We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the traffic jam outside Philly” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Inn Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Golden Inn Hotel to your Saves list
Golden Inn Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Oceanfront at 78th Street, Avalon, NJ 08202   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Avalon
Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Worth the traffic jam outside Philly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2007

We just returned from a two night stay at the Golden Inn. The staff at the hotel, particularly Sue in the restaurant, was very friendly and accomodating. We arrived on Saturday at about 4:00 very hungry, and were told that we couldn't order anything from the menu until 5:00. Despite the fact that another reception was being served in the restaurant, we sat outside in a beautiful setting and ordered a glass of wine, waiting for 5:00 p.m. At that point, we requested menus and asked if we could sit outside. While it was clear that they were not "set up" to serve outside, Sue quickly agreed and we were assured an excellent dinner. Great Service by Sue.

We stayed on the old side and found the rooms charming and comfortable.

The Windrift Inn is a two minute walk, adjacent to the Golden Inn, and had a live band which was entertaining. Good luck to the bride who was there on her bachelorette, with her mom in tow!

If you want a wonderful breakfast, eat on the deck at Maggie's. Maggie herself, busses the tables, and is fun to talk to. We recommend the strawberry pancakes, or the cheese omellette.

Lastly, it is worth the 15 minute drive to Cape May for a fabulous meal at The Mad Batter. There is exceptional service, a fun front porch on which to dine, eggs benedict to die for, and the owner, Pam is a delight. Highly recommend.

Great weekend. We will definately do it again.

  • Liked — Location; friendly staff
  • Disliked — restaurant closed for private party
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoolerByaMile, Customer relations at Golden Inn Hotel, responded to this review, May 6, 2010
Dear past guest,

We appreciate your feedback and are thrilled to hear of your experience at the Golden Inn. We do make every effort to make each visit a pleasant, memorable experience. Should you have additional feedback you'd like to share please feel free to email us directly at feedback@goldeninn.com. This email is a direct line to the sales manager, general manager, and customer service manager. We hope that the weather was great while you were here and you were able to make great memories of the Avalon shore. Please feel free to reach out to us via email. We would be happy to receive any feedback that you would like to share.
Beachy regards,
The Golden Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    79
    49
    33
    47
See reviews for
99
65
5
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pen Argyl, Pennsylvania
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2007

My group was 4 girls in our mid-twenties staying at the Golden Inn for 2 nights for their Girlfriend's Weekend to celebrate my upcoming wedding and I really have to say that it was nothing short of PERFECT! We arrived in the beautiful lobby were greeted with smiles and champagne! Then onto the rooms, usual size and layout, but that was all that was normal, everything else was amazing! First off, we DID stay in the un-renovated wing and it was plush, clean and comfy. The beds were amazingly comfortable with down pillows and mattress pads the marble toped furniture gave it a classy feel and was great for cleanliness. The bathroom was average with great water pressure, amenities and a nice big sink area (necessary for all ladies).

With the Girlfriend's Weekend Package we received: 2 dinners, 2 breakfasts, 2 cocktails and 1 spa service at a local spa.
The two dinners we had were 4stars! And included filet mignon, seafood pasta, and crab cakes all served with a great fresh salad (try the house dressing its great!), warm rolls, any non-alcoholic beverages and DESSERT (cheesecake, chocolate cake, ice cream, Italian ice, etc.)!!!

The breakfasts were buffet with lots to choose from - fresh fruit, all kinds of pastries, cereal, toast, bagels, made to order omelets, French toast, sausage and bacon, potatoes, etc. and Sunday Morning was "mimosa brunch" with complementary mimosas!

The cocktails were good from what we heard, we mostly stuck to the wine list with an OK selection, but very good if you consider it was all INCLUDED ;)

The Spa was nice, average to look at, but the services were amazing. We tried the facials, pedicures, and the massage. Each of us walked out of there feeling fantastic and the girls working there were so accommodating.

For entertainment they have a DJ and a movie night, we went to the DJ both nights and had a blast!

But out of everything that I loved about this place it was the service that I am returning for. From the smiling bellhop, to the front desk staff, to our waitress (who remembered all of our names and were we are all from the second night there) to the culinary student flipping omelets in the morning, everyone was so pleasant and accommodating.

