We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 star treatment!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Red Mangrove Aventura Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Red Mangrove Aventura Lodge to your Saves list
Red Mangrove Aventura Lodge
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida Charles Darwin, Puerto Ayora, Ecuador   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Puerto Ayora
las vegas
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“5 star treatment!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Stay here! We were treated like royalty! The staff went above and beyond to ensure that we had the best time. The room was gorgeous, a beautiful view of ocean! The food was outstanding (have the Chicken teriyaki and fried ice cream....outstanding!). It is surreal to have your breakfast with seals and lizards lounging near your table! The hotel is very close to the Charles Darwin center, and town. They have bikes that you can take for the day. It was wonderful! We did several excursions that the hotel graciously arranged for us.William was on most of our tours, and he went out of his way to make sure we had the best time. My husband wanted to dive at Gordon's Rock, and when it didn't seem to be possible, they made sure that it happened. Elizabeth was so professional and courteous. She treated us like rock stars. The Red Mangrove should be proud to have such a fabulous employee. If we had questions or concerns, she answered everyone of them quickly and with a smile. She made our trip the best ever. If you are considering visiting the Galapagos, stay here. We can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sucorodas, Gerente at Red Mangrove Aventura Lodge, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear Tracy,

It was really a pleasure to meet you and your husband, and reading your feedback encourage us to keep working with the same passion every day.

We hope to see you once again in a near future.

Warm Regards
Elizabeth Mori
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

419 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    273
    99
    22
    18
    7
See reviews for
103
176
41
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
USA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

We did the 5 night six day package with 3 nights on Isabella and two nights in Puerto Ayora. We booked through Row Adventures.

Buffet meals were great. Lots of local fruit juices and good selection of local dishes with American style foods. Rooms were nice. Loved the beach location on Isabella. Food was a little better at the Adventura Lodge. The highlight of the trip was the day trip at Las tunnels.

Downsides of the trip were lots of traveling. Activity locations on Santa Cruz are spread out. Airport and Kayaking are 1 1/2 hours from town, so lots of time on the shuttle van. Also the trip between the Islands was rough and takes close to three hours, so we chartered a plane for the return, rather than spending the rest of the day seasick. We traveled in June and there was quite a bit of rain, so we couldn't see much on the hike to the volcano. (Temperatures we very pleasant though.)

We really appreciated the little cake for our son on his birthday and the escort back to the airport by Raphael. (He even found my hat I left in the van.)

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sucorodas, Gerente at Red Mangrove Aventura Lodge, responded to this review, July 6, 2014
Dear Mr. Moody

As part of the this great team, I want to thak you for taking the time to comment about us on Trip Advisor. It also help us to find out things that we need to improve.

Sincerely,
Red Mangrove Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

We visited the hotel while we were staying at Puerto Ayora and the hotel offered us a great deal (1/2 price) for a room! The rooms are very nice, spacious, well decorated. The staff is very helpful too. They have free bikes that you can borrow for the day.
Definitely a great hotel compared to the other ones in Puerto Ayora

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sucorodas, Gerente at Red Mangrove Aventura Lodge, responded to this review, July 6, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experince on Trip Advisor, and as well to let us know about our service.

Sincerely
Red Mangrove Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annandale, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

The staff at Red Mangrove Aventura Lodge is accommodating, professional and very helpful. I have a food intolerance and that item was never on the buffet when I was present. The rooms are spacious and very comfortable. The first night our room was right off the deck by the water and we heard the sea lions waking up and playing. The other nights, after the trip to Isabela, were on the second level with a wonderful view of the port. We had a baby marine iguana stranded on our patio and the staff very cautiously directed the iguana up an improvised ramp without ever coming close to touching it. The respect for wildlife in Ecuador is impressive. We also like the location of Aventura - just off the beaten path of the main part of town. It is quiet. You can walk across the street to shops and a quiet bar, walk to a small beach and to the Darwin Institute. Aventura lodge provides free bikes for guests to explore the town.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sucorodas, Gerente at Red Mangrove Aventura Lodge, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear Guest,

It was really a pleasure to have you at our lodge. As part of this great team, I´d like to thank you to give us to opportunity to serve you.

We are proud and thankful to be part of the Enchanted Islands Galápagos.

We look forward to see you in a near future.

Sincerely,
Red Mangrove Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayampe, Manabi, Ecuador
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

I would like to thank the staff for a wonderful time at their hotel. They went above and beyond. The rooms were clean, the staff was friendly and very helpful. They definitely made our trip. I would recommend them to anyone.
The first night we stayed at their divers lodge and loved it. Unfortunately they were booked for the next night so we went to another island. They made the transition easy. They even let us ride on their boat to the next island.
We retuned and stayed the last night at their lodge. It was a beautiful room. Thank you for all your help.

