We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Sir Francis Drake

Hotel Sir Francis Drake
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Puerto Ayora
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Sir Francis Drake
Av. Baltra y Charles Winfort, Puerto Ayora, Ecuador   |  
Hotel amenities
NJ
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good value”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights after a major fiasco at Hotel Ninfa. THis hotel is very simple, but the owner is really nice and very helpful. The rooms are spacious and clean (try to get rooms on higher floors, they are more updated). The hotel is right across from a street filled with outdoor restaurants that serve inexpensive street-food. I think this hotel is good value.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms on the upper floors, better quality rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    16
    19
    5
    9
See reviews for
7
27
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tonyc32
Level Contributor
112 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

I stayed in Sir Frances Drake for two nights before heading to other islands.

The hotel is OK overall. No breakfast is included and we had an OK nights sleep and the hot water is very good.

However -

- The room appeared to be very, very hot. There was a ceiling fan but it often started to rattle in the night so it can wake you up.

- The Wifi was pretty poor, it didn't work in the rooms very well.

- The toilet doors are way too short and very sharp (and we are not particularly tall). Many times we banged our head on the frame, almost drawing blood often. We had to manufacture our own padding on the frame to avoid damage to us. The door was less than 5tf 10!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
61 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013 via mobile

Walked in off the road and booked a room. Staff are friendly. The room, which cost $40, was clean and had the largest shower I had used in South America (although struggled to get hot water). Wifi was available outside the reception window, but nowhere to sit down, so had to sit on the steps. The hotel is a 3 minute walk from the harbour, where most tours leave from. For $50 dollars you can get a room with A/C. On balance, a pleasant place, which is reasonably priced for this part of the world.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

The rooms vary considerably from dark and dank to bright and fresh. We stayed here after finding the Ninfa Hotel intolerable. Although no English is spoken, the owner is exceedingly friendly. She allowed us to preview rooms and change them when we found the ground floor toilets to not flush properly. Great location just a stroll from the waterfront and steps from the street packed with restaurants. Bathrooms were a bit smelly

Room Tip: Stay away from ground floor rooms. Check the toilet and shower operation prior to settling in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guayaquil, Ecuador
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

The two windows in the room didn't have much of a view, but the place was immaculately clean and the staff was friendly. The room was air-conditioned and everything worked well. I would recommend it to anyone passing through this town. I also lost a ring in the room and the owners of the hotel were very helpful. They helped me look for it when I came back to the hotel to search for it and emailed back-and-forth about looking for it after I checked out.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
189 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Rested here for 2 nights after our adventurous cruise on the Anahi Catamaran around the Galapagos Islands.

Fanny, the friendly owner, had a few rooms available & allowed us to see them before choosing. The prices varied slightly by room. The cheaper rooms being smaller with less light.

She helped us with information relating to the town, tours, & getting to the Baltra airport. Our wifi was too slow in our room so she found another spot in the hotel where it worked faster.

Our room on the 2nd floor towards the back, was quiet & sunny...but...the doorway to the bathroom was low. I hit my head on it @ least 3 times. The ceiling fan was also low & I hit my hand on it only once, but it was enough to draw blood. Don't worry I'm just fine. However, if you have a serious problem there is a hospital emergency room 1/2 a block away!

Otherwise, the room was light, clean & a good size.

We often ordered take out from nearby restaurants, bought beer from the super market around the corner, & used our own utensils to dine @ the table on the 2nd floor balcony. A good place to watch the action on the street below.

I would stay here again. The location was walking distance to everyplace of interest around town. It was a good value for the size, cleanliness, & owner attentiveness.

Room Tip: Ask to see the rooms available before choosing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in this hotel for 4 nights during our galapagos trip, from where we started our daily tours. The hotel is near the harbour and the center of pierto ayora. The rooms were clean, but very dark. The staff can only speak spanish and was sometimes not very helpful.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Ayora hotels
0.1 mi away
Galapagos Island Hotel - Casa Natura
0.5 mi away
Angermeyer Waterfront Inn
Angermeyer Waterfront Inn
#1 of 14 in Puerto Ayora
4.5 of 5 stars 227 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Fiesta
Hotel Fiesta
#5 of 14 in Puerto Ayora
4.0 of 5 stars 190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Solymar
Hotel Solymar
#4 of 14 in Puerto Ayora
4.0 of 5 stars 336 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Pelican Bay
Hotel Pelican Bay
#7 of 14 in Puerto Ayora
4.0 of 5 stars 66 reviews
0.4 mi away
Red Mangrove Aventura Lodge
Red Mangrove Aventura Lodge
#3 of 14 in Puerto Ayora
4.5 of 5 stars 507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sir Francis Drake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sir Francis Drake

Address: Av. Baltra y Charles Winfort, Puerto Ayora, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Galapagos Islands > Santa Cruz > Puerto Ayora
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 42 Specialty Lodging in Puerto Ayora
Also Known As:
Hotel Sir Francis Drake Galapagos Islands/Puerto Ayora, Santa Cruz

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Sir Francis Drake, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.