We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not so bad” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Inn Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Golden Inn Hotel to your Saves list
Golden Inn Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Oceanfront at 78th Street, Avalon, NJ 08202   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Avalon
South Salem, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Not so bad”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2010

Traveled to the Golden Inn this weekend as part of a group. The location is in between Avalon and Stone Harbor. I found that the staff were very helpful, food decent in the restaurant and the room OK comfort and size-wise, but that the hotel itself needed a good cleaning. Many rugs were stained and looked pretty nasty in the hallways. i understand that it is the end of "The Season", but these things should be addressed.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    82
    51
    33
    49
See reviews for
105
65
5
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2010

We arrived at the hotel much earlier than the 3pm check in time. We went to the bar and pool area where we had wonderful drinks and listen to a great band that was playing. After an hour and half or so we checked with the front desk and our room was ready. We had read on the site that there was a microwave in the room and this particular room did not have one. We called downstairs and asked Sue if there was anything she could do for us and at the same time we asked if there were any ocean front rooms available. She asked if we could come downstairs for a minute....well she made our weekend stay at Avalon amazing she gave the four of us oceanfront suite the included not only the microwave but a dining area and a great oceanfront balcony. The hotel had a wonderful social scene great bands, a great pool area and most of all we loved our suite... Thank you Sue for making our stay so enjoyable we will def be back to visit.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
long island
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2010

Another great year in Avalon. I believe this was our 9th year at the Golden Inn. We are glad to see the staff and customer service is continuing to improve.

Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perkasie, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2010

Went last wkend of summer for "girlfriends" wkend. What was promoted and what was delivered were two separate things. Desk staff was unknowlesgable and indifferent. They never explained the dinner system or anything. There was no welcome reception , goodie bags, dancing. We were later told that those events were not available in the summer.
Dinner would have been great had it not been ruined by the over use of salt in every dish - to the point were there was no way of knowing if I was eating filet or fish.
Service was slow at best in the restaurants and it was not crowded.
Front desk evening staff was arrogant, and clueless.
One of our group had been here 4 times and will never return - spend your money on vodka if you go- you'll need it.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2010

We tried to book for two nights but the hotel was totally booked and I am glad now that we were not able to. The hotel looks very nice from outside - new siding, new entrance, and the photos look wonderful.
The lobby has only one sofa and 2 chairs where you can sit (refer to the hotel pictures)and relax although there is plenty of space to make at least three distinct sitting areas. As a result, we were never able to use it because it was occupied at all times.
The bathrooms and changing rooms on the lobby area were dirty and smelling urine - yes, urine!! The water in the pool was dirty and I did not let my son to go in - disgusting.
The bedroom was not very clean and the walls and carpet in the corridor were filthy with glasses outside the rooms giving the impression that they did not have enough cleaning personnel.
The hotel is in need of a new management and urgent up-date - Very disappointing.
The only advantage is that it is in front of the beach and in a very quiet part of the Avalon beach.
We are planning to go back but this time we will try the Concord Hotel across the street that has been recently renovated and has a kitchen inside the room. The restaurant outside the Concord is very good.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Avalon hotels

Moorestown, New Jersey
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2010

My family and I had heard a lot of wonderful things about the Golden Inn in Avalon. We think of Avalon as a classy beach town with families and folks who are interested in a lot of the things we were looking for: upscale dining and shops, family friendly, free of a noisy boardwalk area (Wildwood/Seaside) and generally a nice place. We had such high hopes for this place but we were SOOOO LET DOWN! First impression was exciting because it was so close to the beach. We attempted to have valet help us with our luggage but were told that there wasn't a bellhop or cart available and we'd have to wait. We waited about 15 minutes after a long ride and started getting frustrated; finally we were assisted with our bags. Upon check-in I noticed the place was not as clean as I expected--rugs were stained, furniture looked old, etc. We were given our room key and told we were staying in the newly renovated area--boy was that a sham--we were on the third floor near the washers/dryers--the smells, the dirt, the windows overlooked the roof-dirty! Now, we entered our room and honestly, I don't think it was clean from the previous guest. There were makeup stains on the pillows and bedspread-the bathroom had MOLD! The carpet was gross, stained and with debris, the toilet rim was dirty--should I go on? Not to mention--WE CALLED DOWN TO FRONT DESK ON THREE DIFFERENT OCCASIONS AND NEVER GOT AN ANSWER--NO ONE PICKED UP THE PHONE!! We needed towels for our family and couldn't even get them! The front desk manager Angelo was not very helpful-we thought we would be refunded 100% since we were so shocked by all of this, however, he said that wasn't possible and awarded us 50% back. We couldn't stay anywhere else at that point since the rest of the hotels were booked, so we did stay the night after asking the night manager to have the room fully cleaned again. It was an utter disaster and I would never stay there again nor would I recommend it to anyone! Our rate was over $300 a night--if I wanted to stay in a sleezy dirty hotel with absolutely no front desk service I would've gone to a Motel 6 and spent under a hundred dollars for a room--oh my goodness-please don't bring your family here!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtwon Square PA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2010

The Golden Inn prides itself on being "THE" hotel in Avalon however times have changed folks. Yes they have a great lobby and nice rooms however when one goes to the beach who truly cares about a lobby or hotel room? The pool was dirty and it smelled, yes we did notify mangment and they did nothing. The hallways at night were LOUD not from kids but from drunk parents. The pool bar menu stinks (five (5) itmes to choose from) however the music was good. There also a MAJOR problem with NON hotel guests using the lounge chairs and pool. Then there is "Karen" at the front desk, who needs to learn to smile and all take a customer service class. What a Witch....Want to have fun, some decent food and save $80 per night on a hotel room head next store to the Wind Drift.........

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Golden Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Inn Hotel

Address: Oceanfront at 78th Street, Avalon, NJ 08202
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Avalon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Avalon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Golden Inn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Golden Inn is a seaside resort and conference center located in beautiful Avalon, New Jersey. The Golden Inn is open year round and offers many great amenities such as our in-house restaurant Sea Glass, outside Beach Bar, pool & beach service, on site parking and complimentary beach tags. The Golden Inn's state of the art meeting facility is the perfect place to hold your next meeting or conference. Nestle on the dunes of Avalon's award winning beach, the Golden Inn provides the perfect atmosphere for your dream sea side wedding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com and Groupon so you can book your Golden Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Hotel Avalon
Golden Inn Avalon Nj

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden Inn Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.