We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“On the Beach in Manta” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Las Velas

Las Velas
Malecon Escencio (local # 18, Manta, Ecuador
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 45 restaurants in Manta
Cuisines: Eastern European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Description: I now live in Manta part time and would like to review some restaurants here. Las Velas is the best restaurant on the busiest beach here in Manta. I eat there often. The owner is Diana Felipe, cell 5938-302-1932, and the restaurant phone is 5935-262-9396. The chef is Ariel Vazquez, Chef Internacional. I would love to write it up, if you will accept it.
Manta, Ecuador
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“On the Beach in Manta”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

This is the best beach restaurant in Manta. The chef is Cuban and the food is terrific. It is more expensive than some of the other restaurants along the Malecon, but the food is always good. The local expat community meets here every Saturday at 1:30. Stop by and say hello!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

79% Recommend
    10
    29
    6
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Palm Coast, Florida
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Best restaurant on the Malecon”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

If you want a change from typical Ecuadorian food, this is the place to eat. Food is very good, fair prices. Cuban owners. Wonderful mushrooms and eggplant in cream sauce. Yummy! Excellent swordfish. You won't be disappointed.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“BUSY PLACE - PLAN TO WAIT ON YOUR FOOD”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We were told the Las Velas was "the place" for seafood at the Playa in Manta. My wife, the food expert, was not overwhelmed with the quality. So, we found the restaurant very busy, it took a LONG TIME to get the food we ordered, and the overall quality of the food simply average on this particular day.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manta, Ecuador
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great place on the beach to eat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

Eaten here a few times, great location, nice breeze from the ocean. Every dish I have tried has been excellent. Reasonable prices, more on the higher side.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Does not meke the difference in apperance food is not breathtaking”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

Manta is a fisherman town in Ecuador, many people are involved with the business and seafood seems to be an obligate menu. there are plenty of options. As a Tripadvisor fan I always look for options where i'm traveling and in manta there are not many mentions, one of them is Las Velas.

restaurant is just as simple as many others around, it is located in the shore of Playa Murcielagos but from your seat you barely see the beach.

food is not breathtaking but is not bad, i have tried many options and there is a salad from chicken and apple that i liked, unfortunatelly just the day before to write this review i asked for one and i receive a pineapple flavor instead of apple.

service is not that kim to serve, sometimes you need to remember your order.

price is like other places.

not big deal with this place.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Las Velas also viewed

Manta, Manabi Province
Manta, Manabi Province
 
Manta, Manabi Province
Manta, Manabi Province
 

Been to Las Velas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Las Velas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.