We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great alternative to the boats for seeing the Galapagos” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Red Mangrove Aventura Lodge

Save Saved
You added Red Mangrove Aventura Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Red Mangrove Aventura Lodge
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida Charles Darwin, Puerto Ayora, Ecuador   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 13 hotels in Puerto Ayora
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great alternative to the boats for seeing the Galapagos”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Like most people we stayed here and at the Isabella Red Mangrove hotel and took one of Red Mangrove's land tours. We didn't go to Floreana. Other than feeling it was ultimately too short of a trip (because we were having a great time), we loved our trip.

Were there some hickups? Yep. Sometimes stuff like that happens. We stayed an extra night before the tour started and Red Mangrove didn't have us on the list to pickup. But, there was a Red Mangrove rep at the airport and it got sorted pretty easily. It wasn't a big deal at all. Also, on the last day we stayed the air conditioner broke. Again, no big deal. An air conditioner isn't even really needed here anyway. I was actually surprised to have one at all. Often there are fans and nothing more. I've seen some reviews where I'm not sure what people's expectations are, but you have to put some context around where you are and how things work and the actual challenges they face with running hotels and tours in any given location. Running a hotel in Galapagos faces a lot of challenges.

Anyway, the rooms were very nice. We were very happy with the cleanliness too. The food was average, but you didn't go hungry at all. Sometimes it was buffet, sometimes it was a la carte depending on how many guests the hotel had.

I loved the sea lions and marine iguanas that were always lounging on the decks during the day.... cheeky sea lions even lounged on the fancy lounge chairs.

The hotel had some free bikes you could use to get around the little town. We used them to go to Tortuga Bay on our free day... a really excellent beach nearby. Definitely worth it! You bike for 5 minutes. Leave the bikes and then do a 45 minute walk on a nice path to the beach. Locals surf at this beach. The beach itself is really pretty and a nice walk. If you walk another 15 minute down the beach there is a nice little swimming bay. This is a beach where sea turtles nest, so some times of the year you might see them. Not sure on that. But you do see lots of crabs, marine iguanas and sea birds.

Most of what makes a trip great is not the hotel though. It's the tours and the place you are. Red Mangrove does a fantastic job with their tours. For us, we had the same tour guide (Pablo Rivadeneira) the whole time and we thought he was great. Very knowledgable, good english, personable and easy to talk to, and kept things to schedule without being overly militaristic. He is from Galapagos as well, so it was nice to get a perspective on the people that live there and the challenges they face. I'm sure that Red Mangrove guides are all really good, but we would definitely recommend Pablo. He even took photos as well and shared them with us at the end of the trip. Not something I've had a tour guide ever do before. We've interacted with lots of tour guides from lots of travel now and Pablo is definitely one of my all time favorites.

As for the tour part itself it was loads of fun. The most in our group was 6 people and at one point there was only 4. So nice having a small group like that because you can really talk to the guide more and things just run so much more smoothly. You do need to have somewhat ok mobility to do this tour. You have to be able to get in and out of little boats... sometimes walking from one boat to another and there is hiking involved. Not to mention a big part of the tour is snorkelling off little boats too. And you kayak as well. You also need to love the outdoors and nature. This should go without saying, but sometimes I wonder when I see people on trips if they really knew what they were getting into.

I loved all of it! We got to snorkel with white tipped reef sharks, sea turtles, and sea lions. And these were not off in the distance at all. They were right there within touching distance. And Los Tunneles was so beautiful. Isabela island in particular is very beautiful. The Sierra Negra volcano hike was really interesting too. We got some great views and a really good feel of the landscape. I wish there had been more hikes. We were lucky that almost everyone in our group did the whole 18KM hike. We saw pretty much all that you'd expect to see in Galapagos... blue footed boobies, penguins, flamingos, iguanas, tortoises, etc. We didn't get to see the albatross on this tour because they aren't really on Santa Cruz or Isabella. But, that's not a big deal for us.

I really enjoyed the Galapagos. It's a unique environment for sure. Both beautiful and stark. I have a tendency to really enjoy starch environments and landscapes. The wildlife is very unique as well. I'd love to see more of it and we may return someday. We'd definitely be going with Red Mangrove again if we do.

The Isabela Lodge is very nice too and we didn't find the service or accommodation much different between the two lodges. It is smaller, so it's different that way. Internet access (which it is nice that they even have), was located in the restaurant and not private, but they also had wireless that you could use as long as you were close to the restaurant. There is indeed a rooster next door and some fairly ugly chickens (apparently they are just a particular breed). While someone complained about this aspect in one of the reviews, we loved it. We live in a city and rarely get to experience things like roosters crowing. You get up early for the tours anyway, so the fact that a rooster might be crowing in the morning shouldn't be a problem. I much prefer it to the dogs barking that I often have to listen to on a daily basis. The Isabela Lodge is on a nice walkable beach located right in the small town. Make sure to check out the iguana crossing down the road. Iguanas cross there end of day. It's fun to watch them.

