We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Finch Bay hotel on Galapagaos Islands” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Finch Bay Eco Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Finch Bay Eco Hotel to your Saves list
Finch Bay Eco Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Barrio Punta Estrada, Puerto Ayora, Ecuador   |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
50% off room rate
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Puerto Ayora
Melville, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Finch Bay hotel on Galapagaos Islands”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

This was a lovely beach hotel and the views from the pool looking @ the beach and the Pacific Ocean were beautiful. Surprisingly, the food was FABULOUS; really gourmet!!! It is eco-friendly, so forget about bath amenities (gels, moisteurizer, etc.) Rooms were nice enough, but no TV. My husband & I would definitely recommend this place. roberta f.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

541 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    388
    114
    26
    6
    7
See reviews for
153
245
31
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

this is what I would describe as a 4* hotel but at nearly 5* prices. It may be the only hotel in Galapagos on a beach, but that beach gets crowded with noisy local families at weekends. It is OK but nothing special really. Breakfast is good. You share it with the finches that fly in to help themselves to the buffet!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Just returned from an incredible week at Finch Bay Eco Hotel on Santa Cruz Island. We were so hot and tired after a flight from Quito, then a bus ride from the Baltra Airport, ferry ride to Santa Cruz Island, van to Puerto Ayora, and panga ride to Finch Bay. By the time we reached the hotel, we were sweaty and dusty from all of our travels. The hotel staff welcomed us with smiles, refreshing fruit drinks, delicious tiny empanadas and cold towels for our faces. I knew we were in paradise!
Our week was filled with adventures from snorkeling with baby sea lions on Santa Fe to swimming with penguins on Bartolomé. Each day's tours were arranged by the hotel on their yacht, the Sea Lion. Every evening we returned to a gourmet 4-course dinner. Our room faced the garden and was quiet and simple. Each evening, the staff left chocolate truffles on our nightstand. A different Galapagos animal was imprinted on each truffle.
Our week at the Finch Bay Eco Hotel was a dream vacation. I can't wait to return and discover other islands and new adventures.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013 via mobile

I was a little concerned about the rooms not having TV's BUT, once I got there I realized there is no time for TV! From the beautiful surroundings, and the EXCELLENT service the Finch Bay is a must stay for your trip to the Galapagos! I look forward for my next visit!!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We stayed 5 nights at this hotel. It was clean, comfortable and the food was delicious. The swimming pool was clean and surprisingly warm! Getting there seems like a bit of hassle initially but it isn't a real issue. You have to take a water taxi to get to the town but it's only a few minutes away. Make sure you get the hotel to arrange to pick you up in their boats otherwise it costs 60 cents for a yellow taxi boat. If you are diving with Scuba Iguana they may not always be able to take you straight there as it depends on the tide level. You might have to go to town and then take a land taxi (pickup truck) for 1 dollar for the final bit of the journey....about 15 mins in total from hotel to dive centre.

Room Tip: All the rooms seem to be accessible and close to reception
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jtml0802
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

The best part of Finch Bay has to be the food! The morning buffets are plentiful with a large selection of breads, fruits, cereal/yogurt, and hot food items that range from your typical morning pancakes and sausages to things like rice and shrimp. Every dinner we had was also spectacular. We did a 4 night, 5 day program and every night we were served an appetizer, soup, entree, and dessert. Beautiful presentations and everything was always flavorful and fresh. Lunches on the yacht weren't bad either--they offered warm, cooked food which beats simple, cold sandwiches for me any day!

As for the hotel itself, it does take a boat ride from Puerto Ayora and then a walk to get to Finch Bay. You will pass by a local beach. The days we were there, it was packed and filled with people. I didn't necessarily mind the walking, but just expect that you will be doing a lot of traveling, through different means, every single day. A typical day with this program consisted of taking the 10 minute walk from the hotel to the dock, then the 5 minute boat ride to Puerto Ayora, then a 1 hr bus ride to the Itabaca Channel, and lastly a 1.5-3 hour yacht ride to your snorkeling or hiking destination. Then repeat all that for the way home. BE prepared. The hotel at the pool is great and they have a bar right by it. The dining section is airy and beautiful at night when it gets dark... there are candles lit everywhere. We stayed in a garden view room and didn't mind that it was small. However, the bathroom could use some renovation as our toilet seat was broken so that it was lopsided and the shower stall and garbage pail were both rusty. We stayed on the second floor, but still expect some room visitors such as the ones we got which consisted of tiny geckos (we had a few hiding behind our air conditioner and on the ceiling), a large spider, and even a cockroach that I found scrambling around the bathroom at the speed of light.

