We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great family hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Inn Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Golden Inn Hotel to your Saves list
Golden Inn Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Oceanfront at 78th Street, Avalon, NJ 08202   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Avalon
pa
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“great family hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

We just got back from a labor day stay at Golden inn.Kkevin the manager couldn't be nicer. He helped with meals ,finding a seat at the pool, and even helped with putting sandy chairs in car near end of stay. I visit the Golden Inn with friends during the winter and it is a great girlfriends get away. I decided to take some oft the family for labor Day. good music at pool, great breakfast. my grandson, the picky eater loved the kids food. the room was clean, and when we had a problem it was taken care of right away. This hotel is right on the ocean, great for families.

Room Tip: @nd floor is great. They have connecting rooms . Wahers and dryers #rd floor. Call for best rates a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    79
    49
    33
    47
See reviews for
99
65
5
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sicklerville, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

I ate there recently with my sister and brother in law hoping for a good meal at the shore since they were only here for one night. The hostess greeting us was very friendly and quickly seated us at a table by the window. as I started to look around I quickly realized that the decor was very dated and in some places very dirty. That was just the beginning of our bad experience. We sat for 15 minutes before we could place our order and the food arrived an hour later, other guests had been seated and served before us. The food when it finally arrived it was tasteless almost cold and lacked inspiration. They even forgot to bring the horseradish that was included with the dishes we ordered. I don't recommend this restaurant to anybody, in fact the whole Golden Inn appeared to be run down and in desperate need of renovation.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Avalon hotels

USA
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

The location of the Golden Inn is perfect. You can walk right onto the beach. The hotel is sort of like a small Caribbean beach resort with pool bar, lots of tables, lots of chaises and umbrellas (free) on the beach. Luigi's restaurant was great. The rooms (ours was regular, two queen beds) are spacious and have private balconies.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

The good: the location and the pool.

The bad.. the cost and the room condition. Our room was dirty and worn out. For starters, our door would not close completely unless slammed shut. The furniture, carpet and draperies are all old and worn badly. The room is in desperate need of re-furnishing. The bathroom is shockingly small and dated. I've seen nicer bathrooms at the Red Roof Inn. In short, we left early as the room was just too uncomfortable.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

With the Winddrift stepping up their game on the room and bar renovation, the Golden Inn will need to renovate and improve if they want to keep up. The beds are not that comfortable and there are a lot of mold spots and stains. The quality of the food is pretty good but the inside restaurant is stuffy and too old school. Location is great but the rooms and restaurants are showing their age

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jmrwest
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

We typically rent a house in Avalon, but decided to go w/a Hotel since we could not take a full week off. This is the first time I stayed at the Golden Inn. The exterior is very nice. However, the rooms are dated and a bit run down. For the money you're paying you expect something nicer. It was nice to have the pool after a day at the beach. Overall, it was a nice stay, but I will go back to renting a house if my vacation time allows it.

I will say that the staff was excellent. Very attentive and courteous.

Three things did bother me about this place. 1. people putting their towels down on lounge chairs by the pool at 8:00 a.m. to hold their seat. Pool doesn't open until 10:00 a.m. 2. My bill included a $50 charge for beach tags. I turned in my tags, and had to get them to remove this charge. I wonder how many times this is done to unattentive guests. 3. We rec'd a $100 gift card for on-site use. On the second day we were told it was tapped out when we knew it wasn't. Had to go to the front desk to get the money added back on.

Room Tip: As always, stay clear of the elevator bank and the ice machine. I asked for and rec'd an upgrad...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012 via mobile

We chose the Golden Inn for the pool and location next to the beach instead of our usual house rental We had been told they had renovated sometime in the last few years. It was fairly rundown, compared to what I expected.

Pluses - the service is terrific, the location is great, next to the beach and with several restaurants on the property or nearby. Parking was never an issue. Great buffet breakfast and live music by the pool/beach bar in the late afternoon/early evening.

Minuses - Our room smelled like chemicals, strong chemicals. They tried to remedy the problem and even comped a breakfast, but they weren't able to get rid of smell. It was much dirtier than I expected. We had ants in the room and it just didint feel like they've kept it up very well.

Overall - Had we not gotten such a good rate on Hotels.com we would have been more disappointed. Our two kids like the pool. It was a fairly nice place overall.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Golden Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Inn Hotel

Address: Oceanfront at 78th Street, Avalon, NJ 08202
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Avalon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Avalon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Golden Inn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Golden Inn is a seaside resort and conference center located in beautiful Avalon, New Jersey. The Golden Inn is open year round and offers many great amenities such as our in-house restaurant Sea Glass, outside Beach Bar, pool & beach service, on site parking and complimentary beach tags. The Golden Inn's state of the art meeting facility is the perfect place to hold your next meeting or conference. Nestle on the dunes of Avalon's award winning beach, the Golden Inn provides the perfect atmosphere for your dream sea side wedding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo and Odigeo so you can book your Golden Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Hotel Avalon
Golden Inn Avalon Nj

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden Inn Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.