We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of IslaGrill

IslaGrill
Charles Darwin Avenue, opposite to the pacific bank, Puerto Ayora, Ecuador
593 524-461
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 27 restaurants in Puerto Ayora
Price range: $6 - $20
Cuisines: Argentinean, Pizza, Ecuadorean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Richmond, VA
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Very good!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

My husband and I ate here several times during our trip. We both had burgers one night that were good but the second night we had the 2 person platter with meat and there potatoes and chicken were great lots of people here eating and the atmosphere is nice. Had to wait a little bit to get the check but it was nice.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

92% Recommend
    167
    82
    15
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Had lunch at IslaGrill yesterday after arriving in Puerto Ayora. It was Sunday so there was very little choice. Selected the Grill because of the high ranking on Tripadvisor.

The restaurant is well maintained, the place is clean and the menus are in both Spanish and English. The waitress spoke very good English.

The choice of beers is rather limited with only one local beer and one international beer. The bread was basic and was a weird combination of focaccia and madeira cake. Not very nice.

The chicken burger was adequate but nothing special while the meat skewer was edible but for the acrid mushrooms that were placed between each meat piece. The accompanying salad was fresh and dressed nicely.

The prices on Puerto Ayora are rather high compared to the quality of the food presented. The prices on the menu are exclusive of a 12.5% tax and an automatic 10% service charge which adds a further 25% to the bill.

Whilst not open in the day time, some of the street market food looked just as good for a cheaper price.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broome, Australia
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great food and atmosphere, pizza was average”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

We went here a couple of times. The pizza was OK, nothing special. We also tried a mixed grill, the serving size was decent, prices are good (everything is quite expensive in Galapagos).
They have a good menu, lots of variety.
We tried a couple of different cocktails which where great.
Service is also good.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“excelent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Went there 2 nights in a row. Servings are generous, noise level is not too loud. Good food, great service. Walking distance from the fish market and the small harbor
Go before 7:30- 8:00PM to avoid waiting line!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reykjavik, Iceland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“nice atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

We came with a big group, but this wasn't a problem. We had some nice food and amazing cocktails. We had a good evening and the service was excellent.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed IslaGrill also viewed

Puerto Ayora, Santa Cruz
Puerto Ayora, Santa Cruz
 
Puerto Ayora, Santa Cruz
Puerto Ayora, Santa Cruz
 

Been to IslaGrill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage IslaGrill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.