We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Silberstein

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Silberstein to your Saves list
Hotel Silberstein
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Av. Charles Darwin y Seymour | 100 Meters From the Monument of Darwin, Puerto Ayora, Ecuador   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Puerto Ayora
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Hotel Restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

I did not stay at the hotel, but the restaurant had such charming ambiance as I passed by, I ventured inside the hotel to look around, and decided to have dinner there in their outdoor garden restaurant. The grounds are just lovely and romantic, covered with flora surrounding a pool privately nestled in a trove of exotic flora. It is on the route to the Charles Darwin Center. Restaurant prices moderate, service attentive, food fresh and good.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    64
    33
    10
    15
See reviews for
30
92
29
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
East Molesey
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

This is not a five star hotel but value for money was as good as any. Idea for trips out. located in the centre of the town it is close to the Charles Darwin Centre, fish market and port.
We were a group of 8 and this style of hotel was ideal for us and the staff did everything to make our stay comfortable. Using bottled water for cleaning teeth and washing was a bit of a chore but filtered water was provided.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
durham
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

We stayed at The Hotel Silberstein for one night before joining our yacht to sail around the Galapagos Islands. It was chosen by our excellent Holiday Company 'Imagine Latin America' who selected this lovely hotel, really close to The Charles Darwin Centre, that we had told them we wanted to visit.

The hotel is pretty with rooms situated around a lovely pool.

The rooms are basic but very comfortable.

Free use of a laptop in the reading room was an added bonus.

It was perfect for the overnight stay with a smart restaurant with tasty food and a lovely breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

We enjoyed our room at this hotel. They provided lots of filtered water, to keep us for needing to buy our own, including tooth brushing water, which was truly appreciated. Our room was basic, but clean and comfortable. The water pressure was extremely low, which was the low point of our stay, making showering impossible at times. We liked the lack of tv and phone (and stand-in brass bell, in case of emergency). We used the laundry service, which was efficient, and appreciated the proximity to the Darwin Center, especially on our last morning, when we were able to go one last time, and got to see the tortoises eating, before our 9 am ride to the airport.
We had the full meal plan, which we would not choose to do again. By our third meal in the restaurant (lunch, dinner, then dinner again) we were tired of the limited choices on the menu. The restaurant completely revamped it for our third night, and we were super excited, until we had to wait close to 2 hours to be served our entrees, due to a glitch in the order entering system... My salad came undressed and warm, my husband's appetizer was on par with 7-11 snacks, and our entrees were bland and unremarkable. The change was nice, but the wait, for mediocre food, was unacceptable. A large tour group, which was seated after us, was served and had left before we received our meals, and a couple the manager knew were also given priority. (The management came up with a lot of excuses about why this happened, but it all left a very bad taste in our mouths for our final night at the property.)
The management did have a great system of keeping track of people's tours: posting it on a large white board in the lobby area. It helped us to remember when we were getting picked up each day for our tours.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

I stayed here with a group of 31 travelers just this past week. I thought that the Silberstein was very good given the context of the Galapagos. If you're not paying 5 star prices, you're not going to get 5 star accommodations. I think for the cost the Silberstein was a very good value.
The rooms were clean and cleaned well; the staff was very good; the food was excellent---much better than I had expected.
It is a short walk to the Darwin Center; to the town pier, and to the many (well, for the Galapagos, again) bars and restaurants around town.
They also had a small pool--very clean--and were generous with towels.
I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

The hotel is in a very pleasnt area not far from the Darwin Centre
and the food was exelent although the waiters seemed a bit strectched at times
we stayed in room 16 the bathroom is a bit on the small side the main romm was large enough
the one small point is that the room needed some more furniture a couple of chairs or settee
but over all a very good hotel.
Staff very helpful rooms cleaned every day clean towels when needed, beach towels provided

Room Tip: all the rooms for our party seemed very similar the hotel is quite I dont think that any room was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JSilber, Manager at Hotel Silberstein, responded to this review, June 11, 2012
Dear Biggles_12,

thank you very much for your review.

We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us at Hotel Silberstein.

At the moment we are refurnishing our rooms a little and will equip them with a little more then the usual table and chair to offer even more comfort.

All the best and hope to welcome you again,

Jan Silberstein
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
107 hotel reviews
Reviews in 111 cities Reviews in 111 cities
204 helpful votes 204 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012

I stayed here only 1 night, after a cruise. The room was OK, but nothing special, a bit run down. The location is fine - not by the sea, but still in town. The staff were very helpful and pleasant, if not all that efficient. The main drawbacks are the lack of internet (there is supposed to be, and maybe sometimes there really is, but not when I was there); and the restaurant - lunch and breakfast were included in my package, and the food was terrible, though the service was OK. I wouldn't stay here again - there seem to be better options in Puerto Ayora.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JSilber, Manager at Hotel Silberstein, responded to this review, June 11, 2012
Dear tnbms16,

thank you very much for your review.

at the moment of your stay we still had our installations which were some years old. They were not brand new, but quiet good. Though to not let them run down we decided to renew our pool and garden area. Also our rooms are getting a face lift. The new pictures will be up as soon as everything is done.

I am a little surprised about your comment about the food. We usually get very good comments about it. Additionally we recently changed our menu and enforced our kitchen team by a professional from Le Cordon Bleu. We would like to welcome you again so you can give it another try. Please let us know so we can arrange a delicious Dinner evening for you.

The internet was down on the Islands in those days. It is said to be because of the astronomic sun storms, but I can assure you it was only temporarily and it works again all over the hotel.

Best regards and hopefully seeing you soon again,

Jan Silberstein
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Silberstein? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Silberstein

Address: Av. Charles Darwin y Seymour | 100 Meters From the Monument of Darwin, Puerto Ayora, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Galapagos Islands > Santa Cruz > Puerto Ayora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Puerto Ayora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Silberstein 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In 1991 family Silberstein bought the former Residencial Angermeyer from the long Galapagos inhabitants Angermeyer. It was known to be the No.1 Destination for information about the Islands. Today it has been rebuilt with all amenities to fulfill the expectations and beyond of our guests from all over the world. Our 24 comfortable rooms are all equipped with individual air condition and have a private bathroom with shower and permanent hot water, heated environmentally friendly by the sun. Our Restaurant offers international food and local specialties prepared by our professional team. For a complete vacation we offer any kind of tours, such as Diving with our attached Dive Center and Daily Tours, as well as airport transfers and in between the different islands. Contact us for more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Silberstein reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galextur Hotel Puerto Ayora
Hotel Silberstein Galapagos Islands/Puerto Ayora, Santa Cruz

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Silberstein, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.