When it came to the yacht we spent our time on, the Genovesa, I think we lucked out as it seemed bigger and had more outdoor, sunny areas to lounge around in compared to other day boats we saw. The best tour day was when we went to South Plaza Island. Our tour guide that day was excellent and we spotted a ton of animals in the water--killer whales, pilot whales, jumping manta rays, sea lions, sally light-foot crabs, etc. Snorkeling was also great as we saw lots of fish and even a shark. On the island were a ton of iguanas. The second day, our tour guide was different and although very knowledgeable, was just not as friendly. The island we visited was awesome though--North Plaza had a ton of blue-footed boobies, sea lions, and frigate birds to see. Snorkeling at Las Bachas was a total disappointment though--couldn't even really do it b/c the waves were too big so we saw nothing. Third day we woke up at the break of dawn to take a 3-hr yacht ride to Bartolome. Our tour guide was, again, different and this time, he barely talked to us! He didn't even introduce himself to the whole group in the beginning. Again, didn't see much when we went snorkeling.. only one or two big fish and some tiny ones. Was overall disappointed with the snorkeling we experienced in the Galapagos as we only saw stuff 1 out of the 3 days, but I guess that's the way it is as you can't control nature. Climbed up a lot of steps to a beautiful sight at the top of Bartolome... excellent photo ops. Thought we'd catch some penguins but we weren't able to that day. We also had time through this program to see the giant tortoises both in the highlands and at the Charles Darwin Research center which was cool.

As for service, everybody at the hotel was very friendly! We did experience some hiccups though. For example, we asked for a 5:15am wake-up call one day but they did not call until 5:30am. A couple nights after dinner, we'd go to the front desk to confirm what the schedule for the next day would be as the original islands we were supposed to visit got changed. For our trip to Bartolome, we heard a tour guide tell us we'd have to meet at 6:20am, then another tour guide tell us 6am, and the front desk tell us 5:45am! We were so confused. It took awhile that night for our whole group to confirm what time we were to meet. Then the next morning our whole group was waiting in the lobby like we usually do but nobody showed up to pick us up there. Turns out we were supposed to get to Puerto Ayora on our own to meet our tour guide there.

Overall, despite some of the hiccups and the extensive daily traveling required, I thoroughly enjoyed my trip and think Finch Bay is a great option in the Galapagos. If I were to come back, I'd probably opt for an ocean-view room and pencil in some more free days/time.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

When we stayed at Finch Bay Eco Hotel it was amazing just at the resort. At the resort you could see Sea Lions on the beach around 7:00 -7:30am. The food was phenomenal. It was served like if you were a queen.When we went on our tour we were on the hotel yaht called the Sea Lion. The tours took you for a day trip so you would be there for lunch. It was in a air condition room with amazing food and great desserts. ...that's from a 12 yr old perspective, now for the adults - The ocean front room is definitely the preferred room, we had to move to a garden room for the last night and it is fine for a couple but not a family. We loved everthing about this hotel and the tours they provide, food was outstanding, tours provided an opportunity to see all of the sea lions, frigates, blue foot bobby, iguanas, turtles, etc. We loved that it was only a small group. The staff were wonderful. The beach is small but nice. Would have like a couple of extra days to enjoy Peurto Ayora local sights and restaurants. If you choose this hotel you wont be disappointed.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Finch Bay Eco Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Finch Bay Eco Hotel

Address: Barrio Punta Estrada, Puerto Ayora, Ecuador
Phone Number:
Location: Ecuador > Galapagos Islands > Santa Cruz > Puerto Ayora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Puerto Ayora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Finch Bay Eco Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award-winning hotel enjoys a peaceful and magical beachfront location in Puerto Ayora, on Santa Cruz Island. The 21 Garden View-room and 6 Ocean View suite hotel makes the ideal base for exploring the natural diversity and attractions of the island – including Tortuga Bay beach – and for taking day-trips to nearby islands, aboard its own, specialized yachts. The hotel also implements best practices in sustainable tourism. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, T4B, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Finch Bay Eco Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Finch Bay Eco
Finch Bay Eco Puerto Ayora
Finch Bay Eco Hotel Galapagos Islands/Puerto Ayora, Santa Cruz

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Finch Bay Eco Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.