We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had its good and bad” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Fernandina

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Puerto Ayora
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Fernandina
Save
You added Hotel Fernandina to your Saves list
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   18 de Febrero & Seymour Street, Puerto Ayora, Ecuador   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Puerto Ayora
Charleston, South Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Had its good and bad”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

I loved pulling up to this place and seeing the two parts of the hotel across the street from one another , and we loved the turtle keys for each room. We had reserved 14 rooms for a school trip and everyone seemed very happy. The water pressure was nice, the towels were nice, and the AC was great! The pool area was dirty as was the area around it but it seemed to be under construction. The breakfast was nice in the morning, and when we were there it seemed super busy all the time. Wifi was not so good in any part of the hotel. I loved how they had water and glasses in the rooms for when we returned from a long day.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    44
    21
    7
    6
See reviews for
16
29
16
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

In order to post this review I had to give this "place" one star. Zero rating is the proper one! Recommended for persons that need a room to stay if they can tolerate, rat droppings, no hot water, dirty bed coverings (what looked like,urine stains, hairs etc.) limited lighting, no A/C, small to no windows in the rooms. Multiple stairs to get to the rooms (second floor) carrying luggage up to rooms. One look at this room and we decided to find other accommodations even though we had prepaid. We would not spend 3 nights in this dirty (potential disease environment) "hotel". Staying on the street would have been a lot cleaner, and more comfortable. Attempts to remedy this situation with management fell on " deaf ears". A woman that claimed to be in charge when confronted about conditions stated " don't like it here then leave" and leave we did!
Fortunately, we were able to find space at the Hotel Solymar in addition to the fees we had already paid to the Fernandina.) The Solymar is waterfront, center of town, has A/C, clean comfortable rooms, excellent service. You can see animals, birds from your room on the deck, where a pool and jaccuzzi are located. BTW the "pool" for the Fernandina is across the street from the living quarters surrounded by what appears to be a jungle of plants.
Can not understand other reviews praising this facility. Question: could this be persons some how related to the owners or management? Seeing is believing! Being an experienced traveler as I am, over the years I am qualified to assess and rate a property and this one goes down as one of the worst I have ever been to.

Room Tip: not recommended!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelFernandina2013, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Fernandina, responded to this review, September 5, 2014
Google Translation
Gracias por su comentario, nos es grato saber que disfrutó de una cómoda estadía con nosotros.
Le invitamos a que nos visite nuevamente, ya que será un verdadero placer tener la oportunidad de recibir su visita en una próxima ocasión.

Saludos cordiales,

Hotel Fernandina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

I continued to reassess my opinion of this dump in light of comments of others. Maybe there is another Fernandina in another galaxy. Consider these facts and draw your own conclusions. We (all 8 of us in 4 rooms) found the following: pubic hair on sheets; what appeared to be urine stains on blanket; no air conditioning; warm tap water in a pitcher in the rooms with no availability of bottled water, even to buy; black mold in the room and bathroom; some rooms so small only two single beds, at different directions, and 4 small suitcases were all it could accommodate, plus two people...i.e. no room to walk around each other; trash in the wastebasket; a general feeling of dirt and uncleanliness. No phones either. The courtyard is a joke. The "pool" and "spa" (if you are brave enough to use these facilities) occupy most of the space with the usual overgrowth of jungle like vegetation accompanied with soil and green vegetation encroaching everywhere. A dining room encased in the environs so dark and drab we found it unthinkable to eat in it. God only knows what the food would have been like. It took us about 3 minutes after reaching our rooms to decide that sleeping on the street would be a better choice, and removed ourselves to the Solymar: right on the water in the center of town with excellent service and nice rooms with air conditioning. TripAdvisor pizza restaurant across the street for edible food. For a few dollars difference it was going from a minus 10 to a 3+ star hotel. Parenthetically, each tour member has travelled extensively across, up and down this planet, and this dump qualifies as one hotel which in our opinion should not be considered. Finally, we have seldom found a hotel owner more hostile to guests as this woman (first she claimed to be the owner, then she said he is the daughter of the owner, then she said she was the owner). Hard to really know, and I don't care. I was just glad to be out of this dump. The three other reviewers seem awfully easy to please in light of our perceived experience. If you want a budget hotel, and we did not...we were "snookered" in, try the Grand Hotel 100 yards from the Solymar.