We are already planning a return trip, some with our significant other and other just with friends, either way this hotel is a great fit for anyone looking for luxury at the beach.

Final note: here are some other good things that I didn't mention earlier, our room was exactly 12 steps to the beach, the Philly Inquirer was next to our door Sunday morning, there is a real wood burning fireplace in the lobby with the most comfortable chairs ever! Just go! You won't regret it! Take your mom, your boyfriend or your gal pals from college, you'll love this place!

ttyl,
Erica

  • Liked — Great rooms; amazing food; very close to the beach
  • Disliked — the fact that i couldn't stay :(
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoolerByaMile, Customer relations at Golden Inn Hotel, responded to this review, May 6, 2010
Dear past guest,

We are thrilled to hear of your positive experience at the Golden Inn. We make every effort to make each visit a pleasant, memorable experience. Please feel free to email us directly should you have more feedback you'd like to share -- feedback@goldeninn.com. This email is a direct line to the sales manager, general manager, and customer service manager. We really hope that the weather was beautiful while you were here and you had some great times at the Avalon shore. Please feel free to reach out to us via email. We would be happy to receive any feedback that you would like to share.
Beachy regards,
The Golden Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phila.
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2006

We had being going to the Goldenn Inn for @ 20yrs. The last night of our stay we were the victims of a stolen laptop computer from our room. Surprisingly, there were many other valuables in the room in plain view that were not touched. Apparently, the perp was only interested in getting the laptop. There were no signs of forced entry. The policeman who took the incident report @ 1am suggested that the credit card style keys can be easily manipulated to gain entry to any room. The hotel had they're insurance carrier advise us that under the Hotel/Motel Act in New Jersey they weren't responsible. I thought that the management who knew us as long term visitors would have offered some consideration. However they did not. The Goldenn Inn has been removed from our list of favorite vacation spots.

Stayed July 2005
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoolerByaMile, customer relations at Golden Inn Hotel, responded to this review, March 2, 2010
Dear past guest,
We sincerely apologize that you had this experience while staying at the Golden Inn and as the staff is constantly changing we are making every effort to make each visit to the Golden Inn a pleasant, memorable experience. Again we apologize that you had this experience and really hope that you will email us directly so we can serve you better should you ever decide to revisit Avalon. Our email is feedback@goldeninn.com. This email is direct line to the sales manager, general manager, and customer service manager. We really hope that the weather was beautiful while you were here and still had some great times at the Avalon shore. Please feel free to reach out to us via email. We would be happy to receive any feedback that you would like to share.
Beachy regards,
The Golden Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Avalon hotels

St. Paul, Minnesota
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2006

There are 2 wings to this hotel. One wing is nicely renovated, the other one has not been touched. We had to move from one wing to the other. I would NOT stay in this hotel unless you can stay in a renovated room. The un-renovated rooms are DUMPY. I'd rather stay at a Super 8 then stay in one of their un-renovated, dirty, gross rooms. This hotel also only has one dining room and bar. The weekend we were there had 5 weddings and the restaurant and bar were closed both Friday and Saturday nite for wedding receptions. Had we known this, we also would not have stayed here. This place has alot of work to do. Stay somewhere else - DEFINITELY.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — no quality to the rooms, etc. no internet access.
  • Tips/Secrets — stay in the renovated wing or don't even bother.
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoolerByaMile, customer relations at Golden Inn Hotel, responded to this review, February 28, 2010
Dear past guest,
We apologize that you had this experience and as the staff is constantly changing we are making every effort to make a pleasant, memorable experience. Again we apologize that you had this experience and really insist that you email us directly so we can serve you better to feedback@goldeninn.com. This email is direct line to the sales manager, general manager, and customer service manager. We really hope that the weather was beautiful while you were here and still had some great times at the Avalon shore. Please feel free to reach out to us via email. We would be happy to receive any feedback that you would like to share.
Beachy regards,
The Golden Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlantic City, NJ
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2006

My girlfriends and I go away for a weekend every summer. Several years ago we stayed at the Golden Inn and enjoyed ourselves so we decided to try it again. We were pleasantly surprised at the renovations that had taken place. The exterior of the building has been updated and most rooms have been renovated. We were lucky enough to get a renovated room which was ready well before check-in. The food was excellent and the staff were very accomodating. The only minor complaint is the hotel only gives one parking permit per room (we were four adults) and two beach badges. When you are paying $400 a night for a hotel you should be able to provide beach badges for at least 4 adults. We had a room with a patio which was very nice. I would defintely go back again. I am sure once all of the rooms are rennovated the hotel will start to get the glowing reviews it deserves.

