We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location with uneven service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Inn Hotel

Save Saved
You added Golden Inn Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Golden Inn Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Oceanfront at 78th Street, Avalon, NJ 08202   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 5 hotels in Avalon
Park Ridge, NJ
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Good location with uneven service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Stayed here for two nights this year, two nights last year. The good news is they didn't suffer damage from the storm. The bad news is they still miss on the details....For the high price they charge, I don't understand why they can't provide more than 2 beach tags per room and only one parking pass per room (holds 4 ppl). The towels were inadequate and had to ask for more each day....We had a room with a balcony facing the ocean, it has a nice view if you're on the third floor....however, the balcony needs attention. there's no fan in the bathrooms so it's always humid, especially after a day at the beach and 4 showers in a row!
The addition of the Starbucks in the mornings is nice, so you don't have to spend time or money on their full breakfast. The happy hour (from 4-6) each day is reasonably priced and a nice way to end the day on the beach.
I must commend the housekeeping staff, they were very nice and responsive to our requests and the same for the maintenance men and bell hops.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    77
    69
    42
    30
    44
See reviews for
91
56
4
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We have been coming here since our children were little. The outside has been updated but it's still the same old Golden Inn. Could use some internal updating of rooms. Check in was delayed. The rooms were not ready at check in time. Nothing new, we are used to it. The restaurants are okay. The reason we come back is the location, the beach and the pool. There is nothing like the Jersey Shore. Avalon and Stone Harbor are the diamonds of New Jersey. Given how much time you actually spend in your room, would recommend the Golden Inn if only because of location.

Room Tip: East Wing rooms are the pick of the litter. West wing is akin to being the stepchild.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brewster, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

My family & I checked in late Friday night, found pretzels behind the night stand, a dirty washcloth in the bathroom. No hand towels, 3 bath towels for 4 people. The next morning woke up with tissue's in my bed (not mine which means linens were never changed from the previous occupant). Complained to the front desk and housekeeping who assured me they would clean the room. I marked the sheet (eye liner) to make sure it was changed, you guessed it they never changed the sheets or cleaned the pretzels up. This was the filthiest place we ever stayed in. They gave us credit for 1 night only, it should have been both nights!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Avalon hotels

New Jersey
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Do not stay here until they do a complete overhaul! I have been visiting Avalon and Stone Harbor every summer for the past 20 years, staying at condos usually. This year our stay was limited so we decided to book two rooms at the Golden Inn. An efficiency and a standard room. It was a horrible experience. From the outside when you arrive the Golden Inn looks nice but be warned this is only a facade. As soon as you enter things go downhill. It starts at the front desk where the service is extremely slow and inadequate. The people working the desk need to be more service oriented and pleasant. One woman working the desk was so extremely rude I was appalled. The rooms were horrible. The efficiency was missing furniture and all of the things that make it an efficiency like plates, cups, utensils etc. The room was tired and old looking and the bathroom horrible. Cracked tiles, rusted fixtures. The bed was soft and lumpy. The hallways had debris and bags of garbage. The rugs in the elevator were so dirty that I took the stairs most times. Our other room was a standard room on the first floor. The smell was so musty and bad that I am wondering if there is mold there from Sandy that was never cleaned. That hallway had so many garbage bags littered along the sides of it that it was difficult to wheel your bags to the room.
Restaurants were no better. Slow slow service and the outside bar/dining area is disgusting. Dirty and loaded with bird poop. Seaglass lunch food was poor. Pool area had dirty lounge chairs and a staff that does not clean up the tables, chairs etc.
This hotel should not charge more than $99/night and that is only because of the beach access. They need a complete overhaul and new management. Someone needs to go in there and train the staff and invest in a complete renovation of rooms and outside areas. Until they do, stay somewhere else.

Room Tip: Presently there are no good rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrence, New Jersey, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

I stayed in this place 2 times, once in 2008 and 2013. Its an expensive option if you book it directly, but its a great place to stay for the money if you book it through expedia, or booking.com ($224 for 2 nights stay). Outside area of the hotel opens up directly to the beach, has Caribbean style furniture, tiki bar (with some basic food options). rooms were clean, front desk staff was helpful. Overall enjoyable experience.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

There are some good things about the Golden Inn: location right at the beach, the beach chairs and umbrella available for guests, and the pool area. Unfortunately, there were some negatives too: we had 4 in our party and had to call for the correct amount (not extra) towels every day. When you check in, you receive only 2 beach tags - with 4 in the group, it cost us more money to go to the beach. We spent time waiting for a cart to take our bags to the room as it appeared that they only had 2 or 3 carts for a large hotel. We rented an efficiency but it was smaller than I expected, and did not have a table /chairs setup. We reserved later than usual - next time I will make reservations elsewhere further in advance.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

Rooms were very dated, had a strong moldy odor. Customer service at the front desk was beyond bad. Very unhelpful. Buffet breakfast was good. Staff at bar and restaurant were friendly. Overall, hotel charges a lot of money and I think gets away with it because of location. Shame.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Golden Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Inn Hotel

Address: Oceanfront at 78th Street, Avalon, NJ 08202
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Avalon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 hotels in Avalon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Golden Inn Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Golden Inn is a seasonal seaside resort and conference center located in beautiful Avalon, New Jersey. The Golden Inn is open year round and offers many great amenities such as our in-house restaurant Sea Glass, outside Beach Bar, pool & beach service, on site parking and complimentary beach tags. The Golden Inn’s state of the art meeting facility is the perfect place to hold your next meeting or conference. Nestle on the dunes of Avalon’s award winning beach, the Golden Inn provides the perfect atmosphere for your dream sea side wedding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Golden Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Hotel Avalon
Golden Inn Avalon Nj

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden Inn Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.