We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Problems solved” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Solymar

Save Saved
You added Hotel Solymar to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Solymar
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ave. Charles Darwin | Thomas de Berlanga, Puerto Ayora 00000, Ecuador   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Puerto Ayora
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Problems solved”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Stayed at the Solymar for 4 nights from March to April 2013. Hotel is split with one part facing the pool, bar area and sea front and the other part across the road facing the street. Like many people in Puerto Ayora, my wife and I were staying in the town to go on dive trips in the surrounding area.

We had booked a room with a sea view, but found that includes the rooms on the far side of the street from which we couldn't see the sea at all. Room was clean and pleasant, however on the first night (a Saturday) we found that the noise from the street was very loud and woke us serveral times, which was not ideal since we needed to be up early for diving. We commented to the reception staff in the morning and with no fuss were moved at our convenience to the rooms actually facing the sea and bar area which are far quieter and also have balconies. Staff were also very helpful in booking a restuarant for us.

Lastly I should mention the buffet breakfast which was included and excellent.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    77
    30
    12
    10
See reviews for
59
126
18
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

This hotel seems to cater to families. We were given a room on the first floor of the main building. Great except the room looks onto the pool/restaurant/bar area. Not an ideal location if you're looking for peace and quiet in your room during the day. At night, it is impossible to sleep with the noise from the bar/restaurant area.

The rooms are as described - small, functional, nothing special. Our room had JUST been cleaned before we checked in. There was a strong odor of chemicals from either a cleaning fluid or bug spray that lasted several hours. It wasn't enough of a problem to advise the front desk, but it was bothersome.

The staff is very friendly, professional and courteous.

It's an OK place to stay if you're laying over for just a night, but there's no way we would stay here for longer. The main reason is the amount we are paying - $295/night including taxes. In my experience (134 countries and counting) I would be happy paying $125/night max.

If you are traveling with kids, this might be a good option, however, experienced travelers looking for a more luxurious experience should steer clear.

Room Tip: If you don't think you'll mind noise from the pool/restaurant/bar, stay in the main building...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelSolymar, Owner at Hotel Solymar, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear FlySeeFly,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

Since your stay we have changed our cleaning products, as several other guests commented on the strong smell that they brought to the room. Also the pool and jacuzzi have been limited to only hotel guest use after 4:30 pm, to avoid noise, our hotel guests can enjoy exclusive use of the pool and jacuzzi until 10:00pm.

We are delighted to hear that you found our staff courteous and professional, we strive to maintain that theme throughout our hotel. We understand that our prices are considered high by South American standards, but Galapagos is a bit like Hawaii in that each item in the hotel from the liquors, to the towels, and chairs are brought from the mainland and the transportation increases the price of each item, which in turn adds to the cost of our rooms.

Your comments are important to us and help us to improve the quality of our guests' experience.

Sincerely,

Allison de Perez
Social Marketing and Reservations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Our family (2 adults, 2 kids ages 8 & 10) spent 5 days at Solymar. Amazing experience! The hotel pool is a perfect antidote to a long day of activities. Big cervezas for the parents while kids frolicked in the pool, alongside the resident sea lion. A huge hit. David at the front desk was an incredible resource, with excellent tips on activities. Tortuga Bay is a must, the Tortoise Preserve in the highlands, daily boat trips (we booked through Moonrise Travel-- the Islas Playas was a fantastic deal at $80pp for the entire day). Loved Il Giardino restaurant, delicious ceviche, pastas and salads. Rooms were very clean, comfortable and basic. We barely spent time indoors. The pool, bar/restaurant, friendly staff, and location for walking around town makes this hotel a wonderful choice. A few tips to save money-- you do not need an airport transfer. Simply take the bus from the airport to the ferry (bus is free, ferry is less than $1pp), then catch a taxi on the other side to Solymar. The taxi ride is about $20 in total, while airport transfer booked through the hotel is closer to $25 per person. Big savings if you are traveling as a family. Also, shop around for boat tours. Lots of agencies in town and the rates vary widely, even for the exact same trip. Lonely Planet has a good list of reputable agencies.

Room Tip: We chose ocean front room on 2nd floor. Good breeze, nice view. Avoid the rooms over the kitchen a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, Michigan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

The Good: Beautiful convenient location. Excellent breakfast.
The Bad: No hot water in entire building for several hours (right when we needed it most to take a shower), neighbor’s dogs barked much of the night, no TV.
The Ugly: We had booked 5 days of hotel and tours with Hotel Solymar. After the first night, my mother went into renal failure and we had to return immediately to the U.S. She died several days later. Hotel Solymar refused to refund nearly $1550 for 4 days of cancelled hotel and tour charges even in the case of immediate family death (with obituary and death certificate provided).