Room Tip: We got an upgrade on our first couple of nights there to a room overlooking the water. This was a ve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

379 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    249
    91
    18
    15
    6
See reviews for
93
161
37
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Yucaipa, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Our naturalist guides Mauricio, Pablo, and David were very knowledgeable and helpful. You made our tours fun and exciting! Thank you for exceeding my expectations.
Your professionalism was greatly appreciated.
Sincerely,
Charlene Varela

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

You thought a trip to the Galapagos was the perfect way to celebrate my husbands 60th birthday and Red Mangrove proved to be the best choice. With quality accommodations, great food and extraordinary service. We booked a 6 night 7 day package that included Santa Cruz, Florena and Isabelle islands. We substituted a day trip (for our dive package) and went to Seymore island as well - definitely one of the highlights with blue footed boobies and frigate birds just feet off our path and undistracted by our presence.
We stayed 2 and 3 nights on Isabella and Santa Cruz respectively and recommend the one night on Floreana as the accommodations there are much more modest- although we had our best encounters with wild life there on our afternoon snorkel and enjoyed hiking to the pirate caves.
Our rooms and beds were extraordinarily comfortable. The food was very good and the service friendly and accommodating. The guides varied in knowledge but, were all professional naturalists.
We highly recommend Red Mangrove Lodges as a way to experience the islands with package that they will build to suite your interests and length of stay.

Room Tip: All rooms slept 3, so for a couple we enjoyed the extra space and ability to spread out never feelin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

We travelled to Galapagos for the 8 days Full Adventure trip, and it was absolutely wonderful!
The start was a bit hasty with not enough time for us to have lunch before we went on the first excursion, but it did not matter. We had an excellent guide in Juan Carlos. And praise to Red Mangrove for giving us one guide for the entire week. That was perfect! He was very knowlegable and also very easy going, something that suited our group of 6 people perfectly. The Adventura lodge was wonderful with a seafront location, nice rooms with a nice bathroom, air conditioning, safety deposit box and the occational lizzard friend:) The food buffet had a lot of different choices which was good for me that is intolerant to some types of food. Unfortunately, the food was cold most of the time, but still tasty. Having breakfast you must be prepared to share the dining area with sea lions, marine iguanas, pelicans and an armada of sally lightfoot crabs. It is really quite exciting!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

My girlfriend and I decided to visit Ecuador, but only had two weeks. We wanted to visit a few other places as well, but we had to see the Galapagos. We decided we had 5 days - so at the last minute we found the Red Mangrove Aventura Lodge. We decided to do one of the Darwins Triangles trips, for 5 days.

It was an amazing idea. First of all, the main Aventura lodge is fantastic. Great rooms, great people, great location, and great food. We at lunch on the deck by the ocean every morning accompanied by sea lions, iguanas & finches.

The trip involved staying at Aventura locations on two other islands, which were equally awesome, but extremely unique. We experienced exiting things, lots of animals, turtles, and activities on each of the islands.

I would highly recommend both the lodge and the trip. Especially if you only have 5-8 days, and/or don't want to sleep on a ship.

Room Tip: Main lodge is best in Santa Cruz.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sucorodas, Manager at Red Mangrove Aventura Lodge, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Dear Cheryl,

Thank you very much for your post, and we are very happy to find out you enjoyed our services.

Let us know please if you ever need our assistance.

Sincerely,
Red Mangrove Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

We were greeted and looked after by the best guides we have ever come across, who were friendly, exceptionally knowledgeable and informative and really looked after us well. The setting is great with wildlife sharing the lounge with us, and located adjacent to the Darwin center. A great way to see some of the Galapagos.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Viera, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

We booked the Darwin's Footprints, Santa Cruz and Isabela islands. We absolutely loved the Aventura Lodge (not so much the Isabela lodge, see separate review). We were greeted right away with smiling faces and very friendly staff which most spoke some English. We had Mangrove rooms that were very nice & clean. This hotel is on the water and has a awesome view, as well as sea lions, sally lightfoot crabs and iguanas all over the place. We loved sitting at the tables by the water and drinking blackberry daiquiri's YUMMM!!.

Our guide was Carlos and he was awesome, very knowledgeable and friendly. I love that they assign you the same guide throughout your trip. As much as I loved the tours on Isabela, I really could have stayed at the Aventura lodge the whole trip. Food was great, always had cold drinks and cold bottled water. Juices were very good. Free WiFi and right in town, we walked to the fish market to watch the antics. Definitely worth it.

This hotel met my expectations in every way and I just loved everything about it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Red Mangrove Aventura Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Mangrove Aventura Lodge

Address: Avenida Charles Darwin, Puerto Ayora, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Galapagos Islands > Santa Cruz > Puerto Ayora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 hotels in Puerto Ayora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Red Mangrove Aventura Lodge 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Red Mangrove Aventura Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Mangrove Aventura Hotel Puerto Ayora
Hotel Red Mangrove Aventura
Red Mangrove Aventura Lodge Galapagos Islands/Puerto Ayora, Santa Cruz

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Mangrove Aventura Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.