We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great budget class hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Red Booby

Save Saved
You added Hotel Red Booby to your Saves list
Hotel Red Booby
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Red Booby
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida Plazas y Charles Binford | Isla Santa Cruz, Puerto Ayora, Ecuador   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 13 hotels in Puerto Ayora
Ecuador
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great budget class hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

The Red Booby is a really nice hotel, it is family run and offers really good service. We stayed there with our 2 year old son and 9 year old daughter, we had a delightful time, we enjoyed the rooftop pool and the having the kitchen available to heat our baby bottles. The staff were very accommodating and the place was cleaned regularly. The location is ok.

It was great value for the price we paid, hotels in Galapagos are very expensive compared to other places around the world, therefore do expect a high price tag on basic properties.

The rooms are basic, they have AC and private bathrooms.

My only recommendation for the hotel would be to hire English speaking staff. We speak Spanish, yet other travelers did have a hard time communicating their needs.

It also has to do with managing expectations: Foam matresses not orthopedic but with good clean linen, basic quality bathroom amenities (nothing great), no lifeguard at the pool, breakfast was basic yet well prepared (bread, butter, jam, eggs, juice and coffee - nothing gourmet). We cant complain, the price we paid was good for the Galapagos Islands.

Room Tip: The rooms on the upper floors are nice and allow an easier access to the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    5
    20
    17
    6
    3
See reviews for
9
19
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tustin, California
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

The location of this hotel is pretty ideal. Walking distance to the pier where you can catch a water taxi ($0.60/person daytime or $1.00/person night time) to the nearby Angermeyer island for an afternoon cocktail and beach stroll. Sadly, that's the only positive point I have for this hotel.

A pungent odor welcomed us as we entered our room. It smelled like you are living in a closet filled with moth balls. We tried to deal with the smell by blasting the air conditioning, which helped a little bit. Our local guide suggested that we do not shower at this hotel (as well as many cheaper hotels in Galapagos) because of "bad water" so we followed her tip. They have filtered water outside so definitely a smart idea to brush your teeth with that water. We were assigned a room on the first floor, facing the main street. Around midnight, the power went out so the air conditioning as well as our white noise making machine went out. The longest night followed... Without A/C, we were drowning in the stench...literally suffocating. Without the white noise, we could hear drunk locals screaming outside as well as lots of cars and trucks that passed by. It sounded like we were sleeping outside!

Oh, and I guess the receptionist failed to mention to us that there's supposed to be complimentary breakfast for our booking. I had the worst sleep so far in my life at this hotel...never would I return!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yonkers, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

My stay in the Galapagos Islands at the Red Booby Hotel was absolutely wonderful! The staff at this location were very friendly and helpful with anything we needed. The breakfst offered was very good as well. The room itself was very clean, well organized and spacious. AC was working well, no problem with the lights going out (as I heard that lights go off from time to time). Staff spoke both English an Spanish. Would defintely stay again.

Room Tip: We stayed on the second floor, facing a pharmacy and small store. It wasn't very loud. However w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, OH
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

We stayed at the Red Booby for 5 nights in January. The location is superb -within walking distance to all the shops and restaurants in Puerto Arroyo and just a couple blocks from the waterfront/docks. The room was plenty large with a table/chairs and storage area for clothes. Everything was neat and clean. Loved the roof top pool! Probably not somewhere I would want to stay for multiple weeks, but for a vacation it's just right. My husband and I aren't fans of cruises so we opted to stay here and take day-trips to the other islands. We booked through latinescapes.com and everything went very smoothly -we always knew where we were supposed to be, at what time, and what was appropriate to bring. Overall a great trip!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Canada
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

Our family recently stayed at the Red Booby for 1 night on our Galapagos Adventure. The hotel is in a great location (although all is close in Puerto Ayora). The rooms were clean, plenty of hot water for showering, air conditioner worked well. We stayed on the first floor. A little noisy in the morning with guests coming down, gathering around the reception. It would be best to have a room on the second or third floor. There was free wifi and breakfast in the morning. We didn't go to the Galapagos for first class accommodation, or to have lots of amenities. Just looking for a clean, quite and reasonable priced hotel. We were not disappointed.

Room Tip: Choose 2nd or 3rd floor rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baltimore
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

Clean and roomy. Right across the hotel there is a bar that can be loud late at night. The town is very small, so any location is close to the harbor. Nobody in the hotel speaks any English, but this is the case for any hotel of this class.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Catharines, Canada
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

As someone else mentioned, this place is clean, neat, close to where you need to be, breakfast was nice enough, - it'll do the job.

Beds were too hard for me, but every place I stayed in Ecuador (5) except one had too hard beds.

Our room was on the second floor and the view across the street was of a nice tangle of wires and concrete. But didn't really matter. Ah yes, the curtains didn't keep th eligh tout enough in the morning.

But like I said, good enough. Pool on the roof had an amazing bird on the wall! (pic attached)

Room Tip: someone else said third floor - sounds like a good idea I guess.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Red Booby? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Red Booby

Address: Avenida Plazas y Charles Binford | Isla Santa Cruz, Puerto Ayora, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Galapagos Islands > Santa Cruz > Puerto Ayora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 13 hotels in Puerto Ayora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Red Booby 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Red Booby reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Booby Hotel
Hotel Red Booby Galapagos Islands/Puerto Ayora, Santa Cruz

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Red Booby, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.