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelSolymar, Owner at Hotel Solymar, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear WorldTraveler48116,

Our sincerest condolensces to you and your family for your loss.

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our privileged location overlooking Pelican Bay and our chef will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed our oceanside breakfast buffet.

We were glad to be able to refund part of your stay, our apologies that a full refund could not be made. This was due to several factors, 22% taxe that must be paid to the state for any reservation made, commissions paid to third party booking partners and the cancelled tours which are provided by a third party in Santa Cruz.

Warmest regards to you and yours this Easter.

Sincerely,

Allison de Perez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Just back from a night here with my friend (both professionals from NYC, mid-30's) and we stayed in the Isla De Sol rooms at Hotel Solymar and LOVED it. Unsure how anyone could write a negative review. Location is great, the manager Julian and his wife couldn't have been nicer or more helpful - suggested we see Tortuga bay, had lunches packed for us and even gave us umbrella's to help with the glaring sun. We actually preferred the Isla De Sol rooms as they are brand new and super modern (and who is coming to the Galapagos to watch tv???). LOVED it, wish we could have spent more time there.

Room Tip: We like modern things so we preferred the Isla De Sol rooms. Not as good a view but who sits in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelSolymar, Owner at Hotel Solymar, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear globalcitizen77,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

We are so delighted that you enjoyed your stay. We are a huge fans of Tortuga Bay and love spending the day there with our daughter. It is so much nicer when you can take a lunch and don't have to worry about heading back to town when its lunch time.

It was so nice hearing your feedback, we are glad to been a part of your Galapagos experience!

Sincerely,

Allison de Perez
Social Media - Reservations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bury
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

We stayed at this hotel before and after our cruise and it was a brilliant place to prepare and then relax after a hectic week’s cruising the islands. The initial reception from all of the staff was both very friendly and helpful, and the warm welcoming sea loin at the base of the steps made our first encounter a treat.
The rooms are both large and bright, and the spectacular views over the bay from the balcony take your breath away.
A marvellous place to begin and end a holiday of a live time.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

I recently spent a few days in the Galapagos (January 2013). It was a last minute trip, and I traveled by myself... not exactly business, and definitely not a family trip or couple's retreat. Mostly what I was looking to do was sit by the pool or ocean, and just relax. Think. Write. Reflect.

Solymar was a great place to do that. It's a completely different experience to be swimming in a pool and have a sea lion waddle out of the ocean and take a dip with you. Beautiful views, friendly staff, comfortable beds, air conditioned rooms, and peaceful setting.

On that note, I have to say... I really don't understand the reviews where people blast this hotel because the Internet is slow, or that they don't have TV. Dude. you're in the Galapagos. Go enjoy life. You can watch the Jersey Shore some other time.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Solymar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Solymar

Address: Ave. Charles Darwin | Thomas de Berlanga, Puerto Ayora 00000, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Galapagos Islands > Santa Cruz > Puerto Ayora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Puerto Ayora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Solymar 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thank you for your interest in Hotel Solymar and our New Extension Isla Sol, located 10 steps from the entrance of Hotel Solymar. We are centrally located in Puerto Ayora’s mainstreet, with ocean access, and a beautiful patio for your guests to enjoy the nature that is Galapagos. Galapagos' only Galapagueño owned and operated first class hotel. Our father, a Galapagos tourism pioneer and legend, Jimmy Perez, opened the hotel in 1960 with eight rooms. It was later completely renovated in 2007 to bring the capacity to 17 rooms with ocean front views.In Hotel Solymar we have 17 rooms equipped with LED flat screen TVs, minibars, air conditioning, hot water, private balconies which allow our guests to appreciate a spectacular ocean view. Guests may enjoy a our jacuzzi, pool, and bar in our open air patio area or enjoy a more formal setting in our dining room, all while experiencing the service of our ultra attentive staff.August of this year, we inaugurated Isla Sol by Hotel Solymar; a new building with 14 modern rooms (6 exterior view – 8 interior view). Isla Sol with meeting space for up to 120 people, ideal for hosting any type of event in Galapagos.As former guides, we know our Islands intimately and can assist our guests with their travel plans, whether your desires be to kayak with sea lions or hike through the highlands to encounter the famous giant tortoises.Our staff speaks English, Spanish and Hebrew. We hail from Galapagos, Columbia, mainland Ecuador, Israel and United States. With our diverse international staff we are proud to provide a level of hospitality and guest service that keeps guests returning year after year.We look forward to welcoming you soon at Hotel Solymar - Galapagos! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Tingo, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Hotel Solymar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Solymar Hotel Puerto Ayora
Hotel Solymar Galapagos Islands/Puerto Ayora, Santa Cruz

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Solymar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.