We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting location....good food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Finch Bay Eco Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Finch Bay Eco Hotel to your Saves list
Finch Bay Eco Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Barrio Punta Estrada, Puerto Ayora, Ecuador   |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Puerto Ayora
Toronto
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
“Interesting location....good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

To get to this hotel you need to take a water taxi. The hotel has two of these. They have a distinctive green awning and the hotel name is on the side of the boat. They are available hourly. If you do not want to wait, there are many other water taxis available.....60 cents for day trip, $1.00 for evening trip per person.
When you disembark, there is a few steps up to the landing.
Then you have a walk of approx. 8 - 10 minutes to the hotel.
Your luggage is taken care of by hotel staff so you do not have to pull it along behind you....at least we did not have to worry about that.
The pool is very nice but warm.
There is a sandy public beach adjacent to the hotel....not much shade though on the beach.
Breakfast at the hotel was pretty standard...good service. Always two kinds of fresh juice and crisp bacon.
Lunch and dinner menu had a good variety of items. This hotel is very keen on meal presentation and cutlery is constantly changing. The food was excellent. Vegetables were often sparse but all one had to do was ask for vegetables and a good sized dish of them appeared. Appreciated this. And the service was usually very good unless you were with a large group ie 15 and then it slowed considerably.
Rooms were standard. Yummy chocolates each night at bedside.
Only one hook in the bathroom right over the T paper so watch what you hang there....nothing wet!
Bathroom mat was too small and floor tended to be slippery as a result.
Expect a bit of sand in the room from the pathways....but they sweep 2x day.
A pleasant place to spend your evenings after day trips.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

587 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    423
    122
    30
    6
    6
See reviews for
165
264
36
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Morristown, Tennessee
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

If you've ever thought about going to the Galápagos Islands-do it!! Be sure you stay at Finch Bay Eco Hotel!! The daily excursions were awesome! The food at Finch Bay was simply delicious! The staff was there to tend to every need! Our main guide Mario was so knowledgeable about the Islands and made sure everyone was enjoying each day!
A super vacation !!

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I found this hotel through Trip Advisor...I was looking for a land-based hotel for Galapagos that had day excursions out to other island for snorkeling. We only had 5 days as an add-on to a trip to Ecuador. The staff was very helpful in customizing an all-inclusive trip that fit our schedule. There was someone to meet us at the airport and we had a great time including creative and delicious meals, fun snorkeling excursions including wondering lunches on the yachts, visits to other islands to see wildlife, a visit to see tortoises in the wild, comfortable hotel accommodations. Mario was a wonderful guide, and we had such a great time. The day we left, hotel staff got us safely back to the airport for our flight.
Only negative was that in all my research I didn't realize that when you arrive at the airport and go through customs there is a $100 per person CASH payment required as an entrance fee to Galapagos as it's something like 98% national park. I didn't have the $400 cash needed so I paid for my 3 children and they kept my passport. Back at the hotel, they let me charge my credit card and get cash; someone from the hotel then took the $100 cash the next day and went to the national park office and picked up my passport

Room Tip: we had a room for 4 (two double beds but also used a roll away bed) w/ water view & balcony w/ h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church, Virginia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Stayed 2 nights after researching options on Santa Cruz Island. Very happy with my choice. Hotel was in a nice area away from town (quick boat ride to Finch Bay). My room was small but cozy & comfortable with good working A/C and a nice bathroom. Food was very good--had dinners & breakfasts there as it was included in my package. Pool & beach were nice. Staff was very helpful & friendly. Highly recommend this modern hotel in a quiet bay area!

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We didn't stay at this hotel but always came to use their pool and to eat lunch. It is located a short taxi boat ride from Puerto Ayora, it has a gorgeous pool, great ocean view and the loveliest atmosphere. Their food is awesome! We loved it. We would consider actually staying there next time we visit.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We spent 3 nights here in Room 19, paid the cheaper price for a non-sea view room but ended up with a side sea view by virtue of being on the end of a row - perfect! Rooms were spacious with good air conditioning (much needed as Galápagos was extremely hot and humid!). Liked the touch of always having fresh water replenished in room. Pool and beach areas are immaculate and great for relaxing after a long day out. The food at Finch Bay was delicious, I had one of my best meals of our trip when I had the macadamia nut crusted fish one night. The bar tender Jorge was lovely and we even introduced him to espresso martinis which he was happy to make for us. If I am ever lucky enough to return to Galápagos I would love to stay at Finch Bay again!

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laughlin, Nevada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed at this hotel during an organized Galapagos tour so it was picked for us by the company. Excellent choice! I don't know about all of the rooms but the ones I could see all had nice porches with 2 chairs and a table for relaxing and a hammock that could be strung up for lounging. The room itself was spacious with plenty of closet space, a nice desk and a decent bathroom. The breakfast buffet was great with a good variety and the best juices I've ever tasted. I don't know if everyone had the set menu for dinner with only a choice of 2 entrees but we did and it was fine for me. I could see though how the portions would be too small for some. The staff was friendly, helpful and wonderful especially Cesar in the dining room and Pepe at the bar. I especially liked the reusable water bottles in the rooms that could be used everyday and filled with ice water at the bar before heading out. The hotel is rather isolated from town. One can either use the hotels boat (free) or a water taxi ($.60) to get across the bay to go into town. I did both and it was certainly fine. The pool is glorious and the beach in front of the hotel is nice as well although it can get crowded in the afternoons. The grounds of the hotel are gorgeous and very clean (the whole place was clean) and so nice to wander around in the evenings. We went out 2 days on the Sea Lion as part of our tour but I think it's the same boat the hotel uses for day excursions as there were some not with our group but from the hotel on board. That could not have been better! The staff on the boat was wonderful. I was impressed with the amazing lunch they put together. The only reason I rated this hotel as "very good" and not "excellent" was the location (some might see it as a drawback) and the lack of dining options. I would absolutely stay there again!

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Finch Bay Eco Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Finch Bay Eco Hotel

Address: Barrio Punta Estrada, Puerto Ayora, Ecuador
Phone Number:
Location: Ecuador > Galapagos Islands > Santa Cruz > Puerto Ayora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Puerto Ayora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Finch Bay Eco Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award-winning hotel enjoys a peaceful and magical beachfront location in Puerto Ayora, on Santa Cruz Island. The 21 Garden View-room and 6 Ocean View suite hotel makes the ideal base for exploring the natural diversity and attractions of the island – including Tortuga Bay beach – and for taking day-trips to nearby islands, aboard its own, specialized yachts. The hotel also implements best practices in sustainable tourism. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Finch Bay Eco Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Finch Bay Eco
Finch Bay Eco Puerto Ayora
Finch Bay Eco Hotel Galapagos Islands/Puerto Ayora, Santa Cruz

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Finch Bay Eco Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.