We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A new defin ition of Illusions of Grandeur” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Cocos Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Cocos Hotel to your Saves list
Cocos Hotel
Av. Malecon de Salinas y Calle Fidon Tomala (esquina) | Sector de Las Palmeras, Salinas 09015657, Ecuador   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Salinas
Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A new defin ition of Illusions of Grandeur”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2010

Once we arrived at this hotel after having beren asked to pay up front, which is something we had never done before in Eucador, we noticed that the rates for this place were more in tune with a large hotel that had everything to offer, but unfortunately, this place had very little to offer. No wi-fi, no view of the sea , even for the 70$ room rate, which is exceptionally high, considering the other places on the boardwalk that we spent time in after we left this place on the second day of our planned 7 day stay. A room in another building on the other side of the street and with no view whatsoever was just too much of a stretch for us, even though we consider ourselves not very demanding.

The resataurant was poor, service was not a highest priiority, and it seemed rather clear that the owners simply wanted to see the money instead of being sincerely interested by their client's needs. We had to ask for the salt and pepper, for the marmalade, for a plate to put our toast in,for the napkins, etc....

An exception that needs to be mentioned was the gentlemen who served us when we did arrive. I think his name Jerry. Although he did his best to make us feel at home, we personally felt that he was under a lot of pressure and we sincerely hope that he finds his way going forward, because this place did not seem like a very good place to work.

No discounts for longer stays was a turn-off. Also, when we decided to leave, the owner was going to charge us three days when we stayed just two, and 20$ that we overpaid on the deposit was never given back to us when we checked-out.

All in all, when we compare this place to all the other places we have stayed in Ecuador, from Cuenca to Guayaquil to Quito and Manta, this had to be the least comfortable and welcoming, and the rates were simply outrageously out of whack with what was offered. It is clear that if this place does not change its view of how it needs to do business, it will be surpassed by it competitors rather quickly once the word gets out.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    17
    12
    9
    9
See reviews for
13
20
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
US
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2010

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The staff was friendly and helpful, and the hotel is right on the beach.

A quiet and well-priced spot -- I highly recommend it!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sweden
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2010

In december 2009 I was traveling around in Ecuador. I stayed at Cocos in almost one week. Almost everything was great . The room was clean, the service was great, the dinner was great and they were speaking english, which not so many did in Ecuador. The host helped me alot (with the bus and with hotels in other cities) when I was traveling to other places in Ec.
But as it is with everything else, it was not perfect ( it was almost perfect:) ), when you were eating you could only eat in 5 minutes because the chairs were like a nightmare, at least if you like to have any support for your back.

And the best thing: They have the best Mojito in the world and I will come back some day

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, British Columbia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2010

My friend and i decided to go to salinas without much of a plan and stay for a night or two. When we pulled into town in a taxi the first thing we saw was the beautiful Cocos hostel. i figured it was so close to the beach ( right across the street) we should give it a try. It turned out to be the best decision we could have made. The friendly spanish/ english staff and guests made us feel at home. Reasonably priced food and drinks kept us there and extra coupe nights! The rooms were private and cool on the hot salinas nights. I made real friends there and would suggest staying there to anyone i knew was heading to salinas. Thanks again andreas for making us feel at home.
Aj piccinato, Mike St thomas, British Columbia, Canada

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guayaquil
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2010

If you want to be in a comfortable and cozy this is the ideal.
Good hosts and friends
Excellent ubication, walking you can found everything.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, fl
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2009

When arriving to Salinas, you are given lodging options options, and i have visited quite a few. But it is this Coco's place that really gives you all,, the right location to enjoy the scenario, the perfect customer sevice that makes you feel like being at your own home, great food and entertainment. I always stay at Coco's since i was introduced to this great and affordable place in Salinas Ecuador. Great Job Mr. Otton.

ALfonso Aguilar

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cocos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cocos Hotel

Address: Av. Malecon de Salinas y Calle Fidon Tomala (esquina) | Sector de Las Palmeras, Salinas 09015657, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Santa Elena Province > Salinas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Salinas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rates vary depending on the season, days (week days or weekend days), room types, length of stay, amount of rooms required, and guests' age (children policy).In COCOS we have a very cozy and familiar ambiance, that’s the quality that makes us different from the other hotels in Salinas. COCOS it’s managed by the owner and his family and we like to give our guests the best experience they can have during their stay, and we want them to come back and become part of "COCOS FAMILY". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Cocos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cocos Hotel Ecuador/Salinas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cocos Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.