We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Angermeyer Point Restaurant

Angermeyer Point Restaurant
Academy Bay, Puerto Ayora, Ecuador
593 5 257007
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 31 Restaurants in Puerto Ayora
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
between Netanya and Caesarea
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

great spot near the water , very delicious food, beautiful Restaurant in "Beach House Stile", visited by iguanas and birds. I hope for future guests that they will keep their cooking on such a high standart-----the restaurant across the road is much more popular and not nice at all !!! The service was a bit unfriendly but the food and the surrounding made up for it ! Carsti 29 is absolutly right! We had a very special mushroom kinoa risotto and the desert was fantastic!!!!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    40
    9
    9
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hilpoltstein, Germany
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Great Cuisine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

Been there after trying some other venues around town... and finally, some excellence, both in food and beverage. Great steak and very fresh, local fish.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Tremendous place, fantastic food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

I will say this is the best restaurant I had the opportunity to eat. To arrive to this restaurant, you have to cross in the taxi-boats. The exclusivitivity of the restaurant allowed my friends and I to enjoy a pleasurable time in Puerto Ayora. This was the last dinner in Galapagos and definitely the best. The service was fabulous along with the peace of the nature. The chef was fantastic, I cannot forget how delicious the food was. I blindly recommend this place.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex,UK
Top Contributor
217 reviews 217 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
181 helpful votes 181 helpful votes
“'Cocktails' are just fruit juice”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

This place has a lovely setting on the bay and could be absolutely perfect if the management cared What a shame about the actual food and drinks you are served. We tootled along for a 'Happy Hour' cocktail before dinner at our hotel. The place was empty and so we had a prime table at the bay observing wonderful wildlife. The view and setting made up for the feeble fruit juice 'cocktails' that we were served. I know my cocktails and these weren't a patch on the real thing. My advice is to go for the view and ambience but don't be fooled that you are getting a proper cocktail even though you are paying a cocktail price.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“What a shame...”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012

Have to agree with the other barely 1 star reviews. We were with a group of 16 for which a reservation was accepted by the restaurant. Drink orders took a very long time to arrive, dinner orders about 1 1/2 hours. Dishes were creatively presented but very little actual food; some were tasty, others less so. Trip leader complained on our behalf and refills on the wine were comped. Also offered free desserts but by that time we were all ready to be out of there. Lynne

  • Visited May 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Angermeyer Point Restaurant also viewed

Puerto Ayora, Santa Cruz
Puerto Ayora, Santa Cruz
 
Puerto Ayora, Santa Cruz
Puerto Ayora, Santa Cruz
 

Been to Angermeyer Point Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Angermeyer Point Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.