Room Tip: For a good room..........go to Solymar or the Grand Hotel, unless of course, you are a Bohemian back...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelFernandina2013, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Fernandina, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
On behalf of Fernandina Hotel, please accept my apology for your inconvenient.
I am certainly disappointed by the lack of cleanliness you experienced in your guest room. Your experience falls way below our standards.
We strive to ensure our patrons experience the best visits possible during their travels and we fell short of our goal this time.
As an apologize for your inconvenient let me offer you a free two-night stay. Before booking your next stay please contact me to info@hotelfernandinagalapagos.com so we can go above and beyond your expectations!
We hope you will see the improvement and enjoy your time with us in your next visit. Please feel free to contact me if you have any further questions or comments concerning your stay.

Thank you

Sincerely


Luis Ruiz
Hotel Fernandina.
.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muskego, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

WE spent a week in Puerto Ayora, and Hotel Fernandina. The courtyard is beautiful, and the office staff was very friendly! We were in room 13, tucked away from most of the rooms, but it was very large, clean and offered excellent internet access. The breakfast buffet was fresh and delicious every morning! The pool and hot tub are right across the street from the main lobby area, and the downtown area is a short three block walk! I would definitely return to the property!

Room Tip: Room #13 offers a good breeze through the windows, and great, uninterrupted internet service. There...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelFernandina2013, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Fernandina, responded to this review, August 16, 2014
Google Translation
Agradecemos su comentario, será un placer que se hospede con nosotros nuevamente.

Saludos.

Hotel Fernandina.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turin, Italy
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

The hotel is nice and well kept. It is also conveniently located: with a quick stroll one can reach the Darwin Center, a quiet beach, the fish market, and a lot of restaurants and shops in Puerto Ayora.

We have been given two rooms: both were big, airy and very clean, with a private bathroom and air conditioning.

Breakfast was rich, with a lot of choice.

We also had lunch and dinner several times in their small restaurant: food was freshly made and good.

All personnel was really kind and helpful.

We would happily go back to Fernandina in the future!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelFernandina2013, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Fernandina, responded to this review, August 16, 2014
Google Translation
Agradecemos su comentario, esperamos que en un futuro cercano se hospede con nosotros nuevamente.

Hotel Fernandina.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here 2 nights before our cruise. We had an enormous room on the top floor with a huge window for great fresh air. We were very comfortable. Breakfast was substantial and good. Staff were all friendly and helpful. I think people wouldn't complain about some irregularities if they remember where they are. Galapagos is remote and it is amazing that we are fortunate to visit it. We should all savor this wonderful place!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

We landed at Hotel Fernandina courtesy of the travel agency that arranged our one-week trip. We (family of four divided into two rooms) had a pleasant stay. Here's why.

Hotel Fernandina is a low-rise (two level) hotel on a quiet street, about 3 blocks from the "bustling downtown" of Puerto Ayora. We encountered two managers, one a friendly and accommodating man who spoke English and a less friendly woman who spoke only Spanish. The two levels of rooms open to a quaint central courtyard with a few tables that were a nice place to relax. The rooms were reasonably spacious, clean and nicely kept. The beds were unpleasantly firm with wafer thin pillows.

From our room, there was a short walk back to the water cooler for us to refill our water bottles. A water cooler on the second floor featured a hot-water feature with instant coffee and tea, a nice touch.

The breakfast area was bright, clean and friendly. The breakfast buffet itself was satisfying and included fresh fruit.

Looking at the other reviews, we had adequate hot water. There is free WiFi, but good luck doing anything other than email. Skype was virtually impossible to use due to poor bandwith. If you plan on getting anything meaningful done requiring the internet, there are cybercafes within a 10-15 minute walk that are pretty inexpensive.

The walk to the "downtown" took about 5-10 minutes, as was the walk to the Darwin Center.

By no means is this a high-end motel, but it was clean, nicely located and had a relaxing feel. We left satisfied.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Fernandina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fernandina

Address: 18 de Febrero & Seymour Street, Puerto Ayora, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Galapagos Islands > Santa Cruz > Puerto Ayora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Puerto Ayora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Fernandina 2.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Fernandina is a warm and welcoming place where you can stay either alone, with family or friends and enjoy your visit to the Galapagos Islands, allowing us to provide you an excellent service as you deserve. We offer 22 rooms with air conditioning, private bathroom, hot water and WiFi. We are located in a very quiet residential area just 10 minutes from the Charles Darwin Station and few minutes from the main attractions of the town. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Fernandina Hotel Puerto Ayora
Hotel Fernandina Galapagos Islands/Puerto Ayora, Santa Cruz

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Fernandina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.