We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really nice place with great host” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Galapagos Inn By La Casa De Judy

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Puerto Ayora
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Galapagos Inn By La Casa De Judy
Save Saved
You added Hotel Galapagos Inn By La Casa De Judy to your Saves list
Fragata y Escalesia, Puerto Ayora :EC200350, Ecuador   |  
Hotel amenities
Berlin, Germany
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Really nice place with great host”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Galapagos Inn is in a quite side street, but only 5-10 minutes away from most important places in Puoerto Ayura. It's a medium sized hotel and costs less than a lot of the other hotels in town. The rooms are simple but very clean. There is a nice pool. Judy, the owner is incredibly nice and helpful and goes out of her way to provide you with information. All in all very good value.


Galapagos Inn ist ein mittelgroßes Hotel in einer Seitenstraße, 5-10 Minuten Fussweg vom Zentrum und anderen Sehenwürdigkeiten. Es ist mittelgroß und gehört zu den günstigeren Hotels in der Stadt. Die Zimmer sind einfach aber sauber. Es gibt einen schönen Pool. Und die Besitzerin Judy ist sehr nett und hilfsbereit. Alles in allem, bestens für den Preis.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    23
    5
    4
    2
See reviews for
19
32
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Judy and her husband made us feel like family. This property is off the main path, but not too far from it so it was easy to walk to and from around town. We arrived in September which was a little off season and Judy let us choose any room we wanted so we picked the top of course to have a great view. She helped us coordinate every excursion and really was a great concierge with the feeling like she was your mom who really cared about your safety and making sure you enjoyed the island.
Anything you needed she made sure it happened. We asked for a small birthday cake to have at 8am in the morning to celebrate our friends' special day before heading off to the airport and of course she went to the bakery the day before and purchased one that was great and had it all laid out during our breakfast. We love the special touches and how personable she was.

The room that we had was quaint, large and clean. There was 3 of us that traveled together and we were all single so the 3 twin beds were perfect for us. Don't expect a lot of room amenities besides a TV, a place to hang a few clothes and clean towels. Plus, you're on a beautiful island with tons of things to do so you shouldn't be spending anytime in your room with exception of sleep.

Every morning we would go down and Judy would have a nice simple breakfast for us and great conversation.

If we ever get the chance to go back we would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vineyard Haven, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

The staff made you feel like you were at a relative's house. They were so great, welcoming and helpful. The rooms are simple, clean and really all you need. AC worked great. Short walk to town and the best breakfast you can ask for! We upgraded our last week in Isabella to a fancier hotel and though the location was better (right on the beach) Casa de Judy still beat them in service and accommodations!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Stayed for 5 nights in december 2012. Really nice hotel and Judy are very helpful in every way. Only bad thing is that it was rarely any hot water, which for my girlfriend is an important thing. We would definitely stay with Judy again if we go back to Puerto Ayora.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Casa de Judy with our family of 4 (kids are 10 &12).

Judy (the owner), her husband, sun (Julian who was also our guide, and an excellent guide by the way!) and daughter were very friendly. Judy is a charm and makes you feel very comfortable. The installations are clean and the AC worked perfectly (which wasn't the case for the other 2 hotels we stayed in Galapagos that advertised as having AC). The common area downstairs is great for socializing with other guests in the morning and evenings and exchange experiences on what we saw /will see next day.

Yes, it is true that the installations are simple and the breakfast was ok, and pool is small, but the friendiness of Judy and staff compensated for any of these shortcomings.

We will definitely stay here again without any hesitation if we get a chance to come to Galapagos again.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We stayed here for 5 nights while we explored the Galapagos. The rooms were simple, but spacious and clean, and our room had wonderful views over the bay. The hotel is about a 5 minute walk from the main street in Puerto Ayora, and about the same distance from the Charles Darwin center, so it was convenient but also quiet. Breakfast was good and included a fresh juice - we had blackberry, watermelon, guava - fresh fruit, eggs, bread, coffee and tea. We could also refill our water bottles at no charge, which was useful.
What really makes this hotel stand out is the owner, Judy, and her husband. They could not have been more friendly and helpful, and they made our stay a pleasure. Judy even arranged a tour to Isabela for us, which our tour operator had told us was unavailable for the day we wanted to go!
We would definitely recommend this hotel, and if we go back to the Galapagos we would stay there again.

Room Tip: The rooms on the third floor facing the ocean have great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Coral, Florida
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

We were pleasantly surprised by our stayed here. We had to pay in advanced (we wired the money from the States and were a bit concerned about this); however, we did not have any problems once we got there. Our triple and quadruple rooms were spacious and clean. We had clean towels every day – which was surprising! The breakfast consisted of fruit, juice, bread, coffee, and/or tea. The staff was friendly and willing to help out. I would definitely recommend this place; however, if you are looking for something really cheap i.e. $10.00, then this would not be the place for you since we paid a bit more than that. You do have to walk to the center of town and the port and we had to take a taxi to the bus terminal when we left for the airport. Needless to say, we would definitely return to La Casa de Judy.

Room Tip: We stayed on the second floor and had the option to open the window or use the AC unit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Galapagos Inn By La Casa De Judy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Galapagos Inn By La Casa De Judy

Address: Fragata y Escalesia, Puerto Ayora :EC200350, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Galapagos Islands > Santa Cruz > Puerto Ayora
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 23 Specialty Lodging in Puerto Ayora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
Hotel Galapagos Inn By La Casa De Judy Galapagos Islands/Puerto Ayora, Santa Cruz

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Galapagos Inn By La Casa De Judy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.