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sucorodas, Gerente at Red Mangrove Aventura Lodge, responded to this review, July 5, 2014
Dear guest,

We appreciate your time to leave a comment on Trip Advisor, as we believe that a good customer service is the key to keep making tourism in the Enchanted Islands.

Sincerely,

Red Mangrove Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ny
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

From the time we decided to go to the Galapagos with our grand kids to our return home, we experienced nothing but cooperation and a helpful attitude. We stayed at the Adventure lodge on Santa Cruz in one of their 'quads' - the accommodations were great, prefect for two teenage boys (beds on platforms that didn't move). The activities kept us and the boys busy and tired by the end of the day- a good tired not exhaustion tired. All of the guides we had were well trained and knowledgeable. Food was good and plentiful; we all ate heartily. The boat trip to Isabela was a hoot-two hours at 22 knots - what a ride. Our group (all groups are) was small-our four plus a mother-daughter couple, we all had a great time. Our hosts were gracious and very accommodating. The one not-so-good experience was our trip to the coffee plantation, which the staff responded to before we returned to the Lodge. They were on top of this experience before we reported it. Kudos to the manager of the Red Mangrove. We would highly recommend The Red Mangrove Adventure lodge; the manager and her husband were gracious and accommodating hosts - they attended to our every need and want. .

Room Tip: our court yard was "wet" due to the humidity requiring regular- cleaning, which was done.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sucorodas, Gerente at Red Mangrove Aventura Lodge, responded to this review, July 5, 2014
Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure to have you at our lodges, as part of this wonderful team. I want to thank you to give us the opportunity to serve you .

We hope your feedback helps other passengers to consider our company as a good option to visit the Enchanted Islands.

Sincerely,

Red Mangrove Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

We booked the 7 night package through Travel Zoo and had an easy time communicating with Fernanda via email. She was able to answer all of my questions and everything we talked about was taken care of- we upgraded to the suites and I strongly suggest doing that. The suites are beautiful and the views out the windows are great. I also arranged for the Red Mangrove to take care of the transfers- they made it so easy and simple. We had tow great guides, Yazmany and David who took very good care of us and helped us to find all of the various animals that we wanted to see. The included activities were good but our favorites were the snorkeling ones. The included volcano walk was nice but extremely slippery and my husband fell 4 times but didn't hurt himself. I would like to swap this activity with more snorkeling or other things that we didn't have a chance to do. The food and service were excellent and such nice people. Our family enjoyed venturing off in town to walk, shop and try out different restaurants. We walked to Tortuga Bay and enjoyed seeing the beautiful beach. The Red Mangrove is a great place and we would like to visit there again someday. The only thing I can complain about is the mosquitos. There is stagnant water under the buildings and at night the mosquitos are out in full force. I don't know if it is possible to empty out the water that sits under the buildings but if so, it might help with the biting bugs-we didn't notice them in other areas of town. Elizabeth, the manager, is a great lady- so friendly and happy to help. We hope to return someday! One last tip- although the Red mangrove offers laundry services- the amount of laundry we needed to do would have cost us a fortune so we tried a cute little laundry spot walking distance from the hotel. Turn left on the street coming out of the hotel and then turn right on the first street walk up a minute or two and the laundry spot is on your left. The employees are very efficient and the laundry is charged by the weight. 4 good size bags cost us $20 including very muddy shoes. Super service and helpful people.

Room Tip: pay to upgrade to a suite... so worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sucorodas, Gerente at Red Mangrove Aventura Lodge, responded to this review, July 5, 2014
Dear Guest,

We want to thank you for such a good comment, it actually provides a brief information about our company. We work hard to provide one of the best services in the islands.

I hope we can be part once again or your vacations in the near future.

Sincerely.

Red Mangrove Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Red Mangrove Aventura Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Mangrove Aventura Lodge

Address: Avenida Charles Darwin, Puerto Ayora, Ecuador
Phone Number:
Location: Ecuador > Galapagos Islands > Santa Cruz > Puerto Ayora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Puerto Ayora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Red Mangrove Aventura Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Red Mangrove Aventura Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Mangrove Aventura Hotel Puerto Ayora
Hotel Red Mangrove Aventura
Red Mangrove Aventura Lodge Galapagos Islands/Puerto Ayora, Santa Cruz

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Mangrove Aventura Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.