We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Silberstein

Save Saved
You added Hotel Silberstein to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Silberstein
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Av. Charles Darwin y Piqueros, Puerto Ayora, Ecuador   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 13 hotels in Puerto Ayora
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great hotel!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Great little hotel. The food is outstanding! We had a land-based Galapagos tour, so we stayed here for 5 days. The rooms are clean and the staff is really friendly. But the food was the highlight! Also located right in the center of town, so you can walk up and down the main street in the city really easily. Thanks for a great stay!

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    65
    43
    25
    9
    13
See reviews for
26
71
22
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Monica, California, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

This wasn't our first stay at the Silberstein; we returned because the hotel is pleasant with a beautiful garden, nice pool and a pretty good restaurant. It's conveniently located--just a short walk to the Darwin Center and the downtown waterfront. But beware booking travel through the hotel's front desk!

Our first tip-off should have come when we checked in and our rooms weren't ready. "No problem," said the desk clerk. "Just leave the luggage with us and it will be put in the rooms." But when we returned, the luggage was nowhere to be found. Fortunately, we had an Ecuadorian in our party who kept badgering them in Spanish until the luggage was located in a store room.

Then we booked a trip to North Seymour Island ($140 a pop) to see the colonies of blue-footed boobies...or so we thought. On the morning of the trip, we discovered we had been booked to another island because the hotel's travel agency doesn't work with the boat company that goes to North Seymour. We should have been told that in advance.

And strike three: we booked passage from Santa Cruz Island to San Cristóbal Island and were told we would be picked up and taken to the boat at 7am. 7am comes and goes and no pickup. Desk person calls the boat company and tells us no, the boat is at 2pm because the "national park has ordered it rescheduled." We decide to double check, go down to the boat company and are told they never go at 7am--that the boat is always at 2pm. And by the way, they don't pick up passengers at hotels, we have to get to the dock on our own.

Incompetence is one thing but lying to customers to cover your posterior is completely inexcusable. I'll tell friends the Silberstein is OK as a hotel but never, ever let the front desk make travel arrangements for you.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

We traveled with Princess Cruises on a side excursion to the Galapagos Islands. This was the hotel they booked. What a great place! It is very quaint, reasonably priced, and centrally located in town to walk to the Darwin tortoise sanctuary and the harbor/downtown area. The rooms were clean but this is definately not for people who want fancy accomodations. The pool is great in the central courtyard. The restaurant was fabulous. We had full european breakfast and the dinner was fabulous. My uncle has special diet needs for his diabetes. They were very accomodating. I would totally recommend staying there and when we return, we do plan on making that where we stay.

Room Tip: We stayed on the upper floors, our room had two twin beds, other rooms have king and queen beds and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

we used this hotel as our home base for our trip. It was very clean, nice looking, great pool and helpful staff. WE got the full package. I recomend getting a breakfast package but not the full food deal. I missed trying some of the local resturants. The restraunt is Very nice. THe pool is a great treat at the end of the day. the location is perfect. a 5 minute walk to the Dawin Center. You can walk all of the harbor area and back to the hotel in 15 minutes. Note: be ready with some spanish. Ordering food and asking questions will be easier for you if you have some simple knowledge of spanish. You'll be glad of it for your entire journey and the stay at the hotel

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

After sailing around the islands of Galapagos it is nice to have a few relaxing days. Hotel Silberstein was the right place for me. Here I found not only a comfortable room, a nice garden with a pool and, most of all, a good restaurant. The staff is very helpful and the manager Jan and his wife Kat seem to be able to organize all the extras you want (including a birthday party).

The hotel is near the Charles Darwin Reserach Centre and Puerto Ayora is right outside the hotel with all the service a rather small city like this can offer..

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery, Alabama
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

My husband and I stumbled upon this fine establishment and had lunch there just prior to leaving on an 8-night cruise. What a blessing that chance encounter turned out to be. The lunch was delicious. Our fish was so fresh and the owner presented as so kind, informative, and interactive. We noted that he was very active during lunch service ensuring that all customers were smiling and well taken care of.

When we returned to Puerto Ayora 8-days later, we had planned to remain on Santa Cruz for a few more nights yet we had not made hotel reservations ahead of time. Though I would not advise rolling the dice as we did and just showing up and hoping Hotel Silberstein has a room available, we were fortunate that they were able to accommodate us for a few nights! (FYI: Although we did not mind because we were so glad they could accommodate us last-minute, we did have to change rooms once because they were booked solid.)

The German-American couple who oversee operations in the hotel and restaurant were a delightful couple who offered useful tips for exploring the island. Because of them, we were able to enjoy an afternoon on an off-the-beaten-path beach and we were also able to visit an interesting little place that makes coffee (Lava Java). This coffee is to die for- organic and hand-picked!! We are still enjoying our Lava Java having brought some back to the states with us.

We would definitely recommend Hotel Silberstein as one of the top choices for moderately priced lodging in Puerto Ayora. The pool is perfect for a quick little dip to cool off and that area is surely a garden oasis. It was a quiet and peaceful place on the main drag in a great part of town near some higher end stores (like Tattoo which sells quality outdoor gear). We had ample hot water and ample internet service- although it must be stated that internet service all over the island (as you can read in other lodging reviews) is not as quick or reliable as it is in the states.

Lunch and dinner in the restaurant were excellent. In fact, not being a big sashimi fan, I must say I was encouraged by the owners to try theirs because the fish is so fresh. I am glad I did because I loved it. We also had sushi at Red Mangrove (which was good) but it did not compare to the meal we enjoyed on our last evening at Hotel Silberstein. All in all, we are just glad to have had the Hotel Silberstein experience while in Puerto Ayora.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Hotel Silberstein for 3 nights. The hotel is basic but charming, with a lovely outdoor restaurant (and indoor) serving fresh heathy food that was aesthetically presented and well prepared.

Our hosts, Jan & Kat, went above and beyond to ensure we enjoyed our time there. In particular, Jan helped us plan a kayaking / hiking / touring / biking adventure around the island, which we thoroughly enjoyed.

If you're looking for a friendly, hospitable place that's well located, we would highly recommend Hotel Silberstein.

Jo-Lynne & Peter

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Silberstein? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Silberstein

Address: Av. Charles Darwin y Piqueros, Puerto Ayora, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Galapagos Islands > Santa Cruz > Puerto Ayora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 hotels in Puerto Ayora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Silberstein 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In 1991 family Silberstein bought the former Residencial Angermeyer from the long Galapagos inhabitants Angermeyer. It was known to be the No.1 destination for information about the Islands. Today it has been rebuilt with all amenities to fulfill the expectations and beyond of our guests from all over the world. Our 24 comfortable rooms are all equipped with individual air condition and have a private bathroom with shower and permanent hot water, heated environmentally friendly by the sun. Our Restaurant offers international food and local specialties prepared by our professional team. For a complete vacation we offer any kind of tours, such as Diving with our attached Dive Center and Daily Tours, as well as airport transfers and in between the different islands. Contact us for more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Hotel Silberstein reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galextur Hotel Puerto Ayora
Hotel Silberstein Galapagos Islands/Puerto Ayora, Santa Cruz

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Silberstein, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.