We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Serene and lovely” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Finch Bay Eco Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Finch Bay Eco Hotel to your Saves list
Finch Bay Eco Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Barrio Punta Estrada, Puerto Ayora, Ecuador   |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off room rate
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Puerto Ayora
Essex Fells
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Serene and lovely”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

This hotel is a charming hideaway where you are a part of nature. The food was excellent, and the staff was friendly and helpful. In fact, I dropped a necklace into the sink, and they managed to get it out and return it to me. Our daily trips were great fun as well, seeing the flora and fauna and snorkeling at different places.
I would love to go back again.

Room Tip: There are only a small number of rooms. Perhaps pick one with view of ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

525 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    376
    114
    24
    4
    7
See reviews for
148
236
30
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013 via mobile

What a wonderful place. Nice rooms: no TV, radio, clock - get away from it all. Food very good, but if you're allergic to shellfish it accompanies many dishes w/o being listed on menu. Ask. Nature guides great.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lymington, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

This hotel is heavenly. It's calm and peaceful. The staff are extremely helpful and the food is lovely.

Even though you have to get to the hotel by boat, it is very pain free and the hotel staff help with the bags.

Well worth a visit

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

We had our wedding ceremony here at the Finch Bay Eco Hotel. The experience was excellently pleasant and positive from the beginning to the end. The manager Carlos was exceptionally professional and helped us out a lot -he also "hosted" our simple little ceremony (not a legal marriage) and he did a wonderful job :-) The hotel itself is beautiful, and (importantly) serves marvelous food!!!!! Its swimming pool attracts a variety of birds throughout the day - we hung out with a pelican, heron and a couple of ducks by the pool while we stayed. Thank you Carlos and everyone else (who was all very friendly) at Finch Bay for making our stay very special. Saludos! Kari y Paul

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

we travelled with two young children, during the Galapagos busy season, so we were happy to find availability online for a sea view room about two months ahead of our stay. Less than two hours after booking that, we got an e-mail from Mr. Benitez, the hotel manager telling us that there has been a problem with the booking system and all the regular rooms were already booked for the dates we had requested. Not a good start, but Mr. Benitez offered us to stay at the "owners' suite" - a term which initially made us suspicious but which (after we asked for and received some photos and detailed location information) turned out to to be a wonderful large two bedroom apartment less than 5 minutes away from the main lobby of the hotel.

Everything about our stay was perfect, but it was the quality of the service by the entire hotel staff that really stood out. When our son got high fever in the middle of our third night, someone from the hotel went to town (quite a hike, including a jetty ride) got us some children's Ibuprofen, and hand delivered it to our suite. Free of charge. The kitchen staff made a yummy birthday cake for our twins for breakfast on our last day (which was the kids' birthday). Everyone else was unfailingly nice and friendly.

The one suggestion I would make is for the hotel staff to more clearly advertise to guests the importance of booking daily actvities - especially day trips to other islands - well in advance. Mr. Benitez offered us (in January, when we made the boking) a range of day trips, including several that we knew at the time we were interested in. But we thought we could just wait and book them when we got there in March. That was bad research: because of the rules of the National Park, the number of boats sailing from Santa Cruz to some of the nicest minor islands is limited and the day trips fill up! When we arrived at Finch Bay, everything (not just the tour company that the hotel works with, but everything) was booked. The staf at the hotel tried very hard to find us a spot on any boat, but to no avail. In the end, we got incredibly lucky because we went to an agency in town and, after about two hours of trying various combinations of days and destinations, found some spots that had just opened up due to a cancellation. So we ended up going to Bartolome one day and to North Seymour on the next day - which is pretty much what we had hoped to see. But we wish we had heeded Mr. Benitez's advice and booked the activities together with our stay - it would have saved us a lot of hassle.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercedes, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

I spent seven nights at Finch Bay and it was fabulous. The facilities were beautiful. The staff was outstanding. Everyone that worked there was friendly and helpful. The food was delicious and the day trips were beyond anything I imagined they would be. The guide were excellent. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone and i would definitely go back.

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

We spent three nights at Finch Bay after our cruise around the Galapagos Islands. Having taken the water taxi we were met by a hotel employee who transported our bags whilst we made the 5 minute walk to the hotel. We were allocated a sea view room which was very spacious and extremely comfortable. The hammock on the balcony was a very nice touch ! All the reviews I have read mention the staff, they are all very friendly and extremely helpful. We also had the "Carlos treatment", he was around all of the time asking if there was anything he could do, fetch drink, order food etc. He obviously enjoys his job and was a credit to the hotel. He excelled himself on our last night when our travel agent had organised us a special meal which Carlos arranged by the swimming pool overlooking the beach. The food was top class and needless to say service impeccable. The Argentinian steak is "to die for".
I cannot fault the staff or the hotel in anyway, it is a marvellous location for a restful few days.

Room Tip: Sea View room, more expensive but worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Finch Bay Eco Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Finch Bay Eco Hotel

Address: Barrio Punta Estrada, Puerto Ayora, Ecuador
Phone Number:
Location: Ecuador > Galapagos Islands > Santa Cruz > Puerto Ayora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Puerto Ayora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Finch Bay Eco Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award-winning hotel enjoys a peaceful and magical beachfront location in Puerto Ayora, on Santa Cruz Island. The 21 Garden View-room and 6 Ocean View suite hotel makes the ideal base for exploring the natural diversity and attractions of the island – including Tortuga Bay beach – and for taking day-trips to nearby islands, aboard its own, specialized yachts. The hotel also implements best practices in sustainable tourism. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Finch Bay Eco Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Finch Bay Eco
Finch Bay Eco Puerto Ayora
Finch Bay Eco Hotel Galapagos Islands/Puerto Ayora, Santa Cruz

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Finch Bay Eco Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.