We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful beach!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Galapagos Beach at Tortuga Bay

Galapagos Beach at Tortuga Bay
South-West of the town of Puerto Ayora | On the Galapagos Island of Santa Cruz, Puerto Ayora, Ecuador
Improve this listing
Visit Galapagos Beach at Tortuga Bay like an insider
Top Rated
$149*
and up
Tortuga Bay Tour and Yacht Cruise to La Loberia...
Attraction details
Guayaquil, Ecuador
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful beach!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

You have to walk like 2.5 km, but it worth it, its a beautiful beach, we saw iguanas, pelicans, and in the lagoon we saw a baby shark! so if you are in santa cruz this is a must!

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,360 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,027
    279
    47
    6
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Milpitas, California
Top Contributor
168 reviews 168 reviews
42 attraction reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
“Clean beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

We took a taxi to the Tortuga Bay main entrance, where we signed our names at the visitor's center log-in book and then took the 45 minute walk along the paved trail. Very clean beach where we saw huge marine iguanas and plenty of mangroves. We relaxed in the side beach area where the waters were much calmer than the ocean.

If you are a runner, we saw locals running along the paved road when the sun set, due to the cooler weather.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great beach - nice to visit at end of day after day trips”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

It's a fair walk from town, but lots of it is over a purpose built path so it's a relaxed walk.

I visited towards the end of the day so the beach was pretty empty. You need to be back at the gatehouse by 6pm, so best to get there by 4pm at the latest to give time for a leisurely walk to and from. There's not much shade, so either go early/ late, or take lots of water if you're planning a full day there.

If you want to snorkel, it's best at high tide when the visibility is better, and there's more marine life to see. Bring your own snorkel/ mask or rent one in town as there's nowhere on the beach to rent them.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A treasure so close to Puerto Ayora”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

Iguanas, white sands, nice waves. Best to get out there early as you have to leave the far beach around 5pm to make it to the exit by 6pm.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clayton, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Nice way to spend a morning or afternoon”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

It's a very long walk to the beach itself, but the path is well paved and easy to walk. It is pretty, and scenic in spots. There are also some places to rest along the way.
Bring water! The little office at the beginning of the trail sells water, but they are sometimes closed for lunch or breaks and then you're stuck waiting until they come back. Much better to pick some up beforehand.
September is a bit off-season to see much wildlife on the beach, but we were happy with what we did see. It's still a preserve and not meant for laying out or surfing, so you won't really spend much time there other than for the walk itself.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Galapagos Beach at Tortuga Bay also viewed

Puerto Villamil, Isabela
Puerto Ayora, Santa Cruz
 
Puerto Baquerizo Moreno, San Cristobal
Puerto Ayora, Santa Cruz
 

Been to Galapagos Beach at Tortuga Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Galapagos Beach at Tortuga Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.