We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location but has the look and feel of a place that needs investment and completion.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Pelican Bay

Save Saved
You added Hotel Pelican Bay to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotel Pelican Bay
Av. Floreana y Adolfo Hanny, Puerto Ayora, Ecuador   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 13 hotels in Puerto Ayora
Dunfanaghy, Ireland
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Good location but has the look and feel of a place that needs investment and completion.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012 via mobile

The Pelican Bay hotel has easy access to the harbour and the main shopping street in Puerto Ayora. The reception, when someone is there, is fairly friendly but there may be issues with English being spoken if you are not a Spanish speaker. Once you have their attention the service was reasonably good and they can organise taxis to the highlands or tours to other islands. Check with agencies, however, to compare prices and quality of the boat service. The one tour (to Isabella) I organised through the hotel had 30 people on a boat with a maximum capacity for 21! It was uncomfortable and did not provide water! Profit making at its best!

The hotel rooms were clean but simply furnished and the beds are not made for anyone needing back support. Breakfast is included but is at the basic end of the spectrum. The hotel looks like it has not finished its building program and this means it's appearance is compromised.

I think there are better alternatives as prices are relatively high, which is partly a reflection of the Galapagos tourist honeypot effect where many hotels, boats and agencies have inflated prices knowing that the area offers an irresistible pull. Not really in the spirit of a unique bio-resource!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    4
    12
    2
    0
    2
See reviews for
5
5
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2012

We stayed at Pelican Bay for 5 nights a few weeks ago. We had a very nice experience here. The hotel manager and staff were all very friendly and helpful. The manager set up 3 day trips for us. I had a lot of questions about what to see and do in the Galapagos and the manager was very helpful in answering all of my questions. My husband ended up getting sick on one of our last days in the Galapagos and the manager came with us to the hospital and talked with the doctor and came with us to the pharmacy to get medicine. I really appreciated how much he helped out his guests. Rooms were clean. Pelican Bay is located a block off the main street so it had a more quiet environment.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2012 via mobile

I moved hotels on the first day as it was too pricey this one was about $80 a night cheaper then my first one, didn't have fancy decorations outside but had a pool and the breakfast ladies are really nice. The owner could be a bit friendlier but apart from that it's good value as you spend most on the day out doing day trips and don't need a fancy hotel. If you need just a place to sleep that won't cost the bank and you get breakfast this is your hotel.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2011 via mobile

Let me start with positive; the lady that runs the restaurant is nice, does a wonderful job and the food is good. If only I could say that about the rest of this dump. Our room was small and stinks really really bad. There were bugs crawling all over the place. The shower drain was clogged but that didn't matter because it was no hot water shower with, twice! Rude management.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Pelican Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pelican Bay

Also Known As:
Hotel Pelican Bay Galapagos Islands/Puerto Ayora, Santa Cruz
Address: Av. Floreana y Adolfo Hanny, Puerto Ayora, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Galapagos Islands > Santa Cruz > Puerto Ayora
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Puerto Ayora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Pelican Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Pelican Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.