We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I wish we were there longer” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Castillo Galapagos

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added El Castillo Galapagos to your Saves list
El Castillo Galapagos
2.5 of 5 Hostel   |   Barrio Pampas Coloradas, Calle Isabela, Puerto Ayora EC200350, Ecuador   |  
Hotel amenities
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“I wish we were there longer”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013 via mobile

What a fun and unique hotel. It's about a 20 minute walk from the port so we took a taxi to get around. We were fortunate The owners spoke English and were very helpful with our taxi. There were no TVs in the room so they let us use the one in the lobby to watch DVD. I wish we had more time there and would highly recommend it

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    7
    4
    5
    2
See reviews for
6
15
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Booked this place for our arrival on the Galápagos Islands. It's a beautiful castle made from lava stones.
Our room was large, had 2 little balconies - I felt like Shakespeare's Juliet!
We had a leak in our roof on the first night unfortunately - if we could've been bothered to tell her, she would have moved us to another room but we didn't actually say anything until the next day so we can't really complain!
The owner was a wonderful host and makes the most fabulous fruit juices!
It was a little further out of town than most of the places but in a little town like Puerto Ayora that doesn't matter too much.
If you just want a cheap clean room you'll probably find somewhere cheaper in town. But if you want somewhere with a lot of character then this place is perfect! I spent my birthday in PA and it was wonderful going back to "our castle" at the end of the night!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Decatur, Alabama
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

We only had one full day and two half days to spend in the Galapagos. When we checked in, Alejandro asked what we were interested in doing, and he recommended several options to make our short stay as productive as possible. He then phoned the taxis, and tour operators, and set up our tours, and also collected the money if necessary. The tours were exactly as he described, and we got more in than if we had tried to do it on our own. He also has several bikes that are available on a first come - first served basis for free.

He would have the breakfast ready by the time we were ready to get up and go, all we had to do was ask the night before. The house is very unique and consist of several rooms, we got one with a private bath that could sleep 4 or 5 people. There were no bug issues in our room, there was a gentle breeze blowing all night and everyone slept well. The room was clean and the beds comfortable. The WiFi worked pretty well, and there was a TV in the common area, as well as a desktop computer available for use by the guests. All the bathroom fixtures worked well. There are some construction features that will seem odd if you have only stayed in US hotels, but it is just the way things are done in Ecuador. Every room I saw was clean, and the service was great.

It is a few blocks to thre main drag, but is actually closer to the entrance to Tortuga Bay than many of the other hotels. Also, the bikes are usually available anyway.

Be aware that there is a mandatory service charge and tax that will be added to the total price, part of which had to be paid in cash, but this is true of most of the hotels on the islands. The tax is 12% and the service charge is 10%.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prairie Village, Kansas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

When we arrived, they had no record of our reservation. But they did have rooms available so we stayed there. Originally intended to stay 2 nights, but after the first night we looked elsewhere. The rooms had not yet been cleaned, presumably because they didn't expect us (we booked 3 rooms). Only one room had A/C and there was no water for a shower in the morning in one of our rooms (I don't mean there wasn't any hot water - I mean zero water came out of the shower or the sink). I'm no stranger to hostels and don't need the nicest place, and this place is definitely...unique, but I expect more at this price point. For $30 more per room we stayed at a FAR superior hotel on the waterfront our second night. Spend the extra money and get a good night's sleep. You'll also enjoy being walking distance to the waterfront where almost all of the restaurants and activities are located.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nice, France
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

The hostel is in a quiet, residential part of town, about 10 minutes walk from the centre of town. It is a lovely castle, with many unique and redeeming features. It is also worth mentioning that it's next to a mangrove, so the area is humid and full of bugs...

We had a great large room at the top of the building, with a balcony and upstairs room, so suitable for a family. However, the room had no air conditioning. The real downside to the room was it was infested with bugs during the night. We opened the windows (which had netting for the bugs) at night, due to the humidity, but unfortunately we realised during the night the netting hadn't worked. We woke up to hundreds of bugs in the room, in the bedroom and bathroom the walls were covered. We were both bitten during the night, and had severe swelling for the next few days. We had no sleep after finding hundreds of bugs of course!

It was a shame as the hotel and staff were really great. Everyone was friendly and helpful. Perhaps we were just unlucky. If they have fixed the netting in this room, then I would recommend staying here. Otherwise it is a nightmare if you want to get some sleep...

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
205 reviews 205 reviews
107 hotel reviews
Reviews in 132 cities Reviews in 132 cities
176 helpful votes 176 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here four nights in total with great host, Alejandro.

The Good:
Rooms - we stayed in the front tower and the back tower and was fun. Themed right down to window shutters and lights. Big beds and plenty of space. Fridges available in all rooms. Hot water and table or sofas and a hammock in rooms too :) no ac but very airy rooms with good ventilation.
Staff - Alejandro will do pretty much anything to make stay comfortable and easy. Is knowledgeable of the area.
Value - puerto ayoro isn't a cheap place. We had no accommodation booked and ended up walking around for about an hour looking for places to stay and were either ridiculously priced or had screaming kids and a disco on the ground floor. The castle is in a generally quiet area and if off-season or plenty of availability Alejandro may organize a deal with you.
Gardens - gorgeous. Swing in a hammock or walk around.

The Bad:
One night out of the four we had a disco down the road an was on a Monday night as well?!? Not much Alejandro can do about that though. Put earplugs in and went back to sleep.

The Ugly:
Nothing ugly about staying in a castle!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

We walked around Puerto Ayora looking for accommodation for a few nights. Until we stumbled across this place, the others we had encountered were either too pricey, unwelcoming or just a little too shabby. We loved El Castillo! The rooms were clean, spacious and the fan was more than adequate to cool the room. It's a 15 minute walk to the port, 10 minutes from the kiosk street, and 5 minutes from a small supermarket/s. And taxis are just $1 and frequent if you'd prefer. Alejandro was very accommodating sorting out the rooms we wanted, leaving luggage as well as with local information too.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to El Castillo Galapagos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Castillo Galapagos

Address: Barrio Pampas Coloradas, Calle Isabela, Puerto Ayora EC200350, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Galapagos Islands > Santa Cruz > Puerto Ayora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 40 Specialty Lodging in Puerto Ayora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — El Castillo Galapagos 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A lovely place, built in volcanic stone, local travel agent and everything you'll need to guarantee satisfaction on your stay ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, HostelBookers and Hotels.com so you can book your El Castillo Galapagos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Castillo Galapagos Galapagos Islands/Puerto Ayora, Santa Cruz

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Castillo Galapagos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.