We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consider another place” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Bleu

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Bleu to your Saves list
Hotel Bleu
Malecon de salinas junto a la Capitania del Puerto, Salinas 593, Ecuador   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Salinas
Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Consider another place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

This Hotel was booked for us by an Ecuadorian Travel Agent. We were looking for a spot to spend 3 days sunbathing and relaxing. In October. Apparently at this time of year, the sun does not shine here. It was always overcast, but the temperature was a perfect 20 - 24 degrees the whole time.

The Hotel itself - Nice lobby

Plusses:

Clean.
Well situated.
Fresh squeezed orange juice - tall glass of it - for breakfast - safe for travelers because they add no water.
The housekeeping staff did a great job! The sheets were changed daily - and the second day we got linen that stayed on the beds better.
The best eggs revueltos we`ve ever had - scrambled eggs with ham and cheese in it.
Pool and ping pong table for use.
Some of the restaurant staff were friendly - they waved to us whenever we walked by the open window once they got to know us.


Minuses:

No safe in rooms.
Single paned windows - actually balcony doors that didn't close all the way because it had become warped. This allowed a lot of street noise even on the 8th floor - heavy traffic at all hours - lots of honking. Always. Dogs bark. There seems to be a radio station or political party headquarters or something right behind the hotel, which blares music very loudly at times during the day.
Single lock door - no extra bolt.
hardest pillow I've ever come across in my life. There were 2 more pillows in the shams, which were soft but very lumpy.
The sheets did not stay on the mattress. The elastic was worn out, the mattress slippery, and the sheets just slid off at night. There was no mattress pad.
My son slept under a quilt cover with a sheet. The queen size bed had a top sheet and a quilt - no quilt cover. This is okay, as long as they are washed between guests. Not all hotels do that.
There are no reading lamps, just ceiling lights.
Very plain room - one picture on the wall, and that of Rothenburg in Germany! lol.
One adult has to wear a paper bracelet for the duration of the stay! Very objectionable to my husband! Surely there must be another way to identify guests for breakfast. At the desk, when we asked for our key no one even verified our identity or looked for a bracelet.
Breakfast was the same every day - americano breakfast. It was good, but after a few days it would be nice to have a little variety.
We had to request refills on any and everything at breakfast time.
We didn`t always receive telephone messages for us that were left with reception desk staff.
Most staff could not speak or understand English at all, or very poor. They also seemed rather disinterested in trying to communicate or assist us.
WIFI worked in the room, except for the last 2 days we could not connect and reception staff could not get it to work for us.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    10
    9
    7
    1
See reviews for
14
10
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montevideo, Uruguay
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

It has been great!!!!, we have stayed 4 night in this Hotel, the accommodations and facilities are very comfortable and staff it were all very kind, It is located in the center of Salinas, which is very important if you want to walk to other places or to cross to the beach,
Our room had a beautiful view. The food is very tasty, everything that you ask is very good. My family and I have had a great time in this place.

Room Tip: suggest rooms in front of the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Branson West, Missouri
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

If you're looking for a hotel in Salinas, Edcuador, I suggest not staying at this one. The check-in was painfully slow. The reception person was less than helpful in getting information on local restaurants and shopping. The rooms are large but there was no hot water and the furnishing were dated and worn. No internet in the room. Clearly not worn the $$.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

I recently stayed at Hotel Bleu with my Mom and 20-month old Daughter. The room we got was spacious and the a/c unit worked beautifully. Unfortunately, they didn't have a crib for my daughter, so I had to place a comforter on the floor, along with her blanket in order for her to get some zzz's. The hotel has a quality restaurant, which we ordered from a number of times; and the food was very tasty. The view from our window was awesome, and afforded us a great view of the beach. The only disappointment was that we stayed for several days, and 2 of those days fell on the weekend; which meant that we were subjected to noise from the night club that is situated right next door. Since their windows were paper-thin, you can imagine my baby wasn't too happy. Other than that, the staff was friendly and always willing to help.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012

I stayed at Hotel Bleu for 3 nights with family and friends. They have a nice pool, although small. Our room was facing the road and you could hear traffic sometimes. AC was not powerful enough and because of humidity created condensation. We had to put a towel underneath so nobody slips on the water on the floor. Our bathroom had a shower head problem and we talked to the manager at the front desk who made sure to change it. Breakfast was included in the room price, it's an ok breakfast with regular things like bread, juice, omelette. The really nice thing about this hotel is the location. Everything is within walking distance: beach, restaurants, some nightclubs etc. Good experience overall but will be looking into another option if I end up going to Salinas again.

Room Tip: Higher floors give you a better view of the city/beach and also reduce noise from the street. Ask to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
quito
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2012

First the positives, location is great. Staff were helpful and friendly. Breakfast was included in the price. The swimming pool is good.
The negatives are that the furniture is outdated and sparce. There isn't any wifi in the rooms. the room had the air conditioner in a place that meant no cool air was felt (needed in Salinas!). The ceiling fan only worked when the light was on and made an awful noise. The air con units were outside of the room and really loud and also they were exposed.
I would be happy to pass over the negatives as really you go to Salinas for the beach, not the hotel. However, Hotel Bleu is not cheap. I was shocked at the price in reality. I had stayed in the Hilton Colon in Guayaquil the night before and it was only 30$ more expensive per night. Also, Barcelo Colon Miramar is not that much more expensive.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, Connecticut, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012

I brought my toddler with me on this trip during carnaval. All the staff at this hotel went out of their to make my trip spectacular! I booked a suite with ocean view, worth every penny since you also get all meals and cocktails included. The hotel pool was perfect for my little boy, small and has a wet bar. I was surprised that this hotel had a children's room, I thought those comforting little details were only found in the United States.

Can't wait to book this trip again next year!

Room Tip: Make sure you don't lose your bracelet, that gives you free drinks and all meals!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Bleu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bleu

Address: Malecon de salinas junto a la Capitania del Puerto, Salinas 593, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Santa Elena Province > Salinas
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Salinas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Bleu offers you a place of relaxing and beauty where a refined style combined with a personalized service in an ocean front cozy atmosphere makes the perfect retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Bleu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Bleu Ecuador/Salinas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Bleu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.