  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoolerByaMile, Customer relations at Golden Inn Hotel, responded to this review, May 6, 2010
Dear past guest,

We are thrilled to hear of your experience at the Golden Inn. We appreciate your feedback and we do make every effort to make each visit a pleasant, memorable experience. Should you decide to return to the Golden Inn or have any additional feedback, please feel free to contact us at feedback@goldeninn.com. This email is a direct line to the sales manager, general manager, and customer service manager. Again, please feel free to reach out to us via email. We would be happy to receive any feedback that you would like to share.
Beachy regards,
The Golden Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2006

Every Year I have to attend the Golden inn for my husband's Cheif of Police confrence. I like the fact that they can accomadate all the components of the confrence and then still have things for children to do whether they are young or old.Some rooms are nicer than others but all in all everything was great and mostly what we were looking for.

  • Stayed June 2006, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoolerByaMile, Customer relations at Golden Inn Hotel, responded to this review, May 6, 2010
Dear past guest,

We are pleased to hear of your past experience at the Golden Inn. We hope that you had time to enjoy the weather and the sights nearby while you were here. We do make every effort to make each visit a pleasant, memorable experience. Please feel free to email us directly should you have any additional feedback you'd like to share -- feedback@goldeninn.com. This email is a direct line to the sales manager, general manager, and customer service manager. We really hope that the weather was beautiful while you were here and had some great times at the Avalon shore. Please feel free to reach out to us via email. We would be happy to receive any feedback that you would like to share.
Beachy regards,
The Golden Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2005

It was OK but not great. I think they put us in a smoking room, although I requested non-smoking. I smelled smoke all night and there were used cigarettes in an ashtray on the balcony. Yuck!

The walls were very thin also, as we heard people talking all night long. It was clean and the people were nice but the lobby was a lot better than the rest of the hotel.

We paid $100 a night which I thought was quite expensive for a very cold night in November and I was shocked to see that the cost goes up to $250+ a night in summer. I would have thought a fair price for this hotel would have been around $75-80 a night in winter and about $150 in the summer.

I would not stay in this hotel again unless absolutely necessary.

  • Stayed November 2005
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoolerByaMile, customer relations at Golden Inn Hotel, responded to this review, March 2, 2010
Dear past guest,
We apologize that you had this experience while staying at the Golden Inn and as the staff is constantly changing we are making every effort to make each visit to the Golden Inn a pleasant, memorable experience. We appreciate your feedback and comments about our hotel and really hope that you will email us directly so we can serve you better should you ever decide to revisit Avalon. Our email is feedback@goldeninn.com. This email is direct line to the sales manager, general manager, and customer service manager. We really hope that the weather was beautiful while you were here and still had some great times at the Avalon shore. Please feel free to reach out to us via email. We would be happy to receive any feedback that you would like to share.
Beachy regards,
The Golden Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Golden Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Inn Hotel

Address: Oceanfront at 78th Street, Avalon, NJ 08202
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Avalon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Avalon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Golden Inn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Golden Inn is a seaside resort and conference center located in beautiful Avalon, New Jersey. The Golden Inn is open year round and offers many great amenities such as our in-house restaurant Sea Glass, outside Beach Bar, pool & beach service, on site parking and complimentary beach tags. The Golden Inn's state of the art meeting facility is the perfect place to hold your next meeting or conference. Nestle on the dunes of Avalon's award winning beach, the Golden Inn provides the perfect atmosphere for your dream sea side wedding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo and Odigeo so you can book your Golden Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Hotel Avalon
Golden Inn Avalon Nj

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden Inn Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.