address: 7888 Dune Drive, Avalon, NJ 08202
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Avalon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Avalon
Number of rooms: 90
Also Known As:
Desert Sand Hotel Avalon
Desert Sand Avalon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Desert Sand Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.