We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Broke all Eco rules and Unsafe!!!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Scuba Iguana

Scuba Iguana
Charles Darwin Ave, Puerto Ayora, Ecuador
(593-5) 2-526497
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 12 Activities in Puerto Ayora
Type: Water sports, Adventure
Attraction details
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Broke all Eco rules and Unsafe!!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

I was incredibly disappointed. I was told touring under water required same respect as above ground...but not with Scuba Iguana. The guide ignored safety of group on drift dive--making us cling to wall while he ventured into cave taking pictures or went back to see seething for himself he missed previously. He lost track of people so we had to care for each other. He picked up sea life and forced them together to cause stress and fighting of species for his own fun. He dropped bread all over (without need there was plenty of marine life) and he spent time topside flirting with a pretty girl. I am considering a formal complaint to the park service of Ecuador. Beware of this operation. They do not care about preserving this resource and they do not care about the safety of their clients!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    18
    6
    4
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mackay, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Best Dive Company in Ecuador”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

Had the pleasure of diving with Scuba Iguana for 3 days. Very professional and friendly and their gear is good quality. We had heard from a few different people that they were they best company in the Galapagos Islands and they didn't let us down. Can't thank Quike enough for the most memorable dives and still don't how he captures videos and photos of things so fast, is truly amazing. Do yourself a favor......use Scuba Iguana.....you won't be disappointed, worth every cent.....Highly recommended

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Very professional”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

I dove with Scuba Iguana 1 day. It was very professional. The equipment was really good and the company is very organized. We assembled at the office, took a few taxis to the dock and from there took a boat to the dive site. The dive masters first took all the people who they didn't know into the water at a shallow site and tested a few basic skills and checked for proper amount of weights. They discussed the dive plan quite thoroughly and made sure to take pictures of everything! Underwater the dive master spotted all sorts of things and made sure everyone saw everything. After two dives we headed back. On the way back we got a great lunch and in between the dives we got snacks and hot tea. They also provided towels and drinking water for everyone. Back at the diving center the pictures and videos were shown and the log books were updated. It was a great diving experience with a great team!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great diving adventure!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Scuba iguana staff is very friendly and provide a great service. The sites are just as promised and the DMs take a lot of pictures of the divers and sea life (for a fee you can get the CD, worth the price). The only downside is the price, Scuba Iguana is the most expensive place that I have ever used. Other than the high price, it is a very special adventure. Highly recommend this dive shop.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, CA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“extremely reliable, knowledgeable and safe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

I had an incredible experience over 3 days of diving with Scuba Iguana.
They were extremely professional. They require a checkout dive before visiting the sites, and are very well versed in the currents and wildlife in the area. Gear is in new condition, and they work hard to keep patrons warm and comfortable. The divemasters took amazing photos. Between dives, they serve snacks and hot tea, and the lunches were definitely the best I've had on any dive boat.
(+60 dive history)

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Scuba Iguana also viewed

 

Been to Scuba Iguana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Scuba Iguana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.