We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Red Mangrove Aventura Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Red Mangrove Aventura Lodge to your Saves list
Red Mangrove Aventura Lodge
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida Charles Darwin, Puerto Ayora, Ecuador   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Puerto Ayora
Oslo, Norway
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful place!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

We travelled to Galapagos for the 8 days Full Adventure trip, and it was absolutely wonderful!
The start was a bit hasty with not enough time for us to have lunch before we went on the first excursion, but it did not matter. We had an excellent guide in Juan Carlos. And praise to Red Mangrove for giving us one guide for the entire week. That was perfect! He was very knowlegable and also very easy going, something that suited our group of 6 people perfectly. The Adventura lodge was wonderful with a seafront location, nice rooms with a nice bathroom, air conditioning, safety deposit box and the occational lizzard friend:) The food buffet had a lot of different choices which was good for me that is intolerant to some types of food. Unfortunately, the food was cold most of the time, but still tasty. Having breakfast you must be prepared to share the dining area with sea lions, marine iguanas, pelicans and an armada of sally lightfoot crabs. It is really quite exciting!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

403 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    260
    97
    22
    18
    6
See reviews for
99
173
39
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

My girlfriend and I decided to visit Ecuador, but only had two weeks. We wanted to visit a few other places as well, but we had to see the Galapagos. We decided we had 5 days - so at the last minute we found the Red Mangrove Aventura Lodge. We decided to do one of the Darwins Triangles trips, for 5 days.

It was an amazing idea. First of all, the main Aventura lodge is fantastic. Great rooms, great people, great location, and great food. We at lunch on the deck by the ocean every morning accompanied by sea lions, iguanas & finches.

The trip involved staying at Aventura locations on two other islands, which were equally awesome, but extremely unique. We experienced exiting things, lots of animals, turtles, and activities on each of the islands.

I would highly recommend both the lodge and the trip. Especially if you only have 5-8 days, and/or don't want to sleep on a ship.

Room Tip: Main lodge is best in Santa Cruz.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sucorodas, Manager at Red Mangrove Aventura Lodge, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Dear Cheryl,

Thank you very much for your post, and we are very happy to find out you enjoyed our services.

Let us know please if you ever need our assistance.

Sincerely,
Red Mangrove Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

We were greeted and looked after by the best guides we have ever come across, who were friendly, exceptionally knowledgeable and informative and really looked after us well. The setting is great with wildlife sharing the lounge with us, and located adjacent to the Darwin center. A great way to see some of the Galapagos.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockledge, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

We booked the Darwin's Footprints, Santa Cruz and Isabela islands. We absolutely loved the Aventura Lodge (not so much the Isabela lodge, see separate review). We were greeted right away with smiling faces and very friendly staff which most spoke some English. We had Mangrove rooms that were very nice & clean. This hotel is on the water and has a awesome view, as well as sea lions, sally lightfoot crabs and iguanas all over the place. We loved sitting at the tables by the water and drinking blackberry daiquiri's YUMMM!!.

Our guide was Carlos and he was awesome, very knowledgeable and friendly. I love that they assign you the same guide throughout your trip. As much as I loved the tours on Isabela, I really could have stayed at the Aventura lodge the whole trip. Food was great, always had cold drinks and cold bottled water. Juices were very good. Free WiFi and right in town, we walked to the fish market to watch the antics. Definitely worth it.

This hotel met my expectations in every way and I just loved everything about it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ancaster, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Unique!
Hotels, location, food and especially the guide, MariaElena Aviles, all were excellent!
I will return in few years!
If you go in the rain season, do not forget a raincoat, windbreak jacket and hiking shoes.
Sunscreen and insect repellant are mandatory:)

Room Tip: I did not have any complaints.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Just returned from a 6-day trip to Galapagos where I stayed with the Red Mangrove on both Santa Cruz (3 nights) and Isabela (2 nights). Overall I was extremely pleased with the hotel and I highly recommend it.
Its key strengths (for both SC and Isabela) are:
1. Service is excellent: very polite and helpful staff, always there to help
2. The hotel and rooms are very clean and well maintained
3. The setting is beautiful and quiet (the Isabela location is particularly amazing, right on the beach), yet the center of town is 5 min away

On the tour / "adventure" front, in Santa Cruz I recommend not to depend exclusively on the hotel but also to book daily tours to nearby islands (e.g. North Seymour) through other operators - the hotel can direct you to the best operators - and to do things on your own (e.g. Tortuga Bay).

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

The hotel was at the seaside. The first night, I stayed in a room next to the sea. I could hear the soft sound of waves. When I returned after a few days, I stayed in a family room with a little private "garden". Both rooms were very neat and clean. I was told that bugs were everywhere in Galapagos but I didn't see any in the room. The air-conditioning was adequate and in-room wifi worked well. The shower was not very hot but it was understandable for a place like Galapagos. The restaurant served very good food and fresh juice. I have a sensitive stomach but didn't get sick after having like 6 meals there. The patio at the restaurant was a natural theatre for wildlife show. I saw a deal trying to climb up a speedboat, iguana sunbathing, colorful crabs walking around......the hotel was close to shops. Just walk out and start shopping along the street!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Red Mangrove Aventura Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Mangrove Aventura Lodge

Address: Avenida Charles Darwin, Puerto Ayora, Ecuador
Phone Number:
Location: Ecuador > Galapagos Islands > Santa Cruz > Puerto Ayora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Puerto Ayora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Red Mangrove Aventura Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Despegar.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere and Tingo so you can book your Red Mangrove Aventura Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Mangrove Aventura Hotel Puerto Ayora
Hotel Red Mangrove Aventura
Red Mangrove Aventura Lodge Galapagos Islands/Puerto Ayora, Santa Cruz

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Mangrove Aventura Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.